Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

National Gathering June

Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 17:58

Sargent Dan

To allow for early planning who is in for a gathering 1st weekend of June camping on the banks of the Murray River not far from Mildura.
ThreadID: 32486 Replies: 12
Views: 778 FollowUps: 26
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 164600   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 18:20

Mad Dog (Australia) replied:

Put me down as a definite with this one Dan.

Reply 1 of 12
AnswerID: 164604   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:11

rooscoota replied:

hey hey g'day

can i bring my kangawallabillibat with me ???

lifes a garden....... dig it

Reply 2 of 12
FollowupID: 419516   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:30

Sargent Dan posted:

Ok, but If it's scared of the dark leave it at home.
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 419530   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:07

Member No 1 posted:

you will need dirty harry if that thing is going

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 421119   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:32

Gramps (NSW) posted:

It looks like a skinned leopard seal ..... yuk!!!

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 164617   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 20:29

Ole Grizzly replied:

Never been to a 'gathering' before.....reckon I might bite the bullet and come along and see how the clan of 4by's enjoy each others company...cheers
Reply 3 of 12
AnswerID: 164624   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:12

Brew69(SA) replied:

Could be a maybe , possibly a yes. lol
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Reply 4 of 12
Activities Index
Mount Warning Flight Mount Warning Flight
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
This flight will take you all the way to Mount Warning visible from Byron Bay.
4WD Eco and Nature Half Day  -  Blue Mountains 4WD Eco and Nature Half Day - Blue Mountain
Blue Mountains - NSW
Discover the more remote areas of the Blue Mountains World Heritage Area by 4WD.
3 Day Six Foot Track Guided Walk 3 Day Six Foot Track Guided Walk
Blue Mountains - NSW
3 day guided walk of the famous Six Foot Track from the Blue Mountains to Jenolan Caves.
Twin Island Escape Day Cruise (Option 1) Twin Island Escape Day Cruise (Option 1)
The Whitsundays - QLD
Explore two Whitsunday Island destinations in one day, Daydream Island and Long Island.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 164634   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:46

Trevor R (QLD) replied:

Oh Sarg,

That's real tempting, I should be down around Narrandera about that time for work so how do I keep in touch with you if I can swing a couple of extra work days around Mildura. Would definately just be me and the Nissan, but it's setup for sleeping in anyway, so I feel confident in being able to catchup with more of the MOTLEY CRUE.

Regards Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
Reply 5 of 12
AnswerID: 164638   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 22:02

Des Lexic replied:

How about Lake Culluleraine which is about half way between Mildura and Renmark. The Caravan Park is fairly neat and tidy and not too far from Sunset Nat Park.
Other places are Neds Corner or Lindsay Island. Not sure of camping areas upstream of Mildura. Maybe Lake Hattah. depends on numbers coming might determine site.
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
Reply 6 of 12
FollowupID: 419558   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 23:20

Sargent Dan posted:

Thank you for the suggestions Des. Lake Hattah sounds good. Looking at the map it's a short drive to the river and Murray Sunset Park. I heard the camping ground is quite large also.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164667   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 07:51

Jimbo replied:

The first weekend in June is 3rd and 4th.

The second is the QB weekend 10th, 11th and Mon 12th is an holiday. This would allow the extra day for travel.

Just a thought.
Reply 7 of 12
FollowupID: 419580   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:35

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

A birthday bash of a friend that weekend Jimbo. Part of the earlier weekend probably best for me though will be in Melbourne on the Friday evening I expect. I need a good excuse to get away somewhere between other committments.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 419600   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:36

Sargent Dan posted:

Thanks Jimbo.

I knew you were busy John so we planned it to fit in with you :) see you there. Just working on the best place to have it.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 164674   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:07

Rock Crawler replied:

Well since I can t make the Simpson trip , this would make a good 3 day'r ro get it out of my system

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
Reply 8 of 12
FollowupID: 419602   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:37

Sargent Dan posted:

Great, looks like we've got a number interested. Take an extra day off work.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164792   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:17

Member - Darren T (VIC) replied:

I`m in, me and the better half will be glad to tag along to our first gathering.
2000 Holden Frontera SE Insert funny witty comment here
Reply 9 of 12
AnswerID: 164793   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:26

Brew69(SA) replied:

Are you going to make this official Sargent Dan and put it in the trips/gatherings? That way we can all start to make plans if we need to.
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Reply 10 of 12
FollowupID: 420337   Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:48

Member No 1 posted:

can a non member do that

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 19
FollowupID: 420338   Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:59

Member No 1 posted:

wasnt there a another post after this one where Sarg asked for some one to post in members trip/gatherings? cant find it now
i'm keeping my eye on it as i hoping....no no no trying to win some brownie points

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 19
FollowupID: 420495   Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 17:50

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

Well it appears that Sargent Dan got moderated on this. Apparently non members are not allowed to use the forum to arrange trips.

