Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

GQ with leaves

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 00:31

Barnesy

Gday, just a quick question for anybody please. I have a LWB GQ with coils all round. I am looking at a s/hand bull bar that comes from a GQ ute.

I know they made GQ utes with leaf rear end, I have heard that these utes have different width chassis rails. Is this right or just the utes that look like a MQ?

Is there any situation where this bull bar wouldn't fit my fourby?

Barnesy
Advertisement
ThreadID: 30339 Replies: 6
Views: 656 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 152420   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 00:39

Truckster (Vic) replied:

GQ Utes with Leaves are designed to carry more weight. You can get GU with coil or leaves, or could when they first came out. Dont know about now.

From what Ive read on OL, they are same chassis width.
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 406320   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 18:10

Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) posted:

Still can the testra are leaf sprung
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 152428   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 06:02

Member - John replied:

Barnesy, the leaf sprung Nissan ute, GQ and GU, has wider chassis rails at the rear, as far as I know, the rails at the front are the same width.
Before the last trip
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 152432   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 06:42

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

I had a bull bar on my GQ wagon that was originally from a leaf sprung ute..... it was an absolute bitch to fit and didn't "sit" properly anyway. As well, it seemed loose, as in, I could move it back and forth on the holding bolts although I couldn't tighten them any tighter.

Save your $$'s and get an newie...... my experiment cost me $200 for a bar I couldn't use, couldn't sell, and ended up throwing on the tip.
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 152478   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 09:49

desert replied:

You have to be a bit careful here, as the change over to GQ was a little blurred with the utes around 1989. There was a GQ that had the MQ front guards and leaf springs both front and back. This chassis is neither MQ or GQ, but a mongrel unit that filled the model gap prior to complete change over to Coil front end and the wider body bits. So, I'd reckon a bar for this model would be closer to an MQ chassis, but still MAY have to be altered. A bit like the deal with the G61 which filled the gap prior to MQ in 1979. There is a leaf GQ at work, so I could measure the chassis spacing for you if you so desire.
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 406214   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 11:03

Barnesy posted:

Thanks fo replying. So if the ute has coils up front with the flared guards like on other GQ's then it would fit you think?

I'm right in saying the utes looking like a MQ with leaves up front are the ones with different chassis width?

Barnesy
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 406241   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:06

desert posted:

Correct.
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Clare Valley Wine Tasting Tour Clare Valley Wine Tasting Tour
Clare/Yorke Penin. - SA
For Wine or Reason specialize in personalized guided Wine Tours, perfect for corporate clients or th
1hr Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride 1hr Spyder Roadster Thrill Ride
Gold Coast - QLD
What better way to get the adrenaline pumping than on the back of a 1000cc 106BHP powersport monster
Art, Outback and Cuisine 3 Nights Tour Art, Outback and Cuisine 3 Nights Tour
Outback NSW / Bourke - NSW
This itinerary takes in the gourmet region of Mildura, dinner at Stefano's and a night at the Grand
Sydney Sights Walking Tour Sydney Sights Walking Tour
Sydney - NSW
Everything you need to know about Sydney in a 2-hour guided walk.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 152572   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 19:12

parthy replied:

Try these guys if they dont know no one dose http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 152575   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 19:15

Member - Pezza (QLD) replied:

Barnesy,

The GQ utes with leafs up front are a different width, I had a bar of a coil spring wagon for sale and a bloke turned up with a leaf GQ ute, we measured the distance and there was quite a substantial difference, memory's not that good on which way it went but I think the leaf spring version is narrower.

If the one you are looking at is a coil spring I can't help you, but just measure it to be sure.

Avagoodn
Pezza

Click Image to Enlarge
" NO FEAR " means you're not going fast enough!
Reply 6 of 6