Fridge dilemma

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:50
ThreadID: 26480 Views:3530 Replies:16 FollowUps:22
Now please don’t start arguing, as it’s not my intention.

I’m looking at the following fridges.

Waeco Coolmatic CF-50 AC German made Danfoss BD-35F Kompressor $999
Waeco Coolmatic CF-60 AC German made Danfoss BD-35F Kompressor $1099

I’m wondering if the 60 litre one is worth the extra $100, i.e. will I use this extra space as the footprint is the same but the fridge is taller? Stuff will be piled on top of each other.

And, as these 2 fridges use the same compressor will the CF-60 be over working to keep a larger fridge cool?

I don’t care what brand I end up getting (Waeco has to win on price) but is the equivalent Engle 60lt fridge (price $1639) worth the extra $540?

Thanks.

Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:56

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:56
Won't comment on Waeco v Engel v whatever, but i'd suggest you get the bigger unit purely fronm the point of view that you can always fill extra space, you can't just add it at the drop of a hat (excluding the Engel addon, of course)
AnswerID: 130231

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:57

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:57
The 60 litre is worth the extra $100 if you need a 60 rather than a 50. If you only need a 50, its not worth it.

The 60 will have no problem keeping cool.

I don't think the Engel is worth the extra.

Hope this helps!
AnswerID: 130232

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:59

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 13:59
Just a thought, check http://www.fridgeshop.com where you can get a CF80 for $980. If you have the floor space, this one has a bigger compressor as well.
FollowupID: 384700

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:04

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:04
Ive got the 60lt Waeco and are more than happy with it. As you said it doesnt realy take up much more room than the 50.
Even in summer (Alice Springs) I dont need to run it on more than 4 and it works great and doesnt chew too much power so I wouldnt think it is working too hard.
I did buy a Waeco cover for it and that made a lot of difference so I would factor that into the price.
The only bonus I could see is engel's have a steel case but if its not going on the back of a ute thats realy no bonus.
AnswerID: 130233

Follow Up By: DEANO WA - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 15:04

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 15:04
metal's not the 'be all and end all'. my cf80 survived a tripple roll over (as did we including the dog???????) and works as strong as ever
FollowupID: 384710

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:12

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:12
It is worth extra $100 only if you need bigger fridge..

ebay.com.au:

CF50 -$899

CF60 -$995

AnswerID: 130234

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:39

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:39
Hi Stan,
Was wondering where that river crossing is in ur pic. Looks fantastic.
FollowupID: 384704

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:02

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:02
If you look really closely at it Ange you can just make out the crocodile attacking Stan's front wheel.
FollowupID: 384716

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:17

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:17
This is in a Victoria High Country near Mt Skene (Holylands link crossing) after all the snow melted...
FollowupID: 384720

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:20

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:20
Wow! that's a long way south for crocodiles, they must be those arctic varieties we've been hearing about.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 384740

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:57

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:57
that ain't no croc! It's one of those killer rainbow trout lol

Leroy
FollowupID: 384759

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:37

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:37
Hi Chris,
Personally i would go the 60. Reason......when i went to get mine, i was planning on the 60, he had the whole range on display so i could get a feel for them all. Ended up buying the 80 instead. Glad i did though, comes in very handy on weekenders when friends tag along as they really dont have any idea what to bring so i add food and drinks for when they run out. Plus the fact that when its not being used away, it comes in very handy at home as my COKE fridge...especially with the grand final approaching soon.

