Fair dinkum, you would'nt beleive it

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:31
ThreadID: 40581 Views:2922 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
I live near Frankston in Victoria. We've just had a storm come through that's flooded half the house (still pouring in).

Hope those up in the High Country fighting the fires benifit from the rain.

Kim

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:39

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:39
I believe it Kim , not quite that bad here in Knox but it sure is pouring as expected and is why I packed the chains last night.

AnswerID: 211715

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:47

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:47
fairly flooding my back yard in Ferntree Gully...
AnswerID: 211717

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:52

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:52
FollowupID: 471864

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:09

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:09
Here is a one up - Live Rain radar image from the Victoria page on ExplorOz. Could not help myself - Merry Xmas.

David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

FollowupID: 471882

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:52

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:52
Where's the Victoria page David...??? never noticed that weather thingy before.
FollowupID: 471890

Follow Up By: Trevor M (SA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 13:04

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 13:04
Had to hunt for it myself.......accessed via the "home" page.

Trev
FollowupID: 471961

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:57

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:57
National and links to all states start here www.exploroz.com/States/Default.asp - On the Weather maps you can open the Zoom Map option and zoom into your area of interest. Some of the data is going to be overlaid on the standard mapping system in places, treks and others in the next year.

FollowupID: 472022

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:04

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:04
As an example of live weather data from this service here is a close view of Sydney live weather. Every time you open this thread the image will be updated with the latest image.

Enjoy and have a Merry Xmas all.

FollowupID: 472023

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:47

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:47
i am half way betweeen and its just starting to ease going on the radar they will cop some up there but just talking to my daughter none down yarram yet and they are really desparate

AnswerID: 211718

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:19

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:19
raing again here
FollowupID: 471869

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:25

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:25
just checking the radar again and if its right the fire areas are copping a fair dump

heres hoping anyway

AnswerID: 211728

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:39
Hi guys

Just finished the mopping up, pouring 2 gallons of water out of the second stereo and calming the dog down.

However, I'm not too thrilled that my brand new, pretty little 4WD was rained upon!

One must have priorities....

Kim
FollowupID: 471873

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:57

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:57
Steve,rain here in the north of Tassie near all day looks like breaking at the moment.
FollowupID: 471877

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 06:45

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 06:45
morning guys
bob did you have a good trip across
is this rain covering there fire areas

kim
are you right down there this morning not to much damage i hope

royce
are sure no rain kids down the road from you are hanging out w3ill be going thru about 10.30 today to see them

FollowupID: 471931

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:38
We got misty drivvel Kim, you lucky one.........
AnswerID: 211734

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:05

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:05
got 22mm here mate

FollowupID: 472050

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:54

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:54
Had 26mm last night , started pouring about 9 during xmas street party of our little town, 150 k nth of Adelaide, eased up a bit and didnt stop for 3 hrs.
Some misty drizzle today but lovelly and cool around 20 deg.
39,000 lightning stricks last night in SA, and as a CFS fire fighter , was waiting for the calls , until the rain thankfully came.
Very welcome to me, will make the weeds grow LOL

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 211737

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:59
G'day Pesty, Unfortunately only 1.2mm here. Bugga. Hopefully next time
FollowupID: 471879

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:06

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:06
Pesty

That's very good news.

I've often thought (given the size of this site) that informal Exploroz teams could be organized to assist communities in need, such as the fires in Victoria.

Kim
FollowupID: 471880

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:57

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:57
Hi Guys we were lucky to get 9mm here in kadina. You kinda appreciate it when you haven't seen it for a while.

Annette
FollowupID: 471892

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:34

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:34
116 points at Laura last night according to a farmer I met at a funeral today.
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 471919

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:16

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:16
was sittin in Hungry Jacks in Karingal, and it flooded the playground!

the wind that was with it will cause more problems than that small amount of rain.
AnswerID: 211747

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:23
You'll get fatter eating all that junk food.....:-D
FollowupID: 471900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:28

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:28
friend of ex got blind bleep , smashed up house, threw phone at his missus, few windows, tele, then went to bash the bloke over road that he thinks is shaggin his beast, (shes 293402934 stone, you wouldnt with Diamonds tackle), kids ran off, ended up the ex picked em up and went to hungrys... the dude ended up having seizure, and is in ICQ as we speak.

Lovely arvo, but the double wopper with cheese was nice :P
FollowupID: 471905

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 06:42

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 06:42
Jeeeezuz truckie...... what to you NORMALLY do on a Friday arvo?????

LOL...
FollowupID: 471930

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:53

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:53
Tell ya Brian, its the 3rd time this bleep has happened, hes been in rehab 4 times now!

2 weeks ago she threw him out... 2 days later she he was in her bloomers/tents again... just dont understand it...
FollowupID: 471949

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 15:24

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 15:24
Hey Truckster - I live across the road from that Hungry Jacks - are you local in Karingal/Frankston - go to the Beach Street News or Tatts at any time? I works there Tue - Fri -
jules
FollowupID: 471965

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:22

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:22
yup local... you would live near pete easton.. then probably dont know him.
FollowupID: 472024

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:48

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:48
In melb also, no rain inside the house itself, but damn, the wind blew some large chit into the gutters and it collected up all debry behind it and overflowed into the eves. I only ever seem to end up on the roof when it rains. Thanking my lucky stars for drizabone and grippy shoes
AnswerID: 211753

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:32

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:32
11.30pm... still waiting for that rain here in Gippsland.
AnswerID: 211759

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:09

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:09
Have had 31mm over the past 10 days.

Waiting for the weeds to start growing again...lol

Overcast and misty and 11 degrees here this morning. Dog and I got wet on our morning walk.

More rain forecast.

AnswerID: 211775

Reply By: HowdyDoody - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 09:47

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 09:47
In Lanwarrin. Had just popped into Bunnings to pick up the new BBQ. Driving home, thinking about the beer and bbq that was to be for dinner. Ducked into coles for some meat, came out - no chance of having a bbq!!! Good for the garden though. I actually heard some kids complaining about the rain. I also saw one old guy dancing in it. We had a couple of leaks in our place and some flooding in the drains but no complaints here. It was long overdue and I'm hoping it's not too long between drinks.
AnswerID: 211782

Reply By: slave - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 13:08

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 13:08
Good to hear that some of those that needed the rain got some, I know that the Flinders Ranges was very dry when we were there in September.

We only got 2mm in SW Victoria but thats better than nothing.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 211791

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:05

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:05
Rain! what's that???
Its 33 in Perth & had a swim @ the beach today. Hotter tomorrow.
AnswerID: 211847