Camping trailers - customs - Please post pics!!

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 14:47
ThreadID: 38904 Views:3092 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Ok i am about to convert my old 7x 4 box trailer into a camping trailer - going to be fully enclosed with side entrances - water and fuel tanks - the whole catastrophy - anyway i have some basic plans on how i am going to go about this and what it may look look - BUT if any of you guys have some really cool option on your trailers that yu think a camping trailer MUST have - please post pics!!

thanks

Boc

P.s i am a fitter machinist by trade that does a lot of fabrication as part of my daily work - so no task should be too difficult - so please send me some suggestions :)

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:55

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:55
Gday Boc - see rig photo's.....my kind of camping trailer......but seriously, looking forward to the real responses as I'm considering some options down the same path as you

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 201432

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:12

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:12
One essential is fitting gas struts under the bedtop so you don't do your back in when lifting the bed/tent up. A couple of others I can think of at the mo, putting automotive seals around the lid (keeps dust & water out) and making your own stoneguard (don't leave home without one). Mine cost about $22 to make, main ingredients shade cloth, 3 lengths of skinny bamboo
and some straps/springies. Covers whole front of trailer - easy-peasy to take off etc. I'm sure there will be lots of suggestions ! good luck with the project.

T-Ribbit
FollowupID: 460733

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:18

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:18
Almost sound like an add for Old Baz's surplus equipment in a recent post....

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 460734

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:55

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:55
Nah, nothing as flash as Old Baz's gear.
T-Rib
FollowupID: 460767

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:28

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 23:28
T-Ribby,
Sound like my stone guard that I made at a campsite from a bit of dumped shade cloth and ocky straps. Hell why didn't I think of bamboo.
FollowupID: 461098

Reply By: dags666 - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:34

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:34
gday oz what in mind are looking to do i bought a camper and fitted it with plumbing and 12 volt electrical system my self .have made a lot of gear to fit in the camper so it takes up less space example dunny have a hot water system that we attach to the side when camped.also all our screens can be rolled up and a pair of tables that clip to transport the solar panel mate happy to give you some ideas where do you live or send us your email and i will send you some pics Dags
AnswerID: 201437

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:12

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:12
Just remember to check/beef up the spring mount points as this is often the part that lets most trailers down as they offen tare out of the chassis normally the forward one's first as box trailers normally only have the bent u shape front & the block back & are not wedged Or beef up & hopefully it wont have slipper springs as these will kill anything
AnswerID: 201458

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:15

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 11:15
I passed out from lack of breathing before I got to the end of this one :-)
FollowupID: 461158

Reply By: Brian B (NT) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:26

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:26
Hello Ozboc,

We fitted a 40mm deep tray above the slide out kitchen, really handy for small items that you use all the time or need in a hurry. I can send pics if you are interested.

Brian B (NT)
Brian B (NT now Bris)

AnswerID: 201588

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:31

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:31
Hi Ozboc,

I did the following setup as per my rig picks

- Go to trailer builder and get a galvanised heavy duty trailer (mine was approx $2.5K)

- Then go to any of the camper trailer places and get them to put the tent on your trailer (for me this was $6K with everything added on like extra wide, annex and annex walls etc)

- You can get basic bolt on tent over your trailer with staring price at approx $4K

- Then have some fun fitting the water and kitchen etc.

You can end up with a setup a lot cheaper than the prefab units are.

I am not sure if this answers your question, just the way I decided to do my setup

TonyG
AnswerID: 201633

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:53

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:53
Ozboc

Sounds like your not going to have a tent on top if it is fully enclosed. Mine is similar and was built out of an old lighting tower trailer and fully enclosed. Besides beefing up the suspension, i reckon the best thing is the roof rack on top. The rack is 2.2mt long and over hands the front a little bit and has a ladder for access. We can sleep up there if we want to, i can put my roof rack bag there if we need to carry more stuff. Or you can tie stuff on like surfboards etc. And when you camp you can use it t tie tarps, clothe lines etc to it.

AnswerID: 201774