If you can afford the extra 100 bucks, go for it mate, worst thing that will happen is you wont fill it up on every trip.
Cheers Ange
AnswerID: 130237

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:38

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:38
The Engel is not worth the money and neither are the Waecos. Buy the waeco if you want to save money. If you want quality buy the Engel.
AnswerID: 130238

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:52

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 14:52
Yep -they are high prices, but putting extortion aside.....
I just bought a Waeco CF60AC for $934 in SA - Rays (Vic & SA) does the normal price less 6.5% for members. My retailer matched that price. The space above a 50L was wasted in my setup, so I paid the extra $100 for the 60L. In my view the Engel is quality but you get a lot less for the dollars. The Waeco has 60L, settable low voltage protection, and a switch that will force-run the unit, IF the electronics fail. The only reason to buy the Engel for me was the robust case, BUT I look after all of my goodies, so the Waeco isn't going to need to be ultra robust - it will get a comfortable life anyway !
I'm going to look at making an insulation cover later.
AnswerID: 130240

Follow Up By: ChrisB - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:27

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:27
My first thought in getting the 50 instead of the 60 was access as the 60 is 550mm high. Does the height of the 60 you just bought give you any complaints when accessing the fridge from in the back of you car?

FollowupID: 384808

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:46

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:46
I'm 1.8m in my socks, and the fridge is on a homebuilt slide - I can see into it when slid out. As for SWMBO, a short bucket will have to elevate her for a squiz inside (although she won't need to see inside to reach in and get me a coldie I guess ! :-) .... hell....hope she doesn't read this. If your fridge wasn't going to slide out, access could be a real pain with the 60L's height for sure. An Engel for example, appears to be way lower - but lots more $ and 20L less - the 60L Engel is many more $.
FollowupID: 384811

Reply By: Terrano Tripper (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 15:38

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 15:38
We have been looking at both the 50l and the 60l waeco and think the bigger unit may be a necessary with 2 boys.

My main concern though has been can I reach and see what is inside the 60l with it in the back of the car without a step ladder. (It can be a challenge for some of us)

Wen
AnswerID: 130244

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:00

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:00
Chris,

Buy whichever brand you like. I've owned both and the beer doesn't taste any different out of either.

The Waeco has the "dairy" space which can either be viewed as a loss of genuine fridge space, or somewhere to put the lettuce, tomatoes etc so they don't freeze if you like your beer as cold as I do. Personal choice.

Size wise; get as big as you can afford and fit IMO. More space allows more variety of food and drinks, thus a more enjoyable trip. A smaller fridge means you have to be selective and go without some of the nice stuff. For me camping is not about going without. Others are happy to get by on the bare essentials. Again, personal choice.

AnswerID: 130249

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:33

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 16:33
the compressor will not be working overtime...they are a variable speed compressor and capacity is selected to match load.....

and your right...theyare german made....but that alone does not mean they are the best.......i havent seen the others and no one can show em to me either
AnswerID: 130253

Reply By: Freddyo - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:42

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:42
Does anybody have any info regarding power draw? Will they pull down, say a 400AH, battery to the point that the fridge shuts itself off if left on all night? Borderline or for sure? I realize there are all kind of variables involved.

Thanks.
AnswerID: 130312

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:53

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:53
That's one big battery, maybe you mean 40AH which will get you through the night no problem. They only draw 2 to 3 amps when running.
FollowupID: 384757

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:53

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:53
Archives ,type in waeco or solar or engle or battery and allow yourself a week or three to read the lot.
FollowupID: 384801

Follow Up By: Freddyo - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:43

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:43
Sorry about that post. I did the search after I made the post and was up way too late reading what I found. Bad habit of mine, talking before I listen.

I have a Dometic which runs on 12v, 110v, or propane. On 12v it eats up the amps but I switch to propane in camp. I need more capacity but was hesitant to give up the propane option. But at only 2-3 amp draw I'm going for an Engel. I have two 68 AH Odyssey batteries that can handle that.

