Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Your Thoughts on Roadgripper Tyres ?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:56

Johnnotoo

I have a 105 Series Landcruiser that came with original issue Dunlop Roadgripper 750x16 8 ply tyres fitted to split rims. I want to keep the rims. We use the Cruiser for about 40% formed gravel road and the rest bitumen - all in hot conditions up north. My question is when they need replacing, should I stick to them or consider changing them to a more popular AT brand which I can probably get a size wider too. I know the tyre discussions here are common , but I have not heard much mention of Road Grippers (maybe because they are made of old volley OC sandshoes as I have read somewhere! )

Any advice would be appreciated.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 26040 Replies: 6
Views: 724 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 127779   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:09

Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) replied:

I recently had some pulled off a ute coz they were spinning the wire into the inside causing punctures. pretty average tyre. (actually flattened one just the other day) I am not a fan but having said that I have driven more vehicles with them on than I care to remember and they have been ok - there are far better tyres out there in the 235 catagory that will suit your rims that are 10 ply instead of 8
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 127786   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:34

Gerhardp1 replied:

If the tyres are doing everything you need and are returning a satisfactory mileage, there is no reason to change to something else.

If you are unhappy with them in any way then it's probably a good idea to try and find a better tyre.
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 127802   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 19:55

troy replied:

The tyres can be obtained reasonably cheaply (205x 16 cost me $165 fitted and balanced) as take off's that is one reason i have stuck with them. have got 50000 out of my last set which was ok - they had a bit of a rough life initially.
Troy
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 127816   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:08

J.T. replied:

Gerhardp1 That is the most accurate and simple reply I have seen for a while.
Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
Ultimate Kuranda Experience Ultimate Kuranda Experience
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
What more can you ask for than the Ultimate Kuranda Experience!
Rally Driving Half Day (QLD) Rally Driving Half Day (QLD)
Brisbane - QLD
Have you ever dreamed of driving a real rally car on a real rally track?
Body Treatment, Massage & Feet Treat - 3 Hours Body Treatment, Massage & Feet Treat - 3 Hour
Canberra - INT
Are you ready for an out of body experience?
90 Minute 737 Airline Adventure 90 Minute 737 Airline Adventure
Hobart - TAS
Take a fully-fledged airline flight in the flight deck of a life-size 737 Flight Simulator.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 127819   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:31

V8Diesel replied:

Roadgrippers are utter rubbish Johnnotoo, I kid you not mate, they are complete crap.

From your post it appears you won't be doing any "off-road" work which may make them passable, but from bitter experience I can assure you they are worse than useless in the bush. May as well just run on the inner tubes as they have far more sidewall strength.

Look what people in the know who actually earn their living in the area use, that's the best indicator. (ignore the govvie or fleet vehicles though)
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 382465   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:11

ShnogDog posted:

...Ball Grippers?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 382472   Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:41

V8Diesel posted:

We used to call them dickgrabbers
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 127906   Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 11:56

Johnnotoo replied:

Thanks to everyone for your response. Lots of good advice. As we do go 'off road' at times and will probably visit the Cape next year, I am going towards 10 ply tires so will probably change them over.

Thanks again

Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions