Rustproofing advice wanted

I do the occasional beach run (to get those good fishing spots, you know how it is) so I am considering rustproofing my 100 series and was after some info on available options.

Searching the forum there is quite a bit on the ERPS but I'm not convinced that these things work (??). A friend mentioned fish oil (i think he called it fisholene - or something like that), so I was wondering if anyone has applied this to their truck. I can't seem to find much info on this type of rust protection on the net so I was hoping someone could provide me with the some advice. Muchly appreciated.

Dekard

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 15:10

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 15:10
Salt Assault, by Staun

It removes salt build up and puts a protective non oily coating onto the car for next time you head out.

Avalable at TJM, ARB, OL and ORE

Fish oil is all well and good if you want the beach sand stuck to the bottom of the 4WD as well.
AnswerID: 139097

Follow Up By: Dekard05 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 16:06

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 16:06
Thanks Exploder, I will look into this (Ithought that salt assualt was only to wash off the salt, didn't realise it put a protective film over everything as well). I read that as long as the fish oil is left to dry then sand won't stick to it, but if it dries sticky I will stay clear of it (don't want the underside to look like a lamington)! Thanks for your help.
Dekard
FollowupID: 392869

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:32

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:32
What effect does Salt Assault have on paint, rubber, plastics etc?

I don't have access to a ramp or hoist and I imagine iy would be difficult to reach all susceptable areas.

If you use this stuff is there any benefit in having any chemical rustproofing done at all?

I may have to keep the present new vehicle much longer than before so any constructive advice would be appreciated.

thanks
EV700
FollowupID: 392882

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 22:07

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 22:07
It’s applied with an applicator sprayer that attaches to the garden hose, so you just stick the hose under the car and spray it around, fairly easy I would think.

It is a lot easier than trying to cover the bottom of the 4WD in fish oil, and the Salt Assault dissolves any salt build up as well Fish oil doesn’t.

There is no way I would be spraying the bottom of my 4WD with fish oil let alone a $60,000 landcruiser, so I was just giving him a alternative short of doing a tar spray or fitting a ERPS system.

I don’t use it, as I don’t make a habit of driving in salty water and after a beach trip the car get a good under body spray down, my info is only based on what I have read about it. I believe the Dampier Salt mine in WA use it on there fleet of Toyotas also.
FollowupID: 392884

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:09

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:09
Thanks.

Also useful to know that it is used by a salt mine. Indisates some chance of it working well.
FollowupID: 392890

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:45

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:45
Use salt assault after the beach. It's designed to wash off and neutralise salt. Use Staun 329 before the beach. It's designed as a corrosion preventative.

Cheers..........

FollowupID: 393183

Reply By: JustyWhyalla - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:33

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:33
Go electronic protection. Using fish oil and other like barriers only protects the spots you can get to and only as long as it is applied. Eg hasn't been worn off by sand etc. Speak with your state surf life saving association. Just about all of them now use ERPS or similar to protect their vehicles. There are a few different systems but all basically work the same way.
AnswerID: 139111

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:36

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:36
most modern vehicles including 100s are pretty well rust resistant best rustproofing is a good wash after the beach assault. Unless you like driving out to meet the fish or go beach every weekend the odd fishing trip shouldnt leave you with nothing but a pile of rust anytime soon
I have used fisholene on older vehicles as part of rust removal and treatment in problem areas
AnswerID: 139112

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 20:33

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 20:33
1) I used Fisholene on some rooftop air conditioning equipment that is on a building about 70 metres from the waves..... the gear lasted 3 years!!!!!! And is now rusted away!

2) The best thing you can do is thoroughly (mke that THOROUGHLY!!!!!!) wash under the truck when you get home..... takes me the best part of a day to get to all the spots that sand and salt can get to!!!
AnswerID: 139123

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:24

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:24
I notie that the CounterAct electronic rust protection site has a list of testimonials.

I believe some companies or voluntary agencies claim to have done comparison tests ie out of several vehicles in same environment some had tess rust.

Would units have been 'gifted' to some of these bodies? Not saying that would be wrong, just trying to establish what organisations bought what and on what evidence.

Is anyone on ExplorOz connected with any of the voluntyary organisations in particular and can give some background?

It would be impressive if (say) an electronic rust protection unit was used a an ambulance on Fraser or Moreton and independent mechanics can attest to the effectiveness of the unit/s, ERPS, CounterAct or whatever.

