Resealing Caravan Windows

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 20:21
ThreadID: 40946 Views:14257 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Evening all,
We have a 23foot Jayco Heritage full van and a couple of the windows have begun to let in a bit of water when it is raining reasonably heavy. Hope some one can steer me to a site that shows how to remove, reseal and replace a window.
I imagine it would not be too big a job but have never done it before so would appreciate a little guidance on the subject.
Its has been raining fairly heavy all afternoon down here on the NW Coast of Tassie, hope they are getting it elsewhere where it is badly needed.
Regards Duke

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 23:09

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 23:09
You may well get your answer here Duke, if not try The Caravanner's Forum
You'll need a valid email to join, not a hotmail or similar but the wealth of knowledge within is worth it.
AnswerID: 213735

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 00:51

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 00:51
Duke,

They're pretty simple to take out. Remove all the internal screews that secure the internal plastic trim. Remove the internal plastic trim. Next, remove the external screws - the ones you can see from the outside and the whole window just pulls outwards. You may have to push it a bit from the inside to break any sealing compound that's still on it.

Remove all the old sealant (and possibly the foam rubber strip) from around the frame and squirt on new sealant. Fit new foam strip and replace the window in the reverse order. Easy as,,,,,,,,,,

When renewing the sealing use Sikaflex, it's polyurethane and not silicon. Sikaflex is twice the price of silicon but you'll never have to do it again.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 213757

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 07:25

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 07:25
Sikaflex

Sikaflex

Sikaflex

Sikaflex

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 213764

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:47

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:47
& don't forget the

Primer

Primer

Primer

Primer!

Read the instructions!!!

I am in the marine industry & most complaints about sealers failing are because they forget to prime the surfaces prior to using the sealant.
FollowupID: 474109

Reply By: handy - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 07:44

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 07:44
there was a good article in caravaners world a fair while back that gives a good description on how to do it. dont know how you would find it thou. cheers
AnswerID: 213769

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 09:48
Thanks for the info fellas. When it stops raining i will attack the job.
Blue, I will see if i can get onto the Caravaner's Forum and get a bit of info.
Bilbo, Pretty well the way i thought it would be done and yes i agree Sikaflex is the go.
Handy, Yes i remember reading the article while we were on the road early last year but never kept it. Bugger!!
Thanks again for your responses,
Regards Duke
AnswerID: 213782

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:06
Hi Duke,

Before getting stuck into removing the windows, have a good look to see where the water is coming in. I'm sure you will have already - I only say this 'cause we have a Heritage pop-top and the rear window has leaked occasionally - but not where expected.

The frame is not leaking. What's happening is the water is dribbling down the window frame and entering through the external bracket for the wind out mechanism. It then dribbles out of the winder box inside and ends up at the bottom of the frame inside. Also have a look at the top corners of the window glass frame from outside. The original sealant can split at these corners allowing a bit of water to get in behind the black rubber seal.

Only seems to happen when parked at just the wrong angle and the water hits the winder bracket - and hasn't been a problem for a good while - no rain until the last few days! But it happened again Friday so, as it's fine this morning, I'm about to go and drill out the bracket rivets, apply some Sikaflex and re-attach them. Let you know how it goes.

FollowupID: 474097

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:50

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 18:50
G'day,
I've not had to do this but.. wouldn't resealing with sikaflex make removal (it might leak again, or need to come out for other repairs) very difficult?? ie chisel the window out????

Matt
AnswerID: 214073