Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Winton 4WD Races

Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:13

Member - Michael O (NSW)

Only way I could think of to avoid being crucified by the forum nazis who don't want anything here not strictly related to 4WD's but....

Anyone heading to Winton for the V8's this weekend?

With the rain around at the moment I might to lock the hubs in just to get out of the carpark...
Herne Spur Wonnangatta
Click Image to Enlarge
Monday I have Friday on my mind...
The Easybeats 1966
Advertisement
ThreadID: 34532 Replies: 6
Views: 537 FollowUps: 9
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 176302   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:39

Scoey (QLD) replied:

G'Day Michael,

From the EO Homepage,

"ExplorOz® is an interactive site for people interested in camping, four wheel driving and caravanning in Australia. Used by 441,397 readers per month (May 06), this is the leading reference for Australian travellers!"

I assume you'll be "travelling" to Winton, won't you? haha! Might be a strecth but you're pretty close to being approprtiate! haha!

Oh and no I'm not going! ;-)
Scoey!
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 176305   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:55

Member - MrBitchi (QLD) replied:

Rain? What's Rain????

Click Image to Enlarge

gawk; grep; unzip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; gasp; yes; umount; sleep!!
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 432333   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:56

Scoey (QLD) posted:

I think that's the things you use to hold onto horses etc! ;-)
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 432365   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:58

ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) posted:

Santa has Rein, Dear's. Bob.

Click Image to Enlarge
BlueOval F250 7.3 Deisel.
I was born Free. 'That's as good as it's got.'
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 432413   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 16:23

Member - Oldplodder (QLD) posted:

Hey, we had 0.5mm a couple of weeks back. Rained for 3 mins and 20 secs. I checked.
They could send some this way, those bananas need all they can get so we can afford them again.

Heard some raided a banana farm and stole 4 tonnes the other day.

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
In touring mode, the way it should be.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 432435   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:14

ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) posted:

Bluddy Monkey's they will pinch anything won't they?Bob.:)-<

Click Image to Enlarge
BlueOval F250 7.3 Deisel.
I was born Free. 'That's as good as it's got.'
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 432445   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:46

Mad Dog (Australia) posted:

The local fruit shop got broken into the other day, they took all the bananas and left the cash in the till.

FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 176311   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:19

madcow replied:

We only had a small amount last night and might get a little bit more. I reckon you'll be right as the ground is still pretty dry
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 176360   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 14:46

signman replied:

Ho-Hummm..I think I'll be washing my hair, or mowing the lawn. I used to be half keen on the Touring Cars scene- but lately how boring!!
Control tyres, control fuel, 'blueprint' rules with Commodores running Ford based V8 blocks, Ford based front ends and Ford based diffs (although thats been since Commodores started racing). Control Diff & gearbox ratios and so on. The Ford brigade complaing that their splitter is 2mm smaller and the rest of the crap.
Their rule book is thicker than Formula V...
The only thing that might brighten up the (so called) Supercar scene will be when the 'press to pass' system is sorted out and utilized..
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 432384   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:00

Scoey (QLD) posted:

G'Day signman,

I haent' been folloowing the V8's for a couple of years now. What's this "press to pass" thing you're talking about? Sounds interesting! Not a shot of NoS or anything is it? haha!

Scoey!
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 432391   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:13

signman posted:

Yea Scoey
I guess it would be similar to the Indy cars, where they can get a limited boost for a limited time. However, since the V8s aren't turbo- I imagine the 'system' will be similar to the normally aspirated A1 Grand Prix cars..In A1 the cars are allowed a number of seconds of 'Press to pass' time, based on the length of the race.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 432423   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 16:49

Scoey (QLD) posted:

ahhhh interesting concept!
FollowUp 3 of 3
Activities Index
Inverawe Native Gardens Tour Inverawe Native Gardens Tour
Hobart - TAS
Meet the creators of the Inverawe Native Gardens.
Paintball Paintball '400' Full Day Package
Sydney - NSW
Paintball, without doubt, is one of Australia's most exciting sports.
Barron Sports Rafting ex. Cairns Barron Sports Rafting ex. Cairns
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
The beautiful Barron Gorge National Park is only 20 minutes from the centre of Cairns.
Golf 18 Holes @ Glades Golf Course Golf 18 Holes @ Glades Golf Course
Gold Coast - QLD
Enjoy a game of golf at the Gold Coast's ultimate golf destination, the Glades.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 176403   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:32

hopscotch replied:

The only Winton I'd like to be at this weekend is the one where 'Banjo' started the Waltzing Matilda thing.
Can have much more fun there than watching V8s try to destroy themselves.

Kevin J
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 176411   Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:53

Mad Dog (Australia) replied:

It's a good excuse to have the boys around, fire up the BBQ, sink a few tinnies and talk crap while watching on the big screen.

GO FORD!

Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 432718   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 04, 2006 at 17:00

Wisey (NSW) posted:

1st, 2nd & round win to Blue oval
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website