Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Staun Tyre Deflators

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:29

Hun

Hi Folks

Has anyone had any experience with them?
Got a set for Christmas.Are they worth pulling out of the packet.
Hun
ThreadID: 29358 Replies: 14
Views: 804 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 146525   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:36

Uppy - Member replied:

they are great to use
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there
Reply 1 of 14
FollowupID: 400064   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 15:06

Carl & Kaz posted:

To set the pressure to what you want, use a bike tyre. It is much quicker!!!!!!!!!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 146526   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:42

Rod W replied:

Yep, have had a set for 8 years or thereabouts. If you do a lot of sand as is the case here in WA they are well worth it. A one person operation. You don't have to find a stick to/or poke something into the valve stem.
As you are aware you need to preset the deflation pressure, I set mine to 18psi so it allows it to go lower. Some locations require 10psi
Reply 2 of 14
AnswerID: 146536   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:12

Member - Beatit (QLD) replied:

I have 2 sets, i set at 18 and the other 28. As said above they work a treat if you do regular sand driving because you just screw them on and take them off when they have finished. Just make sure you set and test them to start with. I have found them to be totally reliable and take them on every trip.

PS Hope Santa delivered a compressor as well.
Life changing events!
Click Image to Enlarge
A new way of life is emerging.
Reply 3 of 14
FollowupID: 400029   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:36

Rick (S.A.) posted:

yeah me 2; same as Beatit.

One set at 15 psi for beach runs - these are dobbed with yellow acrylic paint by me over the lock ring. The others at 28 psi - they are with a white dob of over the lock ring so I can see if the adjustment has accidentally altered.

Here is a copy of an article I wrote for the 4Wheeling SA on-line magazine. I have left the pictures out.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

There’s lots of gimmicky things that tempt a four wheel driver to part with his cash.
But here’s one that may just be worth investigating – Staun Tyre Deflators. As the ad says, they will let you down. And for setting tyre pressures at a predetermined level, they work well. By adjusting a brass ring, and screwing the deflator onto the valve stem, they are the easy way to drop tyre pressures to increase traction.

Let’s imagine I’m at Robe and about to cruise through the Little Dip Conservation Park. Ive got 3 mates on board, a few coldies, some fishing gear, and the cricket is on the radio. Having come off the blacktop, my tyres are at 36 psi.

In the past, my mates & I used to let tyres down the old way. With one person on each tyre, I would count slowly to 45 (out loud) & we would all in turn check the pressure, which experience told me would be close-ish to what I wanted. Then it was fiddle-faddle with the tyre gauge to get all four tyres to exactly what we desired – all up at least 15 minutes.

However, by screwing on the 4 Stuan valves, the tyres now emit a persistent hiss of air to settle at exactly 18psi. By the time I have screwed the last of the four valves on, the first tyre is deflated exactly to my preset pressure. It’s over, and it took less than five minutes.

So what I’ve saved is a heap of fuss and time. No more mucking about with small sticks/keys/screwdrivers to press the valve in to let air escape. No more do I need to check each tyre 4 or more times to get it exactly to that magic psi level. The Staun’s get you there in one motion.

It might be fun the first couple of times all jumping out to let the tyres down, but the novelty soon wears off. Remember, there are more important things to do like opening beer! If you’re driving in different conditions, maybe it’s worth getting two sets of Staun’s with one set calibrated at 28 psi for dirt roads, and another at 15psi for sand.

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 146537   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:23

Brad, W.A. replied:

I've had my set for about 2 years. I found that I had to reset the pressure setting as all different ( all within 2 PSI) but I'm fussy. Work a treat, worth having in the glove box.
Reply 4 of 14
Activities Index
Whale Watching Surfers Paradise - Sunset Cruise Whale Watching Surfers Paradise - Sunset Crui
Gold Coast - QLD
Don't just Whale Watch - BE THERE! See the magnificent Humpback Whale breach.
Gondola Cruise on the Yarra - Vic Gondola Cruise on the Yarra - Vic
Melbourne - VIC
Enjoy the luxury of cruising Melbourne's Yarra River in our opulently appointed Venetian-style gondo
Kayak Tour - 2 Hours - Dunsborough Kayak Tour - 2 Hours - Dunsborough
South-West WA - WA
Ever wanted to paddle the pristine blue waters of Geographe Bay?
Facial at home for him and her Facial at home for him and her
Adelaide - SA
This his & hers facial means that you and your partner can enjoy a relaxing and energising treat
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 146539   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:27

cuffs replied:

Always carry a set 2@18psi & 2@15Psi, have been a life saver and always borrowed on trips by others.
Reply 5 of 14
FollowupID: 400020   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:31

Kiwi Kia posted:

I agree, don't need two sets (expensive). Set two at your sand pressure and mark (colour code) them, set the other two at road pressure for use after you re-inflate your tyres back to hard surface pressure
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 146548   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:19

Brian B (QLD) replied:

They are great. We use ours a lot as we do a lot of sand driving.
Our 2004 Hilux SR5
Click Image to Enlarge

Reply 6 of 14
AnswerID: 146560   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 12:13

glenno(qld) replied:

Stop at a nice shady spot.
Take out the deflators.
Take off the valve caps.
Watch heaps of 4wds fly past you too get to the barge quickly.
Fit the deflators.
Air will escape to a predetermined pressure.
Take the deflators off.
Fit the valve caps back on.
Drive along the churned up sand track that the 4wds previously rooted with there normal tyre pressures.
Bypass the stuck 4wd with normal tyre pressures .
Get onto barge knowing that you did the right thing.
Reply 7 of 14
AnswerID: 146562   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 12:19

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Ive had a set for few yrs still in the packet LOL

I Still just remove the valve core, and have figured out how much air comes out in round 20 and 30 seconds, and work from there.

expensive for what they are. Would be unbeatable value for $20
Reply 8 of 14
AnswerID: 146569   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 12:43

ShnogDog replied:

Looks like its all been said... top peice of kit. If you do any sand driving, use them, and you'll never look back.

Reply 9 of 14
AnswerID: 146668   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 20:21

Willem replied:

They are a waste of time and $70/80

Mine have rattled their settings loose inside their jacket, inside the centre console.

I don't use them any more. A stick works fine

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to bag a bunny

Reply 10 of 14
FollowupID: 400152   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 21:54

Truckster (Vic) posted:

I have heard this elsewhere too with the constantly havin to be reset, thats why I never bothered!

ARB or TJM Twig works wonders

as I said, if they were $20, they would be good value
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 400156   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 22:04

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

I've got 2 sets; didn't pay for either of them....one was compliments of 4x4 Australia Mag for writing a 25 word ditty about why I wanted a set; the 2nd was for renewing my sub to 4WD Monthly a year or so ago.
I set them @ 18psi and 28psi and put a drop of super glue on the lock-nuts so they won't move unless I want them to!!!! ;-))))

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 146694   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 22:11

Moneypit replied:

They are well worth it. Set two at sand pressure, 2 at gravel.

Set them both up using a bike tyre instead of pumping the 4wd up and down until you get it right. Much quicker and easier. It works off pressure and 18 pound is 18 pound in whatever size tyre you are using.

Once set, a dob of superglue or loctite will fix it in place, and it will never need setting again.

A rela good piece of kit.

Dave [Moneypit]

Reply 11 of 14
AnswerID: 146834   Submitted: Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:25

V8Diesel replied:

Once you've used them you'll never go back.

A good birthday gift, start putting out the hints now;-)
Reply 12 of 14
Activities Index
High Roller Package High Roller Package
Melbourne - VIC
Up to 120 guests compete in a tournament style competition.
Port Arthur Discovery for 2 Port Arthur Discovery for 2
Hobart - TAS
Port Arthur is without doubt a must for visitors to Tasmania, visiting the ruins of the settlement w
Sea Kayaking Morning Tour Sea Kayaking Morning Tour
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
Coffs Harbour is renowned for its abundant marine life, perfect waves and extraordinary scenic beaut
Camira Day Sailing Adventure Camira Day Sailing Adventure
The Whitsundays - QLD
One of the best days out in the Whitsundays.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 146850   Submitted: Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:41

pizzle replied:

for w.a. veiwers theres a deflator called the ferret. no springs or little bits to rattle lose over time,no glueing bits together. it screws on to valve and you unscrew valve stem, lets tyres down 1psi/sec. can only do one tyre at a time but at about 10-20 sec. a tyre thats allright to me. oh did i mention there only $25 from ferret tools

Reply 13 of 14
FollowupID: 400703   Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 11:43

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Wouldnt a normal valve core remover that doubles as a valvecap for $3.00 for 4 at Big W do the same thing?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 400840   Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 20:38

pizzle posted:

only if you think your good enough to catch the core as it flies past your ear. the ferret traps the core inside it so you can screw it back in.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 147355   Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:33

Matilda replied:

I always use mine. A drop of light oil occasionally on the shaft ensures they work accuarately. Once set I have not had problems with collars working loose. I have two set at 20 and two at 30. I work down from there if needed.
Reply 14 of 14

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions