Chainsaws

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:01
ThreadID: 38290 Views:4511 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
Mitre 10 , homelite petrol bandit chainsaw ,33cc, auto bar oiler , $139 ,
worth the spend ?? would be for very occasional use only ,, not interested in the usual mantra of "you only get what you pay for" ,, is the machine worth the $ or not ,, yes I know its not a Stihl ,so if you have one of these homelites ,tell me about it.

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:06

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:06
I think you should buy an Engel.

$139! Grab it!

I might even get one as a back-up to my Stihl!

AnswerID: 197993

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 18:03

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 18:03
Mike ,you know I have an Engle and a Waeco , thought that $139 "might " have been a bargain buy for what I want a chainsaw for ,, recall is in place so no saw to be had ,, what I'm realy after is a chainsaw with only a small bar ,say 8" ,, be easier to store and carry in the C/Ts tool box.
FollowupID: 456870

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 18:31

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 18:31
Too small Alloy, and I doubt anyone makes one anyway.

Frankly wood that an 8" bar would go through you could probably (mostly) break by hand anyway?

I bought a "Can't Remember" brand from Bunnings a few months ago for my son for about $200, he's used that a few times now (camping use) and reports that it does the job very well - about a 14" bar iirc?

FollowupID: 456871

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:48

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:48
goodday alloy
i have an old (nearly 30 yrs )homelite chainsaw and it still starts 3rd pull every time
also bought a homelite whipper snipper aand it is also pretty good big problem with the chainsaw it doesnt have a chain brake but i am used to it
AnswerID: 198003

Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:06

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:06
Is it this one that is subject to a recall because it fails to meet Aus standards???
Homelite "Bandit" 33cc Petrol Chainsaw

Date: 25/09/2006

Supplier Name: Techtronic Industries Australia Pty Ltd

Product Info: Model number UT10510. EAN 4960673420559. Bar Size 356mm. The Product has been sold in Mitre 10 stores nationwide in Australia since 11 September 2006.

Defect Details: The product does not comply with the Australian Standards AS 2726.1-2004 (Chainsaws - safety requirements - Chainsaws for general use). Chainsaws falling under this category are required to have a chain-break. The product does not have a chain break.

Consumer action: Return the product to point of purchase, or to Techtronic Industries Australia for a full cash refund. If you have any questions, please contact Techtronic Industries Australia Pty Ltd's customer service on 1300 361 505.

Market Coverage: National

Recall Coverage: National

Site Link
AnswerID: 198005

Follow Up By: hoyks - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:47

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:47
Oh, and I'm not knocking cheap saws.
I have a Poulan. It is almost all plastic, I have had to helicoil the bolt holes that hold the muffler on and the vibrations make your hands hurt after an hour, but it does the job I ask of it.
FollowupID: 456582

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:26

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:26
You seem to have already talked yourself into buying it so just go out & get the saw, you don't really need someone else's biased opinion to justify spending so little. Anyway a recomendation from someone who has purchased an obviously inferior product is not always worth paying attention to IMHO:-)
The saw could be the cheap part of the purchase by the time you've bought a pair of decent chainsaw chaps, steel cap boots, gloves, face shield & ear muffs then done an opperators training course......................you are going to get the safety gear to opperate one of the most dangerous hand tools made aren't you ?????
Cheers Craig.............. ;-)
AnswerID: 198010

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:29

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:29
And don't forget the pack of nappies so your Mummy can put them on for you.
FollowupID: 456577

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 22:21

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 22:21
Yes Mike I suppose a pack of nappies could be an alternative to the safety gear & training....................You could use them to stop the bleeding after one chopped their leg off :-)
FollowupID: 456591

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 00:26

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 00:26
What about a training course to teach Mummies how to put nappies on? I don't think they should just be allowed to do that without a formalised training, do you?

