Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

OT - Our wildlife encounter....

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 11:18

Al & Mrs Al (Vic)

there's been a few posts lately about wildlife both native and other and what people think of them....so I thought I'd share mine and Callum's encounter.....walking through to the kitchen today I spotted my dog [Brittany Spaniel] known to all and sundry as LJ, in the crouched stalking position..I thought perhaps there was a duck about, but, no, there was an Echidna was crossing the back yard..LJ was quickly despatched to his pen and Callum and I headed out to check out the visitor...

Kids in mine at Coober Pedy

after not getting into Al's shed, the Echidna then headed towards the fence

delivering the mail to Coward Springs

I've seen several Echidnas around Romsey, but not in our yard, though, we did use to own Wolfhounds...lol...and we didn't see a great deal of any wildlife then...it was great for Callum to get a close look and he was amazed when the Echidna curled up...he was also fascinated by it's back feet....the Echidna is now happily exploring the neighbours garden...Callum only got as close as the pics show, and happily sat on the ground several meters away and watched it go through the fence and into the yard beyond.

Lyn

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

ThreadID: 28544 Replies: 6
Views: 722 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 141933   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 11:35

gramps replied:

Great when kids can get up close and personal with some of our wildlife. Totally different perspective to books, TV or even zoos etc.
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 141940   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:12

Bonz (Vic) replied:

Alby almost got killed by a duck I heard

Callum looks a bit like harry butler

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 395552   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:23

Al & Mrs Al (Vic) posted:

but he doesn't have his hand up a log.....

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 395555   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:53

Member - bushfix posted:

g'day Bonz.,

got me thinking of Hoges on Harry Butler, "let's see if we can coax him down..."
Sunset at Yardea Station
Click Image to Enlarge
my wife & kids, the bush...
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 395559   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:36

Member - John (Vic) posted:

"Alby almost got killed by a duck I heard"

Hey I thought you said yesterday he was killed by a duck? I cried myself to sleep over his loss last night, now your saying it was an almost???
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 395560   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 13:45

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Lol John go take a look back at that post, I corrected earlier erroneous information

Lynda he has that " I just returned him to his natural environment" look in his eye

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 395567   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 15:02

Member - John (Vic) posted:

OK no worries I'm over it, glad the duck was not hurt in the incident ;-)

Will sleep better now knowing that Alby's alright, So will jdy Green I guess.

Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 141990   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:28

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses replied:

Lyn, they are facinating animals, the echidna, have got down to eye level to have a good look and you know that would be a good look for me too. Yeh, a joke.

Have had koalas in the garden here and at the previous house too, but up a blackwood there. Had a koala inspecting the calf shed a couple of years back, perhaps I should say casing the joint as he was hundreds of metres from any eucalypt.

I don't want to see any large wild life, sharks or bunyips if I go sea kayaking.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
Reply 3 of 6
FollowupID: 395639   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 21:13

Member - Duncs posted:

Large wildlife you say.

I remember the first time I went Scuba diving with sharks off Jervis Bay.

There were 13 divers on the boat, I was last down the anchor rope. I didn't want to get there while the sharks were still hungry. When I got to the bottom one of the other divers pointed to a shark just behind me. When I turned to see it, the overwhelming compulsion was not to flee but to touch it.

Now this may sound stupid (can't wait for the replys to this) but I spent the next 20 min chasing sharks all over the ocean. I am not normally the one who picks up lizards or strokes the carpet snake at the reptile park, I am not even real keen on patting the neighbours dog. But this shark was just so beautiful. Unfortunately it could swim faster than me, I never did catch it......probaly a good thing. :o)

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 141991   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 16:42

Member - Bradley replied:

yeah, we had quite a few over at the guim, they are grouse critters, heaps of blue tounges and even lots of platapus in the creek.

Only 'local' critters i dont like have those little stripes along their backs (and 2 nasty teeth LOL)

Click Image to Enlarge
On the lookout for 98 onwards v6 auto jack.
Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
Fly / Cruise - Half Day Tour Fly / Cruise - Half Day Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Take a helicopter flight over four reef locations before boarding Osprey V at North Hastings Reef.
Harley Davidson® Beach & Park Patrol - NSW Harley Davidson® Beach & Park Patrol - N
Sydney - NSW
Get kitted up with leather jacket, gloves and helmet and hop on the back of the ultimate touring mot
Ballooning over the magnificent Gold Coast Ballooning over the magnificent Gold Coast
Gold Coast - QLD
A truly unique experience as you float across the sky with the picturesque panorama of the Gold Coas
Cruising The Swan Tour Cruising The Swan Tour
Perth - WA
The newest and best tour in Perth!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 142005   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 18:57

Willem replied:

Cute aren't they? No doubt Callum will have lots to say about the encounter. lol
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to bag a bunny

Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 142035   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 21:10

atoyot replied:

We found a dead one on the road out the front a few months ago. The kids were fascinated with it, but sad that we found it this way. The kids insisted on a proper burial. I've seen lots on the sides of roads over the years; even saw one d!ckhead swerve to hit one.

Then last week, I though our Dobermann had a brown bailed up out the back, but he was jumping around a fair bit after poking his nose at this thing; turned out to be an echidna. I can't imagine a dog doing any damage to one. We interfered in his wanderings a bit as we didn't want to find another one on the road, so on with the welding gloves and we re-located him down the back paddock. Still, they do wander over a large area so it probably won't make any difference, but I know the kids learn valuable lessons in life from these types of encounters.

I know I'm looking forward to catching the feral cat around here which is decimating the local population of Eastern and Crimson Rosellas, King Parrots and anything else that moves(cept the Dobe!). Anyone suggest ways of taming feral cats? I'm thinking along the lines of a 410.

Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 395652   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 22:14

ShnogDog posted:

.17 magnum is great for cats, but nothing beats a shotgun...
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 395666   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 23:57

gramps posted:

Here we go again!!! A 410 is fine Andrew. He'll be good and tamed after that LOLOLOL
FollowUp 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website