Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

It's a sad Friday night forum

Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:03

kimprado

Is there anyone out there with a ridiculous experience to share, or a sense of humour?

It's Friday night guys!

Kim
Advertisement
ThreadID: 41917 Replies: 9
Views: 1035 FollowUps: 26
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 219377   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:16

Willem replied:

You getting melancholy, eh?

I have just had my post re the bogging, removed. Methinks it was the last posters thread, where the expletives did not meet the new standards of civilised banter on the forum. Doesn't matter, as I have had a few removed before. I will get over it ....lol

Cheer up!
Porcupine Grass in the Great Sandy Desert
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem
Surfing the Porcupine Grass
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 479905   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:24

Motherhen posted:

Darn, i was a great post Willem, and we wanted to re-read it. So well told too. Will you put it on your website? The guys must be dying of embarrassment for getting into such a predicament. So lucky they knew you and you were home.
Mataranka
Click Image to Enlarge
Well on our way on the homeward run
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 1 of 14
FollowupID: 479909   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:42

kimprado posted:

Willem

No. I'm a boored Poo Poo! (hope that's not considered as an expletive).

I'm still waiting on the Tax man to indicate if I have a life this year. The Friday night forum is the only opportunity I have to stir the pot!

Poor old thing that I am.

Still working on Arnhem Land this year, but having real problems finding someone who has an adventurius spirit (no tourists).

How are you going with the Tassie trip? If it's still on I'll send you some information via e-mail.

Keep up all the good work your doing with Global Warming and reduction of Camel emissions

Kim
FollowUp 2 of 14
FollowupID: 479920   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 00:09

Hairy posted:

Dont be so hard on yourself kimprado........ There might be a place for you in Scrubby Town yet!!!!
FollowUp 3 of 14
FollowupID: 479921   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 00:11

Hairy posted:

Sorry Willem...aparently your already known here! But hey...there are looking for a mayor in Tennant.LOL
FollowUp 4 of 14
FollowupID: 479947   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 08:48

Footloose posted:

Willem you told me that the tax man didn't figure in your affairs....hmm...another tall tale eh LOL
I just got our accountants stuff back from last years tax (apparently they get special time extentions unlike the great unwashed).
I've never met her, and I don't care what she looks like but I'm impressed. We didn't end up owing the Taxman anything. She either has a breathless knowledge of all things taxable, or I'll be looking for a file in that cake :)))

I didn't find anything remotely objectionable in your post, far from it. Some of the replies on the other hand......

Kakadu ? Returning to the scene of the ...ummm....? LOL

FollowUp 5 of 14
FollowupID: 479964   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:35

Willem posted:

If you must know Footy.....I am not required to file a tax return as I am on a Disability Pension
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem
FollowUp 6 of 14
FollowupID: 479966   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:45

Willem posted:

Kim

Working on Tassie trip

"Keep up all the good work your doing with Global Warming and reduction of Camel emissions"...............Have no idea what you are talking about?

Hairy

"Sorry Willem...aparently your already known here! But hey...there are looking for a mayor in Tennant.LOL "....Likewise to KIms post....What are you talking about?

On a side note I had Noel working the tirfor out in the mud the other day. He hasn't had so much fun in years!!!!.......lol

Click Image to Enlarge
Willem
FollowUp 7 of 14
FollowupID: 479971   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 11:25

Footloose posted:

Willem, I knew that. Post wasn't meant to be THAT personal, just a light hearted dig at your mention of the tax man. Thats why I was LOL
FollowUp 8 of 14
FollowupID: 480023   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:14

kimprado posted:

Hairy

Many thanks for your support and sympathy. Tis' a tough life I lead!

I'm going off the Alice a bit lately, because I'm harbouring a deep suspicion the ATO was a Scrubby Town plot to get even with the rest of the World.

PS Should have the Latte machine installed very soon.

Kim
FollowUp 9 of 14
FollowupID: 480039   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 17:55

kimprado posted:

Hairy

Forgot to mention in my earlier post. There's a two page article on the Pintupi Nine in the Victorian Herald Sun.

Kim
FollowUp 10 of 14
FollowupID: 480071   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 19:43

Willem posted:

Footy

That may be so, but it creates the wrong impression on the internet and before long I have someone knocking on my door asking stupid non answerable questions. Please desist from mentioning the taxman against my name.

The internet is vast, as you may be aware. Just yesterday I received a complaint against a post I put up here(which was deleted last night) from an unrelated source through a 3rd party. To me it was a frivolous complaint but nevertheless it was there. I dismissed it and so far have heard nothing further. Eighteen months ago I received a letter from a Lawyer warning me off Indiginous Land as someone had spied something on my website. It may be possible that people who are touchy about certain matters set up a 'trolling' device on the puters searching constantly for comments about them. I don't know. Maybe, maybe not.

Click Image to Enlarge
Willem
FollowUp 11 of 14
FollowupID: 480081   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:43

Footloose posted:

Willem, had I known that it was a sore point I would never have mentioned it in the first place....actually I didn't, YOU did.
I shall never mention the unmentionable again.
FollowUp 12 of 14
FollowupID: 480085   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 20:58

Willem posted:

Yes I know I did. Can't remember in what context it was. It was a one-off.

It seems however, that whatever I may say here on this forum, people make a note or hi-lite that particular quote or incident and then throw it back at me for amusement or vindictiveness at a later date.

And so the matter shall rest now. Subject is closed....lol
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem
FollowUp 13 of 14
FollowupID: 480131   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 23:58

Hairy posted:

kimprado,
What is the ATO and who is Victoria?
FollowUp 14 of 14
AnswerID: 219378   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:22

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

We've been having fun talking tyres.
Everyone else is watching the skinflick on SBS!
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 479904   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:24

Member - Jeff H (QLD) posted:

True???
Is that why the Broom-keeper had us on ABC?

Click Image to Enlarge
Nature's extravagance, Holland Track.
Oct '08
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 479908   Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:41

Member - Davoe (Nullagine) posted:

skin flick????? what time its only 9.40 here...... oh never mind my grlfreind is coming over from Kal for the weekend last time she called she was at meckering
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 480283   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 17:54

kimprado posted:

Hairy

I can't descibe the ATO because we're no longer allowed to swear on this site.

Victoria is South East of the Mall.

From what I understand, you can buy grog whenever you want......strange people!

Kim
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 219398   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 04:14

Member - Jeff H (QLD) replied:

Davoe, flicked open a book at the library today ,(titled 'The Cattledog's Revenge), if I recall correctly.
SORRY! SORRY! OT alert .OT OT OT.
First page that flicked open had this flag stuck in the corner. Apparently the Author had broken down,( whilst travellin in the remoter parts of West sidney) and was eventually rescued by some performing arts mob , who proceeded to tow him along a gravel highway at 137 km/hr WITH a ROPE as LONG as HISTHINGY , plus 4 metres. Quote unquote, I guess' (That loses a lot in the translation,but when you sniff our fine moderator sitting on youy shoulder). 'Onya, Dave, appreciated. No, really.
Well if your eyes are not watering at this stage of the saga, may I simply say "God bless you, and may it never happen with you".

But that was, in truth, a furphy. What I really read was that this dog had just been bit, and had been told to 'Get in there, ya mongrel', whereupon it latched on to the ear of it's (now distant) friend.
To shorten a longish story, the Human held the tit for the electric collar of the stroppy dog who bit it's mate: eleven more dogs in reserve - - --.
Mate, sorry to sidestep there. Just sometimes (usually), we in the East forget how big and how far your land is. Best wishes eh. Jeff.

Click Image to Enlarge
Nature's extravagance, Holland Track.
Oct '08
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 219412   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 07:42

Robin replied:

Hi Kim
Bit late for friday night but keep the following for next , which I plagerized from another site I moderate.

Subject: - Failings of a Patrol Owner

The others on the trip did not want to do the optional. So, the optional!
Daniel, Michelle and I are at the top of the hill climb, enjoying the view.
The optionals done no worries. I theorize the hill climb was a good idea,
cos now we wont have to wait at the service station air pump for long to air
back up. Wed be there in a few minutes..........

There was an unsually slippery muddy section that had alot of water, and was
water soaked swampy loose soil sorta terrain. Coming along from the
optional, a mud hole with a vertical wall of mud, the 35" Baja Claws were
the thing for it as my truck scramlbed into the earth for traction. A bit
excited, I toot the horn and egg on Daniel to have a go. Daniel got a good
way up the ledge, but ran out of traction on the crest. Soon it became
apparent he was bottomed out and no effort from the wheel in forward or
reverse would see him free. Nothing big, lets simply go the snatch. First
snatch. Hmm second snatch. Ok second gear low this time Im going to really
nail it and my foot aint moving till his truck does! Aarrrggg no go, but it
did climb a bit. A kind guy hears us on the UHF from the trip, and he asked
if we needed help, no thanks, well be right besides Ive got the mighty
TIRFOR! Refusing to be beaten by the stupid mud hole that could never in the
wildest imagination of any self respecting enthusiast shame the Patrol
vintage, we decided to snatch Dan out the other way, with gravity working
for us. It was into dark now, the sun gone from the sky, and I had not
noticed the now huge holes I had dug trying to snatch Daniel out, the Claws
digging their way to China to find any elusive traction below the surface.
High and dry on the diffs front and rear PTROOL was going nowhere.

