Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

FZJ105 Cruiser Box

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 19:42

Member - Nick (TAS)

Ok, we all hear about the weaker boxes in the HZJ105 cruisers but how much stronger is the box in the petrol or T/D cruiser.
Ive had enough of the no power 1HZ and want to up grade to a petrol cruiser,yeah yeah i know but dont care and it will work out cheaper than turboeing the 1 HZ and will have a heap more power BUT is the gearbox really that much stronger(and for that matter I think the front diff is also stronger??).70% of the time it will have our camper trailer on(around 700kgs) and Yes I do tow in 5 th gear but am very careful about the conditions I drive it.Is the 5th gear in a petrol cruiser more capable towing,again to the right conditions.
Will be looking for a 4.5 2002 manual cruiser to keep the live axle.
Cheers all
Our Camps - Australian Mainland
Click Image to Enlarge
Our Camps - Mainland Australia
Advertisement
ThreadID: 40837 Replies: 4
Views: 861 FollowUps: 6
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 213091   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:38

Davo_60 (ACT) replied:

I think the 4.5 has the H151, and yes it is far stronger, totally different design. 5th gear is part of the main cluster i thnk so the box has so should be fine for towing. Also has internal oil pump and is physically larger.
Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 213155   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 07:10

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

Yep, like Davo said. The diffs are the same though :-(( but I think they are a different ratio.

Plenty of auto FZJ105s around if you're interested in a change.
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 2 of 4
AnswerID: 213205   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 12:09

V8Diesel replied:

I've got a petrol 105 and I reckon it's a beauty. They go like stink and have huge reserves of torque. I just climed a steep dirt hill a few days ago towing a tandem trailer grossly overloaded with rubble. I intentionally bogged it down to 800rpm in 2nd H and plodded up the hill to show a mate of mine just what the petrol donk will do when crawling. However - stir them along and they are a bundle of fun as well. I don't think you'll regret it.

Unless you've got big cubic inches or a six cylinder CRD turbo, diesel's start to give me the sh*ts after a while too.
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 213207   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 12:38

keepingitreal replied:

got a 1hz, aftermarket turbo & 240,000km. Did the r151f (light), gearbox and replaced with H151f (heavy) from a v8 petrol. Got heavy gearbox and transfer (pump for oil ,not drip fed!) as well as turbo flywheel and clutch (much heavier) . all bolted straight in (with different bell housing) and retained old drive shafts with no mods. Gearbox is significantly bigger than old one . Unfortunately has raised engine revs by about 500 @ 100km/h. Diff ratios in newer models are 4.11, mine (live axle) is 4.33. I think i will look at changing mine at later date, hopefully to 3.9/ 3.7's ???, to get cruise speed (95-100km/h) revs down to around 2000rpm. Above all very happy with my conversion, and to be honest cheaper than doing my old box up!!. I can also travel in confidence knowing it is all heavy duty and if need be parts are easily available (ie: clutch). My 2 bobs worth!! keep it real, regards Kirsten (NSW)
Reply 4 of 4
FollowupID: 473561   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 16:41

Member - Pesty (SA) posted:

Can you just put a Marks Adaptors overdrive on it, instead of changing diff's?
Thats if they make one for this model.

Cheers Pesty

Click Image to Enlarge
Pic 1 Mad Max Hill Silverton
Pic 2 Camped on beach at Tiddy Widdy

Happiest Cruiser-in Oz !!
FollowUp 1 of 6
FollowupID: 473587   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:49

keepingitreal posted:

To be honest Pesty, i have not looked into that option, not sure if another overdrive can be fitted to a 5speed??, If so could be cheaper than changing both diff centres and speedo sensors etc etc. Thanks for the thought. regards Kirsten
FollowUp 2 of 6
FollowupID: 473601   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:33

Member - Shane D (QLD) posted:

just a clarification
All 1hz's (troopy,ute,wagon )run 4.3 diffs
all v8's and turbo's manuals 4.1 diffs,but have different g/box ratios(lower first gear)
the auto's run 3.9's,so if anyone wants to shop around for different diff ratios this may give you an idea what to ask wrecker as far as vehicle availability goes.
Shane
Northern rivers sunrise (NSW)
Click Image to Enlarge
If we are here to help others, what are the others doing?
FollowUp 3 of 6
FollowupID: 473602   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:35

Oh yeah the problem diffs where not live axle,but the
ifs models and they tend to break when in reverse ,ie pulling someone out
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 6
FollowupID: 473603   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:36

keepingitreal posted:

Shane, are the Live axle auto's 3.9's?
FollowUp 5 of 6
FollowupID: 473607   Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:53

dunno for sure
the info I posted more related to later models,but I wouldn't think that they changed
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 6
Activities Index
9000ft Tandem Skydive - Mission Beach 9000ft Tandem Skydive - Mission Beach
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
The spectacular Coral Sea Islands provide the exhilarating views for this North Queensland skydiving
Circus Workshop & Overnight Stay For 2 Circus Workshop & Overnight Stay For 2
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Learn how to fly on the trapeze, bungee-trampoline and juggle balls, diablos and devil-sticks!
Ayers Rock Harley Sunrise Ayers Rock Harley Sunrise
Alice Springs and Central Australia - NT
Be a passenger on a legendary Harley Davidson to see an unforgettable sunrise over Uluru.
Horse Riding Trail Ride in the Swan Valley for Two Horse Riding Trail Ride in the Swan Valley fo
Perth - WA
Experience the unique pleasure of the great outdoors on horseback.
Book Now - Things To Do