Electrical 4wd, 200 HP,600000watts controller, 400 km range a reality?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:39
ThreadID: 38238 Views:3349 Replies:8 FollowUps:25
Electric cars are being built by enthusiasts.

When is the first electric 4WD going to be built in Australia?
Any one building one at present?

In the last few months the Electrical technology has released on the consumer market
"electric controllers" for EV (electrical vehicle) capable
of delivering and sustaining 600000 watts (0.6 Mega watts ) of energy per second.

new electrical motor for EV are capable of delivering and sustaining 200 horse power.
A few electrical Dragster have beaten on the starting block the fuel dragsters.

The new type of batteries are giving a range of 400 km for a standard EV.

On 2nd November 2006 will be released in Australia the film
"Who Killed the Electric Car?"
See a short preview on the Internet

Site Link

For people interested by the EV technology - DIY - here are some websites:

Site Link

Site Link

www.megawattmotorworks.com/

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.comingsoon.net/films.php?id=12796

Site Link

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:01
there was a bit on the ev1 and 'who killed the electric car' the other week. was very interesting.

Leroy
AnswerID: 197686

Follow Up By: Angler - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:37

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:37
I reckon the biggest problem with electric cars is the manfacturers seem to want t tro do the same as a petrol powered car when in reality it really needs the following.

Capable of maintaining about 70Kph
Capable of travelling about 50Km without a recharge
Capable of carrying the supermarket shopping.

It will then be a real winner with most people doing what most small cars do.

For extended travel I will stick to my Patrol

Pooley
FollowupID: 456246

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:51

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:51
I think the ev1 cold do more than 300km/recharge so that;s pretty impressive. For putting around town I reckon they will be the way to go in the future but like anything (and if you do a google on the ev1) it takes time to change a mindset.

Leroy
FollowupID: 456250

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:09

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:09
and for really long distance travelling/work i will stick to my cruiser..:))))
FollowupID: 456275

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:53

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:53
theyre far from an all purpose vehicle and wouldn't suit everybody. If you lived in the larger cities and used it for commuting then it could be a possibility.

Leroy
FollowupID: 456288

Reply By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:02

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:02
I was told: If you cant say something appropriate, dont say anything at all.

And on the subject of Electric vechiles, I will do the aforementioned.
AnswerID: 197689

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:35

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:35
and what's so inappropriate?

Leroy
FollowupID: 456225

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:53
I could continue but my comments will not be appropriate for this thread so out of respect for people who have a genuine interest in this topic I will not post them. They mainly stem from the nostalgia and yee-ha feeling when I start the truck up. Fossil fuels have to go but I will sorely miss em.
Horses for courses.

Patrolben
FollowupID: 456231

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:10

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:10
oh you mean you have an opinion? Fine but if inappropriate no need to comment in the first place!

Leroy
FollowupID: 456239

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:46

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:46
Well, I don't mind the idea of buying an electric car, or even a hybrid.
BUT that long extention cord could be a problem in the desert. :-)))))
AnswerID: 197720

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:10

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:10
not if you take your own genny
FollowupID: 456276

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:07

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:07
Great, but where am I going to get the fuel to run it ? :)
FollowupID: 456303

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:29

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:29
dont you know anything footy!....trewth mate.....syphone it out of all the nissans that have been abandoned due to engine failures
FollowupID: 456313

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:44

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:44
Hmm...good thinking 99
FollowupID: 456316

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 23:37

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 23:37
Does this mean that when I stop at a campsite I should be able to run the Waeco fridge for a whole month before even thinking about a recharge???

Muddy
AnswerID: 197726

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:00

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:00
Try mastering 7days at KI first.

Remember - one must crawl before one walks Mudster.
FollowupID: 456259

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:08

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:08
hah,

wondering when you might bob up!

thought you would be on the road by now!!!!

See ya Friday
FollowupID: 456261

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:08

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:08
I do feel that you must be luckiest b a s t a r d s on earth tonight.

I say this because the 'Roach Nest' is out of cyber contact tonight and many nights to come and therefore most probably will never see this thread.

Father Roach therefore will not be researching how he can turn his GU Nissan into the first GE Nissan dual fuel ( Diesel-Electric) on this planet.

Now this is why you are lucky - because if that/this happened, SWMBO Roach, would hunt your collective butts down and send you off to meet your maker by going straight past GO and not collecting a 100 virgins.