Flustered, the obvious arrogance of this stupid mud hole was going to be
taught a real lesson with my Tirfor. Where is my Tirfor handle? Hmmmmmm. Aw
crap, WHERE IS MY WINCH CABLE! Someone give me some downers and a straight
jacket, how totally ridiculous someone shoot me I know exactly where they
are, its in the garages of my bloody house! Sliding around in this
bottomless black and gray goo, the depravity of the situation was bearing
heavy on my mind, cast down from the heavens of Patrolness, that celestial
fire within the combustion chambers.........No more, filled instead, those
hot housings seeping in that cold rank gritty crud into my drivetrain. My
swivel hubs. My rear diff. That exhaust noise muffled by the water that
covered it, gurgling onwards like some crazed boat motor. Shutdown.
Darkness. Silence. Nothing, Nothing. Faint demonic whispers from the bog
hole, whos taunts echoed through the mountains in a cacophony born of sin.

Is it worse to die in the bush, or to call on the mobile that my better half
had now identify the needed components from somewhere within my three
garages, to proceed into her vehicle, to drive to the nearest sealed road
and to deliver the missing bits to us? For Daniel and I to trudge it out
onto the road, wait, to crawl our way back through the it all again?
Motivation, my brothers, is best fuelled by hate and vengence, the desire to
show this cursed bog hole that it cant contain my vehicle for any period of
time. To cast this bastard of evil hell spawn back, to cleanse the land.

Having now survived the wroth of my girl, and capitulated to the inevitable
hold she will have over me for an untold period of time from hence forth,
Daniel and I set out into the darkness to wait for the Tirfor bits. My legs
ached, breathless, the hills gawrrddd the hills.......Saved only for Daniel
and his good company. Emily arrived after what appeared to be enough time to
create another universe, and now posessing my tirfor handle that gave me
more power than the greatest sword, and a tirfor cable that could tame any
foul beast this atleast made the incessant walk back something remotely
realistic. Plotting the demise of this wrecthed bog hole was motivation
enough as each leg passed the other, countless times, in the bush, in the
dark, an obsession.

Assembled. Equipped. Single line pull here we go. The shear stress of the
Tirfor pin is somewhere over 1.6 tonne. The hand winch refused to budge now.
A giants strength was needed that no man posesses. Right. Ive got a snatch
block. This was it, this was the death blow. Now at 3.2 tonne capacity
nothing was going to stop my truck from being pulled out. Recovered, turned
around, side stepped the holes and pulled Daniel out in reverse. Daniel had
dug himself an impressive approach to China as well, the once vertical ledge
a series of holes and steep ledges apart.

Yep, we were out. It was only after 10pm now. Not enough time for dimentia
to sent in from lack of dehydration. Hmm maybe dimentia caused me to forget
the stuff in the first place. Tonight I shall say my Patrol prayers, and
maybe the gods will forgive me in my dreams, and give me the wisdom for
another day.
Reply 4 of 9
FollowupID: 479942   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 08:22

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) posted:

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm great yarn, though interesting how he blames the bog hole and (to a lesser extent) his Patrol for his predicament, when the two drivers are solely responsible
Just my opinion

My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Kangaroo Valley Package Kangaroo Valley Package
South Coast - NSW
Join us on an adventure weekend of horseriding through the picturesque rainforest and mountains of K
Body Treatment, Massage & Feet Treat - 3 Hours Body Treatment, Massage & Feet Treat - 3 Hour
Canberra - INT
Are you ready for an out of body experience?
2 Day Cooktown Explorer 2 Day Cooktown Explorer
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
If you are into history, botany, adventure, getting away from it all, seeing the rainforest and the
3 Day Blue Mountains and Hunter Valley Experience 3 Day Blue Mountains and Hunter Valley Experi
Blue Mountains - NSW
Highlights include: Breakfast at Featherdale Wildlife Park, Blue Mountains Highlights, Lilianfels Bl
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 219415   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 08:25

Member - Doug T (W.A) replied:

Well now it's Saturday ,
One of the funniest things I remember was when I was 9y/o Dad and Mum decided that we will go for a holiday to Sydney , big Journey back in 1952,
Mum would never squat outside ,....Someone might come ..so she used a bucket in the back of the Ex army Chevrolet Ambulance Dad used for work, now while she using the bucket he kept jerking the van forward, jumping the clutch , Now all this is going on across the Hay Plains on Sturt Hwy between Balranald and Hay, all dirt then ,when Mum had finished she had to do up these little twist things that went through the eyelets of the canvas flap on the rear that was the doorway, while she was trying Dad kept the van rolling at a pace that was a trot for Mum so there she is trotting along , bare feet , trying to do up the thingy's , Dad had straddled a big fresh Cow PAT and Mum went and put her foot right in it , well we were all just about rolling around on the road with laughter.
Wished we had DVDs back then but the memories are always there......Now they have both gone .........................
Along the Gibbie Creek Track
Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Gregory National Park
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 479975   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 11:47

Des Lexic posted:

Was it murder suicide when they died Doug. It would have been like that if I gad done it. Well the murder bit anyway. I don't think she would have committed suicide but she would look for another victim. LOL
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 480001   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 15:12

Member - Doug T (W.A) posted:

Des Lexic
Sorry mate if I don't see the funny side of losing ones Parents, Mum in 2000 and Dad in 2003 and I do miss them so much, Sorry ,I should not have shared my funny memories of them from so long ago.