Thanks.
FollowupID: 384838

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 06:56

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 06:56
We looked at the 60 and 70 litre Trailblaza fridges. Not going into the brand thing but have often said how happy we are we bought the 70 litre. Have lived on Fraser for a week out of the fridge with no problems. If you have the room and the money, get the bigger one would be my advice.
AnswerID: 130355

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:50

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:50
No argument , will answer with a question however ,"do you take beer with you camping ?" If yes get the bigger fridge ,, and no the engle is not "worth" an extra $540 , value is only in the eye of the beholder ..[ I own both brands so no bias ].
AnswerID: 130364

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:35

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:35
Chris, for a third choice check out this link: http://tinyurl.com/bzwhe

I will not try and tell you it's better than an Engel (a fridge I havn't used)

However I will tell you it does have the same German made compressor as the Waeco !!

It also does have an all stainless steel full height evaporator (the others don't) and can be used as a dual system Fridge/freezer or all Freezer or only as a fridge, now thats just no fun :-)
Is available in 2 sizes, 50lt and also 70lt, and you can't beat capacity when it's available! I used a 50Lt fridge for 7 years and have found it to be ok for 1 or 2 people, but for long term stays and more than 2 people I would recomend a larger size, I'm now going to 70Lt myself. (however different fridge)

These are specifically designed for the extreme Australian environment with the energy efficient Danfoss BD35 compressor, and with 50mm thick insulation, which I believe you will find is thicker than the others also.
They have dual compartments and the fridge has a full height (and I believe also base mounted?) Stainless Steel evaporator, which does give complete top to bottom efficient cooling, the other fridge's mentioned definately don't have that benefit, and the 240 volt power adapter is also included.

mainey...
AnswerID: 130389

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 13:18

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 13:18
I have a Waeco CF-50 and put an Amp Meter on to a spare lead I have. The Fridge Surges to 6 Amps on start up and when running pulls 4 Amps most of the time. The lowest I have seen mine run is 3 Amps. When you have the Turbo button on it pulls up to 8 amps. I have also tried this on a friends CF-50 and the figures are the same.

I normally allow an average draw of 1.5 Amp per hour so a 100 Amp hour battery (60 Amp hour usable) should last you approx 40 hours. This is for the fridge set to keep beer cool which for me is normally 3 during the day and 2 during the night.

I have an 80 Watt solar panel on my van and when the fridge is connected to the 100 Amp Hour van battery it seems to run Ok (van lights and all) for about 5 days with reasonable sun. (I am in Victoria!!)

I always have the cutout switch set on low.

FollowupID: 384865

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 13:37

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 13:37
Grizzle ,how what when accurate is your amp meter ?????????? fair enough that 2 identical fridges draw the same but I would really question the accuracy of your testing equipment ,,,, the 50 uses the bd 35 comp and your saying that it uses more amps on start up than the bd50 comp in my waeco ,,max draw 4.5amp at startup droping to 3.4 on run {3.5using turbo} and .02 on idle ,,,,, very VERY close to factory specs.
FollowupID: 384871

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 20:13

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 20:13
Not seeking to denagrade a post but the facts are that the danfoss compressor, forget what fridge it is in, the Danfoss compressor itself will use more than 6 amps at start-up, UNLESS you call start-up the first few minutes. The danfoss compressor may use 6 amps after it has initially started for a brief moment but to actually kick the compressor over initially (that is what I am referring to as START-UP) it will use more amps than has been posted and you would need something of far better design and quality than an inline ammeter to actually see the result, as it is for a verrrrry short period of time at the higher amperage, then trickles down, well trickles is the wrong word as it goes down verrrrry fast to a more realistic amp draw number around that you have both posted.
However another thing I can add here is two fridge's using the same model compressor can have a different amp usage numbers per hour, which is generally caused by the wrong gassing preasures within the system or electrical cabling defects between the compressor and the battery system.

So as can be seen by the two posts above where the power consumption differs between the two same model fridge compressors there are logical reasons that are not apparent visually but will soon become evident only when correctly tested by a qualified refrigeration mechanic.

BOTH posts therefore can be correct, even with different specifications quoted as being correct by their relevant owners.