(ROFLMAO)
AnswerID: 197729

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:56

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 00:56
LOL and I thought this was just another boring thread about renewable energy but with a twist a conspiracy theory WOW !!!!
FollowupID: 456263

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:13

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:13
bugga the conspiracy theory.....where can i collect the 100 whatsanames
FollowupID: 456277

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:34

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 07:34
Hahahahahaha it's only Lucy playing with your mind MN1 :))))))
FollowupID: 456278

Reply By: NicI - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:41

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:41
Electric power would be advantageous for offroad driving, thus:

1. No brakes, transmissions, or differentials are needed, hence huge weight savings

2. With a motor at each wheel power can be directed/redirected effortlessly to the wheel(s) with least traction.

3. Electric motors use less power at low speeds, great for the slow driving required in low-traction/rough places.

4. These vehicles are very quiet, allowing more enjoyment of the surroundings.

I have a feeling that within a few short years we may all be very lucky to be driving anywhere in anything at all, and waxing nostalgic about the days when you could 'still drive where you liked in your quietly efficient electric vehicle'. Perhaps an early, rather than too late, adoption of transport powered by non-fossil fuels might stave off this inevitability ?
AnswerID: 197750

Follow Up By: JNeiss - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:43

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:43
Hello NicI

I totally agree with you. These EV have huge weight saving due to the enormous torque of the motor.(Like you said NO diff, NO trans, The brakes are the motors.

Actually 3000 EV were produced in 2004 and by 2005 the orders were coming fast.
I am talking here of very nice cars, (NO GOLF BUGGY).
GMH , Honda etc.. all had a EV.

I believe like you electric car future without fossil fuel.

The Melbourne based EV enthusiasts is interesting with their EV solutions.

FollowupID: 456397

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:30

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:30
While electric vehicles seem to be great for slow, stop-start city driving, I see only some minor benefits for off road, long range touring.

We must also remember that electricity produced in coal power stations is not necessarily cleaner then car emissions. It just places the pollution in someone else's backyard.

R.
AnswerID: 197755

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:27

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:27
Bingo - any electric vehicle that is recharged via the electricity grid rather than generating it's own electricity (like current hybrids do) is simply generating it's pollution remotely - and potentially more - I wonder how the emissions from Hazelwood power station in Victoria would stack up against petrol engine emissions if you started driving a "clean" rechargeable car that was ultimately being powered by dirty brown coal. There's not enough green power generation in this country to allow rechargeable electric cars to be a clean alternative.

Did anyone hear about the Google Foundation's plans to design and commerically mass-produce an ethanol/electric hybrid? They're sitting on squillions of cash so they decided to do something to help the planet a bit - sounds interesting, but I haven't found much more information on it other than the original announcement.

There's already hybrid "SUVs" being manufactured in the US, and E85 is a big selling point as well over there. Ultra-clean efficient diesels are also making a comeback in the US as well. OTOH in Australia we have Holden bragging about a new 6L V8 family sedan with "minimal" increase in consumption. If the US (heaviest user of energy per capita on the planet) can start to see reason and make inroads into reduced fossil fuel consumption and cleaner technologies, hopefully we aren't too far behind.
FollowupID: 456312

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:34

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:34
Which is why we need to go nuclear ASAP.
FollowupID: 456314

Follow Up By: Sparkiepete - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:53

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 10:53
Mike harding has said it first. We need to go nuclear. With the kind of "clean" power it produces plus electric cars we could easily turn the tables on any pollution. I realise that Nuclear power is dangerous but in this day and age we should be capable enough to build and maintain nuclear stations with ease.
The only problem is our vast national transport system.
We need to allow our transport system to keep using our fossil fuels to keep going but if we could start getting cars and recreational vehicles( don't know about motorbikes though) running on a clean source like electricity it would help clean the air in a lot of places(Sydney, I am looking at you) I am sure they are capable of creating better batteries and charging systems to match them.
Power doesn't seem to be a problem as they are capable of 185KW with maximum torque at start up.

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

Granted it is light but its a start.

All right, just grabbing my flame retardant suit now ;-)

FollowupID: 456318

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:22

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:22
yes nuclear may be part of the answer but we all know he dangers. We just have to wait for a government who needs to balance it's books and sell off the nuclear power plants. Then the managment "has a responibility to the shareholders" and begins cost cutting and "restructuring". We can't even operate our sewage treatment plants without mishaps.

Question is how far away would you want YOUR house from the plant. Both my grandmothers lived in different countries in central europe. Not russia. And both died within 9 months after chernobyl. Both from cancer.

There is no easy way of sustaing our lifestyle.

R.
FollowupID: 456319

Follow Up By: NicI - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:50

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:50
I agree totally that our lifestyles are not easy to sustain. Could households conceivably have solar/wind/fuel cell/hydro power generation enough to run some domestic appliances and recharge a car ? Would something like that, in conjunction with public transport and a modest reduction in our lifestyles, at least go some way to using less non-renewable energy ?
FollowupID: 456324

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:59

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:59
I'm far more worried about countries like Iran and North Korea building substandard nuclear powerplants based on cold war designs than having modern nuclear power plants in Australia.
FollowupID: 456326

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:16

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:16
Am seriously considering getting one of these next year when released on our markets (the bike looks alright too!!):

Site Link

Was on Beyond Tomorrow, expected price about $7,000. If they could do 80km/h that would be more practical. Also, it would be good if the govt would reduce the rego prices on them as an incentive.
AnswerID: 197831

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:29

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:29
Hahahaha. The G1500 comes with two girls!
FollowupID: 456395

Follow Up By: JNeiss - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:47

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:47
Wazza

What an interesting site.

In Australia as well.

Really great.

FollowupID: 456398