Doug
Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 480002   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 15:44

Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:

Hi Doug, I'm glad that you shared the memories, it is the sort of thing that my Dad would have done if he wansn't afraid of the consequences, and as for my hubby, well I would have expected it and worked accordingly. Thanks for the laugh.

D&B
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 480004   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 15:48

Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:

Hi just noticed your Dad's truck, an old Len Lease I believe, (I do stand corrected if I'm wrong, I was only little at the time) My grandfather had one of those in South Aus but was a tray top. I see one every now and again, brings back fond memories of the farm in Loxton.

D&B
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 480008   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 16:13

Member - Doug T (W.A) posted:

Dunworkin
Yeh I just installed it along with 6 more oldies in Members Rig and Profile . I have got not the faintest idea where got the Ex Ambo from in about 1952 , he used it for a greengrocer round in the Adelaide hills ,Chain of Ponds,Cuddle Creek , Paracombe, and Kersbrook,
Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 219428   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 09:47

pips replied:

before i was born my mum and dad had
an fj holden ute, my older brother and sister
had to sit in the back and my other older brother
sat in the front with mum and dad, as he was just
a baby. they were towing their trailer with the camping
stuf in it to the gold coast for the anual xmas hols.
driving along, they noticed a trailer (which overtook them)
my dad says....lol someone has lost their trailer.
mum says...........THATS OURS!
LOL, i wasnt there but i can picture it lol.
my parents.....the hillbillies of camping lol
cheers pips
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 219458   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 14:14

GU replied:

"......ridiculous experience to share.......?" hmmmm......

Bear with me on this one. Anybody eating should come back later.
Just try to put yourself in the picture.

I have been in the tree clearing industry for over 24 years and was one day pruning the council's nature strip trees in an Melbourne eastern suburb.

We were working out of a couple of work trucks and travelled too and from work in one of the boy's old fairlane.

Whilst cutting the trees along this street I noticed an attractive house for sale with
the usual "For Sale" board at the front and that the property was obviously being sold vacant possession as there was not a stick of furniture or any personals within it.

Some 200-300m past this house I suddenly had an OVERWHELMING need to go to the toilet and do number 2s. I said to the boys that I needed to go and said I would walk back and collect the work car and go to the loo.
Didn't even get close to the car when I had no choice but to duck into the back yard
of the vacant home, dig a hole with my bare hands (thankfully a very sandy soil)
and proceed to go.
However, I was not alone. I looked up at the vacant house's window only to see the
real estate agent and a prospective buyer staring straight at me. I read the look on their faces. He had burst in hysterics and she (asian) looked like she was going to die on the spot.
I couldn't help but look away, finish the job, fill the hole and walk back to tell the boys. They just rolled around on the street in laughter and reminded me of it every day for ages.
I don't care what the deal was going to be with the house but I bet she didn't buy it.

It was a strange mix. 99% embarassment 1% humour.
I thought I was going to die but thankfully lived to tell the tell.

Cheers. GU
Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 479994   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 14:29

Member - John (Vic) posted:

Dare I ask???
If you had no shovel to dig the hole I'm guessing you had no dunny paper either????

What fun.
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 219461   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 14:19

Bonz (Vic) replied:

I shant mention the ode of my brand new battery and a reciprocating saw............

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Reply 8 of 9
FollowupID: 479995   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 14:31

Member - John (Vic) posted:

I'm guessing the two didn't go together very well and the battery lost the argument?
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 479997   Submitted: Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 14:33

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Lets just say the battery now has a patch on it that is still (fingers crossed) holding tight.

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 219573   Submitted: Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 00:09

Hairy replied:

On a lighter note!
Just got back from a suprise retirement party....mate pulled out a bottle of port for a few toasts....1932ish.... the old farts were joking it was older than any one there......wrong.... the old Mongolian lady (mother inlaw to someone ) turns out to be 90 odd!!!!( the other side of 95)
Not only was she fluent in jiberish she necked 3/4 of the bottle.
The only reason she needed help to the car was her alcohol content ..not her age!!!
What a champion.
Reply 9 of 9