I would sugest that maybe one cycles more than the other because the correct gas preasures will remove the heat from the fridge cabinet more effectively.
FollowupID: 384910

Follow Up By: brett - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:01

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:01
My BD35 runs about 4.5A normally and about 7A on Turbo. Startup is really irrelevant as you won't measure it with a digital meter, too slow to read, and the current level is only high for less than a second.

If your BD50 is only drawing 0.1A more on turbo then there is something wrong with your compressor or your ammeter. And 3.5A seems a bit low for a bigger compressor, I've heard people say around 6 amps for a CF80 which uses the BD50.
FollowupID: 385011

Reply By: Grizzle - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:42

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:42
Sorry mate, definitely NOT 3.5 on Turbo!!! My figures also relate to the fridge running in the car not on a 240 power supply. Also they correlate with battery life when we are away camping.

AnswerID: 130422

Reply By: Grizzle - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:44

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:44
Sorry, I should also point out that I have spoken to Waeco technical department and they confirmed thate those figures are pretty much real life figures.

AnswerID: 130423

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:22

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:22
The bottom line in all of this is what happens when you are on the road with your fridge so maybe some other people can post their real experiences with these type of fridges.

FollowupID: 385002

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:17

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:17
GRizzle , bottom line ,real life , my 80lt waeco this w/end ,switched on 12.30pm friday ,in the back of the cruiser , sth east QLD , ambient temp 26/27c , 1.30pm temp in fridge = d 3c ,, power running to fridge thru steca controller to keep track of amps used ,, sunday 3pm back home from sunshine coast , fridge never left vehicle or physicaly switched off , opened 30/35 times at 1 to 2 min per time ,amps used in 50.5 hrs = 115.2 divided by time = 2.28amps per hr of use ,,, was used as all fridge but less than 50% full, contents at start all hot ,=2x bottle champagne,4xbottles chard ,18x stubbies becks beer ,4xcans coke ,4x stubbies soda water ,4xcans midstrenth beer , 2x bottles cab/sav in dairy compartment +3 packets of cheese ,,,,,,tell your tech he dont know jack s--t.
FollowupID: 385177

Follow Up By: brett - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:35

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:35
2.28 amps drawn per hour sounds feasable, but is not comparable to an amp/hour figure. What was your original quote of 3.4 Amps, was that current drawn per hour or was that amp/hour. I suspect it was not the current drawn when running but the total current drawn for a 60 minute period. As if it only draws 3.4Amp when running and your 2.28amps per hr of use means the fridge was running for about 40 minutes every hour, that doesn't seem right. I think you and Grizzle are talking different things, he's talking amp/hour and you talking amps per hour of use.
FollowupID: 385189

Follow Up By: brett - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:38

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:38
Do a google on the BD50, you'll find most places quoting around 6 amps when running. Which depending on the temperature would be around 3 amps drawn per hour, possibly less.
FollowupID: 385190

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 07:03

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 07:03
Brett ,,the only thing that matters is if the beer is cold enough , secondary to that is how many amps are used per hr over any given period be it 1hr or 100hrs ,, if you dont know how much you use per hr real time you cannot feasably gauge how long your battery power will last before recharge or damage to battery occurs ..it matters not if a fridge used 6amps or 60amps when on ,,,only the "actual" amount depleted from the battery per hr is of import ,,as stated above ,this w/end ,my 80lt waeco on 12v only used 115.2 amps in a 50.5hr period which equates to 2.28 amps per hr ,,,
FollowupID: 385204

Follow Up By: brett - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:24

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:24
Yep spot on, but there is some confusion when talking amps, some people get the amp/hour and amps used per hour confused, as you said the later is more important. The 40L engel is quoted as only needing 2.8 amps when running so people straight away think it uses almost half the power of a Danfoss. But as you've shown and also the Choice article on fridges shows it means nothing, it'd total current drawn that matters, the choice article showed this well, the engel had to run twice as long as a danfoss to cool down to a set temp. Although not that there is anything wrong with an engel, just don't be tricked by the marketing types.
FollowupID: 385260