AnswerID: 186925 Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:58
Member - Captain (WA)
replied:
Hi rossbarb,
I had a Windosr Rapid Offroad that I recently sold as it was too big for some of the
places I like to go to (managed to rip off the awning, indicators, lights etc off both sides as well as punturing the skin with branches).
Ideally I would have loved to have kept the Rapid (its a GREAT van) and had a camper trailer for the "tighter" trips. But with only 4 weeks annual leave per year, toss in a few long weekends and I could not justify having a van and a c/t. While I loved the creature conforts of the van, I must admit I often felt remote from true
camping from my "single" days (reverse cycle a/c, microwave, TV/DVD all in the bush - is this
camping?).
But if money is not a big consideration and you can get away often enough to justify to yourself the two different vans, then why not?
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| Its not what you drive, but how you drive it!
|
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 444029 Submitted:
Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:31
Member - Roachie (SA) posted:
G'day Captain,
I haven't seen you on here for a while.....hope all is well at your end ol' mate. Good to "see ya".....lolol
As to the question at hand.......if money is no object, then why not have 2 separate trailers/vans etc. I have friends who still have their Spirit camper, but also now have a tandem caravan with ensuite etc.
Having said that, I believe you'd be better off trying to find a suitable camper trailer with off road capability which would meet ALL of your travelling needs. We have found that our Ultimate camper does this for us. It is equally at home on the bitumen as the roughest of gravel roads (or even "no" roads).
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience! |
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 444033 Submitted:
Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:47
Member - Captain (WA) posted:
Hi Roachie,
Still here, log on virtually every day but only post occasionally these days when something tickles my fancy.
I have looked at the Ultimate and must admit its high on my list for my replacement c/t. Top of the list currently is the Adventure c/t, mainly due to its great kitchen setup and shade cover. But am concerned with setup time after the Rapid.
Like the look of the new KK high rise, but with a 7 & 9 year old who won't sleep in a seperate tent it kinda rules it out (but reckon the wife loves the shower/loo inside - even if only used for those emergency uses!). But am currently undergoing a home renovation and thus a new c/t is a little down the track at the moment.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| Its not what you drive, but how you drive it!
|
FollowUp 2 of 2