These units represent a big outlay, as does to a lesser extent chemical rustproofing and there must be some independent mechanics or panel beaters or the like who can comment. Owbers comments are useful but they are possibly not independent.

EV700
AnswerID: 139126

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 22:13

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 22:13
Well I can tell you in the Eatern Goldfields mines with ground water that makes the sea look like evian spring water and the environment is so corrosive it makes beach driving look like a desert run they dont use electronic rust prevention. I believe one minesite tried it and quickly gave up (they are still listed as a user)
FollowupID: 392887

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:20

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:20
Davoe
I am skeptical about these electronic devices.
However it is interesting that some organisations have provided letters claiming good results.
EV700
FollowupID: 392891

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:07

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:07
Maybe i am sceptical but I always reckon testiomonials prove it doesnt work. its like the vids you get with the copys of the excellent reviews on them - they are always crap.
Biggest problem for the averadge joe shmo it would be next to immpossable to tell if it works. Most vehicles now if looked after can go at least 10 years before any rust starts to show. I sold a 1986 skline to Ma and Pa and as far as i know it still is rust free. If i had put a rust preventer on it i guess I would be telling everyone how good they are--- But i havnt
FollowupID: 392898

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:53

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 00:53
Deckard,

I used 4l of Fisholene under my Landcruiser. Bit on the nose for a while, but contrary to folklore, beach sand hasn't stuck to it. I let it dry off for at least a month before driving in sand.

Apart from the smell the disadvantages of fisholene are that all the gold drips that dry under the vehicle look like oil leaks and I panic each time I see one. The other thing I'm finding is that under wheel arches and the chassis alongside the wheels or where there is road splash, that the Fisholene washes off. It probably needs a harder paint coating over the top.

I imagine the air cond near the coast that Brian from the Gold Coast reported, that the Fisholene washed off. I'm planning to redo mine each couple of years. I used the degreaser can from the Supercheap compressor set I bought to spray the Fisholene all through the chassis rails, over the driveway, over me, with a nice coating of overspray on the plants and the duco. But nuthings rusting!!

I'd go with Davoes advice to wash it down properly and make sure the drain holes are free. Coat the inside of the chassis rails with Fisholene where you can't see if Toyota has put any coatings and it should be fine...... should be...

Tim
AnswerID: 139143

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:07

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:07
Hi Dekard
One of my friends put CounterAct on his 60 series when he had a full de-rust and respray done. It started rusting again within 3 weeks!! The rusting stopped when he ripped out the electronic system. Naturally my brother and I have both scrapped plans to fit electronic rust protection to our vehicles. Now we thoroughly wash the vehicles after beach runs - cheaper and a good chance to have a look at the undercarriage while we're there.
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 139146

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 08:50

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 08:50
Dr Karl Kruszelnicki's viewpoint from the ABC on these devices.
Dr Karl
AnswerID: 139152

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 10:35

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 10:35
I also considered fitting an ERPS. On Double Island point, several owner operaters supply ice, bread, icecream etc and drive the beach every day. I asked 2 of them if they had used the electronic system - both said yes - and both said the systems were worse than useless.
20 years ago, an old hand recommended peanut oil (from Woolworths etc).
Very thin oil - penetrates every tiny nook/cranny. (try washing it off your hands).
Car smells like a fish and chip shop for about 2 days - then odorless.
I used it on my Tojo - thorough job - removed all seats etc.
Drove it on the beach many times and over 13 years of service, only 1 small spot of rust - where the chassis rail meets the very back panel - nearly impossible to get oil into. (nb - same as above - always washed it after beach runs).
I now have a GU Patrol - sprayed it with peanut oil, but with sound deadening material on the floor and panel covers everywhere, the job wasn't as thorough.
With the newer metals being zincalumed, they are far less prone to rust.
For me I'll stick with the peanut oil, and do a thorough wash after each run.
It stays tacky, so continues to creep into other inaccessable joins over time.
Yes it does attract dust, so when you lift the bonnet, the metal joins look dusty.
Overspray or leaks onto the paint work can be easily removed with soapy water and polish - and yes some migration from panel joins will continue to appear for a week or 2 after you first apply it (use a pump up plastic spray gun).
UPSIDE : It works - it's cheap - and it works.
DOWNSIDE - on very soft rubber (eg the door cushioning rubber) the acid in the peanut oil will dissolve it - but only the very soft foam type rubber.
That has been my experience.
(Just for the hell of it - try washing it off your hands with cold water).
AnswerID: 139158

