Prado dashboard shakes

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 16:00
ThreadID: 25918 Views:9076 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
G'day all, my Prado dash gets the shakes in a big way over rougher roads. i believe this is common with them (90 series) and it's bloody annoying. has anyone come up with a fix for this short of taking the dash out and glueing it up?

Thanks, fester

Reply By: porlsprado - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:38

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:38
go to the 90series yahoo club site and its all there, and yes its the biggest pain in the a#se to fix but anything anyone has ever done is there. I am hoping it doesn't happen to mine. I think this is it:

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90series/
AnswerID: 127106

Reply By: George M (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:41

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:41
Fester - welcome to the world of the dash-rattling 90 Series Prados.

I've owned two 90 Series and, apart from the dash rattling, they are great vehicles. Both vehicles, however, had problems with the dash on corrugated, and not so corrugated, roads.

The dash on the first vehicle actually fell away from the firewall. On return home after a trip across the Simpson I could run my fist behind the dashboard where it had separated from the firewall. The dealer would do "something" to reduce the rattles every 10k, however the problem was never fixed.

My second vehicle had less of a problem, in that the passenger side of the dash rattled like hell across corrugations, but the drivers side was quite tight. Much whingeing (from me) and countless excuses (from the dealer) were to no avail.

I now have a 120 Series, which has a completely different dash.

Good luck!

George

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 127108

Reply By: Member - Garth H (WA) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 19:16

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 19:16
Fester,
Have an 2001 Prado, shakes and shimmies like yours. there are actually 2 Prado forums (I know of). One already mentioned. My memory is that people have tried various things. best to search the archives of both groups.

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90series/

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90scool_aus/

Garth
AnswerID: 127115

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:07

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:07
I contacted the Toyota Australia customer service dept and explained the problem and they arranged for Sydney City Toyota to take the dash off and fix the problem.
AnswerID: 127121

Reply By: Fester2 - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 08:47

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 08:47
thanks all. I'll try contacting Toyota Oz and see what happens from there and if all else fails I'll resort to silicon for a temp fix if I can get to the pins.
AnswerID: 127151

Reply By: GazzaS (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:26

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:26
Hi fester

have experienced the same thing and had a go last week at tightening the mounting bolts/nuts. Trouble seems to stem from the fact there are only 2 upper mounting points, both behind the main instrument cluster and 3 lower points. Anyway I got a fair bit of tightening at each point and waiting to see what happens. Offto Cape York coming Saturday so should get a fair workout over the next 6 weeks or so.

On one of the Prado specific forums I recall a proposed fix was to drill up through the dash and into the frame that houses the heater / radio. From memory you drill up through the dash where the RHS cigarette lighter is and then fix through there. It did not look in the pictures that you could see this from normal seating positions.

AnswerID: 127490

Follow Up By: Fester2 - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:34

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:34
thanks gazza, the drilling bit sounds a bit drastic but I'll see if I can locate the bolts you mention and give that a try. Did you have to remove any of the dash or are they accessible from the outside?

FollowupID: 382171

Follow Up By: GazzaS (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:59

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:59
the 3 bottom bolts are easily accessed. 1 on either side near door. the 3rd is accessed from the drivers foot well, near left knee (for me) when the under the steering wheel panel is removed (has the bonnet and fuel handles in it).

the 2 at the top are a different story. need to remove the main instrument cluster. Phillips head screws first in the cover and then 4 I think holding the actual cluster in. need a bit of gentle determination to get it out past the steering wheel.

i bought a manual and it had all the locations in it. think it was about $45 - good investment.

FollowupID: 382211

Follow Up By: Fester2 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:39

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:39
thanks again. I'll certainly get hold of a manual but Repco reckon they arent in print yet and Supa Cheap didnt know, I'll try Toyota when I get a chance, in the meantime I'll try ones I can get to.

Additionally, I spoke to a mate thats got one and he reckons that if you ever get a windsceen replaced the five pins along the top can be accessed when the screen is out and a drop of silicon on each one does wonders.
FollowupID: 382377