FollowUp 3 of 19
FollowupID: 420670   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 11:53

Member No 1 posted:

well have you posted it?

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 19
FollowupID: 420671   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 12:02

Member - John (Vic) posted:

Ray I don't think its a matter of non members not being allowed to arrange trips on the forum, Its trips in general applicable to all.
Thats why David spent considerable time to set up the Trips section of the site to stop filling the forum up with crap posts.
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 5 of 19
FollowupID: 420727   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 19:36

Thanks John, doesn't bother me one way or the other, I only read what sounds interesting to me or until the thread goes stale.

Nudie, you want me to post it. Where do you want the camp?

FollowUp 6 of 19
FollowupID: 420766   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:29

Member No 1 posted:

yaeh ..you do it
but if I recall from the post that was deleted Lake Hattah is dry....will that be a good spot? might be a good idea to confer with Des lexic
a bit of late evening early morning fishing wouldnt go astray

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 7 of 19
FollowupID: 420771   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:38

Hattah was dry as a bone last time I was there two years ago. Ten years ago all I could catch was carp as big as a bus. What about that other Lake mentioned..Collaraine or something was it...never been....wonder if there's any fish there.

FollowUp 8 of 19
FollowupID: 420777   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:52

Member No 1 posted:

also the other post that was deleted mentioned something about try to tie it in with school holidays...worth checking out prior to posting to members trips?

some may prefer the extra day

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 9 of 19
FollowupID: 421070   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 12:47

Wombat posted:

I don't think the other post has been moderated or deleted.

FollowUp 10 of 19
FollowupID: 421072   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:02

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Yep, just needs a Member to organise (???) it. As per the info box at top of this screen.

"This is a dedicated Trip System for Members to organise group Trips/Gatherings that are open to all."

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 11 of 19
FollowupID: 421074   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:10

Paul, there was another thread deleted where Dan posted some details. I think Dan has taken his ball and gone home.

FollowUp 12 of 19
FollowupID: 421075   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:27

Wombat posted:

You didn't scare him off did you Raymond?

What's with the shorty forty?
FollowUp 13 of 19
FollowupID: 421077   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:34

Who me! no way

I stole the pic because I like dem v hicles

FollowUp 14 of 19
FollowupID: 421104   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 16:15

Member No 1 posted:

yep...there was one definitely after this thread...which aint anymore

be a pity if he did

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 15 of 19
FollowupID: 421120   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:54

Member No 1 posted:

mad dog...have you posted it in trips/gatherings yet?

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 16 of 19
FollowupID: 421127   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 19:33

Can't see anything there. How about one of those state forest reserves along the Murrray, can take dogs then.

FollowUp 17 of 19
FollowupID: 421141   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:42

Member No 1 posted:

why not refer to des lexics reply above

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 18 of 19
FollowupID: 421142   Submitted: Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:43

Member No 1 posted:

eg
Neds Corner or Lindsay Island...and no doubt others he knows of in that area

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 19 of 19
AnswerID: 165483   Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 08:06

Member - MrBitchi (QLD) replied:

No good for us Queenslanders.... School hols are'nt till end of June.
Bit too far for a weekend trip :-(

Click Image to Enlarge

gawk; grep; unzip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; gasp; yes; umount; sleep!!
Reply 11 of 12
AnswerID: 166602   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:32

Redback replied:

See what i mean Sarg.

David anything on YOU orginising a gathering as you hinted just before your Tassie trip, maybe you and Michelle and the rest of the EO gang could do it together :0))))

Just a thought,

Reply 12 of 12
Activities Index
Twin Island Escape Day Cruise (Option 1) Twin Island Escape Day Cruise (Option 1)
The Whitsundays - QLD
Explore two Whitsunday Island destinations in one day, Daydream Island and Long Island.
Byron Bay Rainforest Adventure Byron Bay Rainforest Adventure
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Enjoy riding the awesome tracks in a lush sub-tropical, world-protected rainforest on quality mounta
Day Spa Complete Pamper Treatment Day Spa Complete Pamper Treatment
Brisbane - QLD
It's time to relax and let time pass by as you are indulged from head to toe for 4.5 hours.
MAZDA MX5 06  rental MAZDA MX5 06 rental
Sydney - NSW
Why not drive a Mazda MX5 this weekend? It can be yours, for a whole weekend.
Book Now - Things To Do