Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

landcruiser v prado

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:31

dornbus

Hi, Whats the main differences (aside from $$$$) between a diesel auto 100 series landcruiser and the same in a prado?
Advertisement
ThreadID: 38229 Replies: 8
Views: 1470 FollowUps: 6
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 197646   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:07

Footloose replied:

None, if you believe that size doesn't matter :))))
Reply 1 of 8
AnswerID: 197647   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:08

Davo_60 replied:

100 series is bigger, heavier and more powerful and has a far better auto trans, the prado is a little more economical. IFS in cruiser has history of problems as does the front diff off road. Both are great on the HWY.
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 456200   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11

Member - Ivan (ACT) posted:

Hi Davo - not sure if you're saying there are a 'history of problems' as well as the diff, or that the 'front diff has a history of problems'

At any rate, the 105 (ie, live axle) is no better in the front diff than the 100 (IFS)

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
100 Series LandCruiser V8 (2005)
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 456209   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:57

Davo_60 posted:

I mean't IFS has weak points, but can be improved with aftermarket gear. The front diff not really strong enough but can be helped with diff lock. I think they make a great touring vehicle for those not into 'hard core' stuff.
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 456211   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:01

Member - Ivan (ACT) posted:

No dramas mate - I wasn't being defensive - just wasn't sure what you meant.

Front diff the main prob, followed by cracks in A-Arms - but they can be easily fixed - after that you're pretty right - obviously the 100 doesn't quite have the wheel travel of the 105

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 456266   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 02:14

fisho64 posted:

A-frame problems was only previous to the upgrade in sept 02, and due to welds being too short. If it has a 5 sp auto it isnt a worry.

100 series TD is a ripper with the 5sp auto. really good on juice to.
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 197650   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:56

AJs Prado replied:

Prado is same length from windscreen back as LC100 but about 2 inches narrower. 180L tank in the prado v 150 in LC and a couple of cylinders short in the grunt dept.

Prado actually can handle more kg load in car plus the on roof than an LC100 according to GVM. Both are rated to 100kgs including roof rack but GVM means prado can technically carry more but practically it effects ride and handling.

Diesel LC has dual batteries as standard and more room for another and will out torque and perfrom the prado in towing.
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 197664   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:37

Member - Jeff M (WA) replied:

The Prado has a different IFS configuration, the LC still uses the older type Torsion bar setup, which has some weak points in it.

Click Image to Enlarge
#1 - I'm not telling :-)
#2 Yellowdine National Park
#3 Powerline Trek - Saywers Valley
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
Reply 4 of 8
Activities Index
V8 Race Car Driving Experience - 8 Laps, Perth V8 Race Car Driving Experience - 8 Laps, Pert
Perth - WA
Actually DRIVE a V8 race car on a WA full-length championship race track, Barbagallo!
Stunt Driving Xperience Wild Rides Stunt Driving Xperience Wild Rides
Brisbane - QLD
Have you ever wanted to hang on for the ride of a lifetime?
Team Building Cooking Class For Up To 15 People Team Building Cooking Class For Up To 15 Peop
Sydney - NSW
The perfect idea for your next work team building event!
V8 SUPER RIDE - SA V8 SUPER RIDE - SA
Adelaide - SA
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, one of our professional race car drivers
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 197672   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11

Steve replied:

they have their reputation for dependability but their body build is dire. Talk about lightweight. A while ago we were on Stockton Beach and I checked one of the guys' tyre pressure specs on the inside of his door. When I closed it, I thought I'd swung it off it's hinges it was so lightweight. And that was in comparison to the Disco I used to drive. Obviusly built to a price. Like i say, their reliability and capability is renowned, but talk about basic.......
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 197673   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:13

Member - Ivan (ACT) replied:

Back seat is 4cm lower to the ground in the 120, than the 100

Boot area is 12cm shorter in depth in the 120, and I think from memory 8cm narrower...

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 197692   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:06

Member - Stan (VIC) replied:

100 Series got better brakes ;)
Madigan Line Jump
Click Image to Enlarge
120 GXL V6 Auto
www.lcool.org - Landcruisers Owners On Line
120scool - http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/120scool/
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 197736   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:27

Member - Ivan (ACT) replied:

Prado already has spare wheel on the back door - LC has it underneath which both restricts adding a long ranger tank (which the Prado doesn't need), but also exposes your spare to ground - especially if you put 285/75s on - ie, your spare becomes a boat anchor.

It's an easy (but costly) fix to put a Kaymar bar on, Long Ranger tank underneath, and spare on the back. Prado is good to go from the factory.

If I were buying for my wife and I, it would be the Prado hands down - but because I have three growing kids (see my post above about seat height and widths) I went for the 100. It also has the larger boot - once again, needed with a family of five - not needed if just the two of you (not sure who you are buying for!!

Another interesting one is cost - at the moment a diesel Prado is the same cost as a petrol Prado (last time I looked, just short of $50k), a petrol (V8) is around $55k, and a diesel is almost $15k more than that.. You can go second hand, but the same variances still apply.

Lastly, the common rail Prado is expected out within the next 12 months - more powerful and more economical than the current 3l - expect their prices to be more than 50k though (I'd reckon)

Click Image to Enlarge

Ivan
Reply 8 of 8
FollowupID: 456298   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:37

Member - Stan (VIC) posted:

New diesel Prado is out before end of this year Ivan :)
Current model diesel prado gxl (new) can be bought for about $47K onroad as
they are trying to get rid of stock...
Madigan Line Jump
Click Image to Enlarge
120 GXL V6 Auto
www.lcool.org - Landcruisers Owners On Line
120scool - http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/120scool/
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 456409   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:00

PatrolBen posted:

Line up
Line up
Come and you can get one of the last 'real' diesels before ultra high tech rubbish commonrail comes in.
FollowUp 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions