Winch Vandalism

Submitted: Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:18
ThreadID: 36957 Views:9213 Replies:13 FollowUps:19
Has anyone heard of this????

Spoke to guy today, he suggested putting a switch in the main power line to the winch. He has seen two occasions where vandals have unwound the winch, ran it over the top of the car and hooked it round the towbar. Then they drop a split pin across the contacts and run off. The winch then winds in doing heaps of damage!!

Comments????

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:19

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:19
snopes.

also search, its been done before about 3 years ago
AnswerID: 190043

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:24

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:24
? snopes??

FollowupID: 447675

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:26

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:26
www.snopes.com/

Its an Urban Legend website.

This is another of the "I've heard about it , never actually seen it" type legends
FollowupID: 447676

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:27

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:27
www.snopes.com - a maintained list of debunked urban legends
FollowupID: 447677

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:29

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:29
Just searched the forum Truckster, saw the post from 01. I've just bought a new car and it's the first time I've had a winch. I might fit the switch anyway. Small outlay for peace of mind.

FollowupID: 447678

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:54

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:54
Is that similar to everyone knows someone who was talking to a bloke at the pub, whose bosses brother-in-laws mate had snatch straps let go that was joined by a shackle, and knocked off a blokes head, or went thru the windsreen, or 'ventilated' the radiator??

I by no means condone the practice of joing snatch straps with a shackle- but hey, can anyone step up and say- yes I have seen it happen??
FollowupID: 447685

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:04

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:04
Sorry to say I've seen the results of both 'urban myths' a Patrol nearly cut in two in a panelbeaters yard by the winch cable over the top.
The second occasion of 'winch' vandalism was in a carpark in Parramatta years ago where I used to park my car every day. A cruiser had its cable unwound and pulled down past three cars to a concrete pillar, paperclip acrosss the contacts in the control box and hey pretso the cruiser hung a hard left and proceeded to crush the three cars against the pillar.
That would take some sorting out by the insurance company.
I've also seen 1st hand what happens when a strap breaks and the shackle joining them goes through the rear window of a rangie, wipes out both front and rear headrests, the headlining and windscreen before severely denting the bonnet.
The driver actually moistened the drivers seat before getting out, especially as his passengers had got out to take photo's of the recovery.
I've also seen towpoints detach and trash the towing vehicle on several occasions over the years.
FollowupID: 447687

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:07

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:07
does anyone else think of the song "Ive been everywhere man...." at the moment?
FollowupID: 447689

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:07

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:07
Certainly seen the Snatch Strap issue before , and pics to go with it.

Never seen the winch one , first hand.

It "may" have been a myth a while back , but , given the amount of airtime this gets . . . its only a matter of time before someone actually does it.
FollowupID: 447690

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:10

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:10
Onya traveller2, you can now debunk snopes :)))))))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 447692

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:22

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:22
Anyone who wants to operate my winch will have to overcome the lack of power to it...................
FollowupID: 447695

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:27

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:27
Yep seen a shackle spear through a mates rear door attached to a snatch strap. But even worse seen what happens to a mate who falls asleep with a sntch strap looped around him in his swag and attached to my car when I went for a drive too!
FollowupID: 447753

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:21
This might be a stoopid question, but I don't have a winch and have thus far in 4X4 life had very little experience with them, but on the few occassions I have, I noticed the following....

1) Most winches have a "duty" cycle in the instructions.... as I understand it this is too ensure that the wich motor doesn't get too hot and burn out. (??)

2) When under load, (The load that I witnessed was a Hilux being pulled up a slight incline) the winch groaned and grumbled it's way through the pull, and this was forward winching albeit slightly uphill.... it did the job but was arguing a bit..

I would think, given my "as-stated-above" limited knowledge, that if the cable was wound out over the roof of the truck and the cabling shorted to force operation, wouldn't the winch motor burn out or the battery flatten long before the vehicle is "cut-in-half"? Sure there'd be some damage, but I think the wich or battery would fail before anything too serious occurred.....

Or if the cable is wound out and down to a pillar three cars along, the force required to skull drag a fourby sideways, against 3 cars also meant to be dragged sideways would similarly result in a flat battery or a burnout winch motor.....

I'm of the belief that this is Urban Myth at work here, and snopes is a great place to research anything that sounds a bit weird... two others are Break The Chain and Urban Legends and Folklore

I reckon that if I find something on two outta those three, then it's Bovine Faeces!