Reply By: kiss'n'dirt - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:00

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:00
I have a GU which is similar size to your 100 series.
I use to be an old school spray person. I considered a long time about going electronic and spoke to alot of people. months of research. Consulted a few of my collegues who are also chemical wizzes. I now have ERPS on my GU and will definitely do it again. You can ask people all the opinions you want but if they're not fitted properly and system is not sufficient, it won't work.

If you ring ERPS at Gold Coast, they'll tell you their 6 pack beach pack is the way to go. BS.

My GU has 10 pads. 2 on diagonal corners of my chassis, 2 on front of body L and R, 2 in middle of body, 2 at back of body, one on steel bullbar and one on the large rear door.

Remember current will not pass through rubber or any other insulation. So you need to climb under and have a look or have a good installer who knows what they are looking for and where to put the pads.

My GU lives at Fraser Island when possible and it's in perfect condition. I'll actually be going into the shine and shine up at cruiser park next year. if you want to see pics of my GU, go to 4WD monthly forum and look up My TI patrol.

my bro has 9 pads on his Yota Kluger which also leaves at fraser and moreton. He's not the most thorough person when comes to washing and his beast is in as new condition.

The thing you need to remember is ERPS does not PREVENT RUST. IT slows it down DRAMATICALLY. It emits -ve current which travels via the vehicles PAINT to cover the metal and prevent the chemical reaction of rusting occuring as fast as it normally does.

1. No paint = no protection. best results on new vehicles. may need touch up on areas.
2. You still need to WASH the vehicle. not a garden sprinkler. i throw the meat huggers on with a pair of goggles and climb under the truck. garden hose is all that's required as a strong shower and start washing from top down. above fuel tank, above rails, gear box transfer case, inside chassis rails. Don't use high pressure, you'll blow sand into places you'll never get out again. and some people wonder why their truck rusts.

My GU is never under shelter. It's in the sun 24/7. the -ve charge has prevented the oxidization of the paint as well. See my pics for proof.

The guy that looks after the Eurong beach houses on Fraser has a defender with the aluminium body. so call no rust. because he never washes his vehicle, it just corrodes away. Now with the system and washing it once a fortnight, it has stopped or slowed down heaps.

If you're in brisbane, let me know.. i'll point you to someone that knows what they're doing. i can even show you my truck if you want to see it.

i didn't go for counteract or coupler tec (same company- different smell) because they only had 2 pads. one in front and 1 at rear. Someone told me they now have 4 APPARENTLY. still not enough. i know each PAD should emit minimum of 440 millivolts. maybe on a Jimny..

Goodluck. i'll definitely do it again.
AnswerID: 139169

Reply By: Dekard05 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 14:37

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 14:37
Thanks for all your responses, certainly given me something to think about!

Seems the only thing everyone agrees on is to wash the buggery out of the car - makes good sense to me.

Kiss'n'dirt, can't find your profile, same usename??

Dekard
AnswerID: 139174

Follow Up By: kiss'n'dirt - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 16:02

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 16:02
try kissdirt..

my mobile 0419 023 577

you in brisbane??
FollowupID: 392918

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 14:43

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 14:43
I suppose a question that has not been addressed is whether to (professionally) chemically rust proof or not.

Some reasons against that I have read:
-it can block ventilation and drain holes;
- no better in the longer term than washing underbody and waxing paint;
- fisholene and some other products make the engine bay unpleasant to work in (sticky gelatinous coating everywhere);
- when used, products like SaltAssault can dissolve rustproofing chemicals; and
- sand and gravel remove coating in some areas over time.

What is the best for a person who intends to keep a vehicle tong term?

Forgetting ERPS etc is it better to have a professional rust proof or not?
AnswerID: 139176

Reply By: zook - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 11:28

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 11:28
I got a mate who lives right behind rainbow beach.

He's had his hj45 ute (so i'm told) for 10 yrs. The only place he drives it is on the beach.

He fisholined the whole car. Let it dry for a month and hasn't had any problems.

Must note he does a new coat every 2 years...

AnswerID: 139460