Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Dual Exhausts and Air Jacks/Bags

Submitted: Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:50

Steve77

Hi Guys,
Can anyone tell me if an air jack/bull bag will function with a dual exhaust (single exhaust on each side of the vehicle) vehicle. Is it likely that all the pressure will be redirected through the other exhaust outlet or would it be likely to put too much strain on one half of the system. The vehicle is a 3 litre petrol, 1500kg (Subaru Outback). I can get hold of one cheap (carton!) and would only be used as back-up when doing light sand work (I have a very good idea of the vehicle's limitations - but suprisingly capable when driven in the right environments)

thanks

Steve..
Advertisement
ThreadID: 39116 Replies: 5
Views: 498 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 202779   Submitted: Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:57

David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along replied:

Most dual exhausts are completely seperate. Very occasionally I see them interconnected just near the gearbox.
Simply put if they are not interconnected it will work but slower.
Olsen's 4WD Tours and TrainingOlsen's 4WD Tours and Training
Business Member: My Profile  My Blog
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 203137   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 07:00

Member - Bucky (VIC) replied:

Just put your hand over one of the exhausts, and you will soon find out.

Another thing is to only use the exhaust bag in the side of your vehicle ,,, not the front or back, as it will always slew around, creating a very dangerous situation

I must obey !
Click Image to Enlarge
I must obey,, I must obey,, I must obey !
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 203138   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 08:09

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses replied:

Two small exhaust bags mate, but then should you not use hydraulic instead? Carry a shovel and Stauns, they are a lot lighter.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 203246   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 05, 2006 at 20:13

Member - Vincent A M (NSW) replied:

Most Air bags work on low pressure high volume 1.5 to 6 psi would cover from large to small in most cases so yes they will work with out a problem

I make very large ones to lift planes etc do not even get to 1/2psi
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Sydney Classic Cycle Tour Sydney Classic Cycle Tour
Sydney - NSW
We provide fun, entertaining guided bicycle tours of Sydney to international and domestic visitors.
Abseiling - Half Day Abseiling - Half Day
Blue Mountains - NSW
Join us for a session of adventure and learn the "ropes" of abseiling.
Story Bridge Climb - Brisbane Story Bridge Climb - Brisbane
Brisbane - QLD
Join us for the most exciting, new experience in Brisbane.
Mountain Bike & Kayak Overnight Tour Mountain Bike & Kayak Overnight Tour
Central Coast - NSW
Travel the historic Old Great North Road by mountain bike and camp out under the clear skies of Dhar
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 203319   Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:58

Member - MrBitchi (QLD) replied:

Should work fine as long as you don't have a balance pipe connecting both sides. One side should give heaps of volume.

Click Image to Enlarge

gawk; grep; unzip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; gasp; yes; umount; sleep!!
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website