FollowupID: 456610

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:06

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:06
Crackles , you cut me up [pun intended] , funny that a piece of paper that says you have done a course makes YOU think you can do anything and be "safe " , bit like a Qld boat license , pay your money to the "trainer" , sit in a room for a couple of hrs listening about how the trainer did this and that and how he got his new boat ,then spend 5min on his boat ,do an open book tick and flick "test" while your certificate is printed ,front up at Qld transport with your certificate ,pays your money and walk out with your licence , SAFE and licensed to operate , you betcha ,and pink pigs fly.
FollowupID: 456634

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:02

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:02
I used to think like that too.........I know what I'm doing, safety gear...... that's for babies, training......what a waste of time, but having had one friend killed & 2 others seriously cut (one a chain into the knee while cutting a 200 cm log off a track) I make no appologies for pushing the safety angle nor do I recommend saws to others that are often devoid of many of the safety features. You're right Alloy c/t, many training & licencing tests are way too easy & should be tightened up but that's no excuse to put your head in the sand & pretend you know.
And Mike if you remember back to the ante-natal class's for your 1st child they do teach new parents how to put nappies on at a formalised training session, but no I don't think you should need a licence to do it ;-)
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 456733

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:26

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:26
I remember before there _were_ antenatal classes, astonishingly, babies still survived.

No one's against safety Craig but we don't all need, or indeed _want_ to be nursemaided every time we do something. I see far too much of it today and it's turning us into a bunch of people who are afraid to take risks - and that is a "Bad Thing".

FollowupID: 456736

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:40

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:40
C'mon, Craig, there would be lots of evidence out there to show safety equipment and training have done nothing to lessen injuries with chainsaws. Mike wouldn't be just making blanket statements about us taking too few risks, eh?

FollowupID: 456741

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:53

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:53
Oh dear.... you totally missed the point in your eagerness to score one, Mark.

I made no definitive statement about the impact of "safety training" - in some cases it has it's place, I recall when I was working in the area of Aldermaston where they assemble the warheads for nuclear missiles we all felt it was appropriate then. I remain less convinced with regard to chainsaws.

The thrust of my argument was about the insidious nature of "The Nanny State" and it's impact on our natural risk taking attitude.

If you're going to challenge me at least have the courtesy to read and understand my posts first and then challenge on what I write rather than how you would wish to interpret it.

FollowupID: 456745

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:08

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:08
I'd say your first two follow-ups were taking the p#@s of Craig's points. Good to see you've retained your SOH Mike!

More seriously I'm not sure we are taking less risks, there is a "nanny state" mentality but I think it's mainly in response to A) common sense- there ARE a lot of things we used to do which in hindsight a pretty bloody stupid. B) Litigation c) higher numbers of people involved in things which used to be considered a professional activity.

I've worked in areas I thought were a bit out there (teaching outdoor adventure courses and the like) but when I see the things some of the kids are doing now in terms of risky sports I'm gobsmacked. We might like to look back and say "When I were a lad", but the truth is no one back then rode downhill bikes, motocross, skateboarded, snowboarded etc. anywhere near as aggressively or dangerously as some of these kids do now.

FollowupID: 456749

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:26

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:26
>Good to see you've retained your SOH Mike!

I enjoy the cut and thrust of debate and argument but I don't take it seriously and I never take it personally - we can have heated debates Mark but I'll always be glad to share a beer around the camp fire with you :) Actually you sound like you'd be a fun guy to do that with... a little misguided in some areas but fun, nevertheless :)

I do agree that some of the things we did (and I remember some industrial situations in the UK in the 70s) were terrible and simply unsafe and lacking in concern for welfare and thank God that has largely stopped.

Eeerrrrmmmmm when I was growing up in the 50/60s we did, indeed, have motocross and I had a skate board in about 1966. And I can assure you there are few things so exhilarating as riding a motorcycle on a warm afternoon in light clothes and no crash helmet (try that today!). Hell! Try having fun with your kids by making Black Powder and blowing up a few tins.

I agree in regard to the litigation aspect and really that is something we should adopt a much more sensible attitude to - if people wish to leap into the sea (whatever) then they should bare 100% of the risk for so doing and not be able to sue anyone for their foolishness.

But I am heartened to hear that you were able to help some children discover the delights of the bush and to push their boundaries and take a few risks - when we become afraid of risk we loose so much of our zest for life and we'll certainly loose our ability to develop as a nation.

FollowupID: 456753

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:39

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:39
Karma,

You'll probably cut your foot off with it you dill.
AnswerID: 198011

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:10

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:10
Nah ,only want a saw to cut up ignorant loud-mouthed terracan drivers.
FollowupID: 456636

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 22:18

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 22:18
Just as a bit of an addition from the chainsaw thing, I had a tree that droppped its last leaf into the vents on the car the other day - no chainsaw, so off I went and bought a cordless jobbie. Figured for $160.00, if it gets rid of the tree its paid for itself and I have a neat little unit for pruning trees etc, along with camping firewood. Although a little slow on the bigger logs, it handled it with ease and didn't miss a beat. It even handles being thrown away to the ground from 15 feet up a tree when things got a little hairy.

A bit dearer than the homelite, and won't have the same grunt etc, but is quiet, and easy to pack for camping. Batteries also fit a fluro light and the normal drills etc. I was surprised at its performance

AnswerID: 198021

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:15

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:15
If its the same unit i got the other week here in melb, its not bad.

I was interested in the "carry case" mentioned in the ad, so had a look at it, the case is grouse, rectangle sturdy plastic with the bar out in a plastic protection sleeve which secures to the case, heaps of room inside for the oils / files goggles earmuffs etc etc. It will pack in real nice for trips.
You pay more for a case for a husky or stihll.

As for the saw, yes its a chinese unit, but its got a brake , vib isolator handle, the chain is one of those with less teeth per foot - so its obviously not got a heap of grunt, but its got a roller tip oregon bar ($$) and looks fairly well made. It doesnt have a bucking bar, but i'll make one up to suit.

AND - checking out the books with it - A 2 YEAR Warranty !!!

I didnt really need it yet, but grabbed it at that price, definetly a great buy. i'm going to grab a spare chain or 2 as well , it'll definetly cut its worth in firewood, and then some.

cheers Brad
AnswerID: 198031

Reply By: Matt.D (WA) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:20

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:20
Correct me if I'm wrong but when I bought my Homelight whipper snipper I was told that they were made by Ryobi and the Ryobi whipper snipper was exactly the same as the homelight.

Cheers Matt.
AnswerID: 198033

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:21

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 07:21
Bypassing most of the crap above. I bought one a few years ago for occasional use and reckon it's well worth it. And yes Matt, Ryobi/Homelite .... zackery same unit, different colour scheme.

AnswerID: 198050

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 08:57

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 08:57
I have nothing constructive to add but I thought I'd let everyone know just how much I enjoy chainsaws. I own a Stihl, a Husky and and old gearbox driven Candian too.

Ring ting ting......WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 198060

Reply By: keepkampen - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:00

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:00
i just rung up mitre 10 to get one off them chainsaws and they have been recalled so said you will not be able to get one. got some sort of fualt with them. hpoe this helps someone..
Pete
AnswerID: 198104

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:14

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:14
bought a ryobi plus system 18v electric chainsaw fluoro light torch 12v battery charger and consider system great
buy battery and charger separatly
chainsaw is great if you keep chain sharp. no fuel and no noise
keep spare battery to change over
most happy camper
AnswerID: 198120

Follow Up By: eugene - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:41

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:41
Just my 2c worth, I won't buy another over priced stihl mine has a small design flaw it disintegrated when in contact with saw dust!!!!!!!!!! Buy a cheapie if you like it; it wont be as dissapointing as doing all the shopping around buying an expensive saw that is a POS.
FollowupID: 456838

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 14:50

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 14:50
Other than that... you were happy with it though...?
FollowupID: 456863