FollowupID: 447830

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:11
The two I saw caused plenty of damage before the winch stopped pulling for one reason or other. Panels are pretty soft, try walking around on the roof of your vehicle or standing on the bonnet, even a knee into the guard will do damage ;-))
FollowupID: 447839

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:18

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:18
Hairy,
"But even worse seen what happens to a mate who falls asleep with a sntch strap looped around him in his swag and attached to my car when I went for a drive too! "

What kind of a mate/person/mongrel does a stunt like that? Obviously (I hope) you DIDN'T do the hooking up and were unaware of it, but I'm guessing you knew who did..... If it was one of my friends, they wouldn't be a friend anymore I can tell ya! That is stupidity at it's worst I reckon!!
FollowupID: 447841

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:23

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:23
Nearly as bad as the family we were camping with years ago, one of the kids couldn't get the peg in the ground so tied the centre rope on the side wall of the tent to the towbar.
Kid forgot to tell dad who drove off to get firewood, ripped the whole side wall out of the tent exposing the wife in her birthday suit as she was about to put her swimming togs on!!!!
FollowupID: 447842

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:36

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:36
Brian,
Mmmm or just good harmless fun!!!
FollowupID: 447892

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:17

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:17
Hairy,
So what you're syaing is that the "snatch-round-the-mates-body-in-the-swag" didn't really happen... you were just winding us up......

Geez.... Don't I feel gullible now...

LOL.....
FollowupID: 447931

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:26

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:26
Dont.......because it did happen, but it was done very cautiously, slowly and in a soft creek bed.
FollowupID: 447965

Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:14

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:14
Unfortunately Truckster the winch episodes happened long before digital camera's and phones that take pics.
I'd reckon that the two occasions I saw weren't isolated incidents as Warn (and maybe others) changed their wiring to require an extra connection in the controller to prebvent it being done.
There are heaps of pics and even movies around of snatch strap failures, not hard to find at all.
AnswerID: 190053

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:24
Solution to original post...use the Hydraulic winch!!!!
AnswerID: 190054

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:32

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:32
Modern winches have a different style of plug "NATO ?" or something similar which prevent this type of event.
AnswerID: 190057

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:54

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:54
Easy fixed - myth or not. And if it's been done in the last 5 years photos would be all over the internet....

Just run the earthing wire (the thin one) from the solenoid pack that sits on top of the winch via a switch on the dash.

Saves money on expensive high current isolators.

This wire is found on the common Warns and many other brands.

While you are running that if you run a multicore like trailer wire you can (with a little more work) run a winch in, winch out switch on the dash also using a momentry on/centre off/momentry on DPDT switch.

AnswerID: 190062

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 16:52

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 16:52
yes i have seen it first hand in Sydney about 8 years ago to a new landcrusier it did a lot of damage (probably wrote the truck off ) i have always run a on/off under the bonnet since
AnswerID: 190070

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:41
Wasn't in the car park at Westfield Eastgardens was it?
One of the employees there, when my wife worked there, come out to find police and people everywhere around her truck and it too was nearly cut in half from the winch "myth". That was about 9 yrs ago though as her truck was an 80 series nearly new. It is definitely not a "myth".

Trevor.
FollowupID: 447722

Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:35

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:35
yep saw the results at Wild Rivers N.P. 6 - 7 years back urban myth or not it still stuffed his disco lucky the battery was almost flat from the fridge or it would have been worse damaged the bonnet roof & windscreen
cheers Kev
AnswerID: 190076

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:32

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:32
I have little doubt this has happened 'somewhere, sometime'. And perhaps the examples given in this thread are true. But:

1. No one that I know has ever seen a photograph of such an event. I would imagine that even one such event in the past 5 years anywhere in the advanced part of the world (where winches are more likely anyway) would have resulted in a photo which became publicly available. Some months ago I did an extensive internet search (was considering installing a winch at the time) and could find no real evidence. Just statement of 'I have seen it' or 'I was told by a friend'.

2. Even if it has happened a dozen times (which I doubt), the percentage of incidents, compared with the number of winches in use, would make the chance of it happening to you less than being trampled by a rogue elephant.

So I wouldn't be considering this matter as a factor in installing a winch. If concerned at all, spend the extra $50 (or whatever) and wire via a switch under the bonnet.
AnswerID: 190100

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:07

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:07
Hi Grizzle

Have heard of it, and i have put a battery isolator switch on my main power, not for any other reason but to control the power to the winch and stop anyone mucking with it.

Ads
AnswerID: 190110

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:29
The smart thing to do is take the positive lead off the battery when not having fun in the bush. I also have a mechanical lock on the winch clutch to prevent the cable being wound out at all except by motor power. I have pics if anyone is interested.
AnswerID: 190115

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:29

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:29
Myths or not, we fitted a switch which requires a key.

AnswerID: 190168

Reply By: 4X4Treker - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 02:47

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 02:47
Grizzle
On my GUIV Patrol I have put a heavy duty battery isolator in the main positive cable that runs from the batteries to the winch contoller and I because my winch controller is tucked in behind the bull bar and out of sight I have removed the remote control plug from the front of the controller extended the wires and placed it under the bonnet so when I lift the bonnet to turn on the isolator I simply plug in the remote and I am in business. Basically this setup keeps the winch isolated and in no way it can be tampered with without breaking into the truck.

Treker
AnswerID: 190174

Reply By: 3F62 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:46

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:46
Myth or not I mounted my winch control box under the bonnet beside the main battery & also gained the keep it out of the dust / rain / watercrossings issues........

AnswerID: 190301