WAECO Question.

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 18:47
ThreadID: 42455 Views:8565 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Spent a few nice days out at Wedge Island with friends, now just got to wash all the salt and sand off the car.

Took a 35 litre WAECO up with me for the Food but run into some troubles with it.

When the car is running sweet no worries it cools.
Run it off the generator on 240Volts and it run’s sweet as

But

When I turn the car off, with in a few minutes the Red wanning light starts flashing, the compressor still comes on and off but the fridge struggles to maintain anything below 3-4 degrees.

I was trying to run it off a Century 780CCA Cranking battery, which is only 6 months old; one of the guys up there (Auto Sparky) suggested low battery Voltage but it Cranks The Explorer over easily. He also had a WAECO in his 80 series, running off a duel battery system and he had to turn it up as it was freezing the beer LOL

The fridge also has a Low Medium High Switch> what is this for? I just kept changing it’s setting to see if it made a difference.

I ended up just setting the fridge temperature too –3 and would run it for 4 hours on Turbo mode off the generator at night then give it another hit for 1-2 hours in the morning then if I didn’t drive anywhere another hit at around 3pm for 2hours and that kept the food cold enough.

Any knowledgeable people out there that could shed some light on the issue, I know it’s desirable to run the fridge off a second battery but my cranking battery isn’t exactly small and I would have thought it would have enough guts in it to run a fridge for a few hours during the day.

Reply By: Time - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:26

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:26
You have power connection problems, the fridge isn't getting enough voltage. Do an archive search and you find heaps on wiring requirements to overcome voltage drop........or your battery is about cactus. The switch you refer to is an auto cutout designed to protect your battery (when you have suitable wiring connected), this table shows the voltage at which the fridge will turn of;
low med high
10.4 11.0 12,0
AnswerID: 222514

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:38

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:38
Ok thanks

Would wiring only come into play when the car isn’t running, cause like I say the fridge cools ok when the engine is running.

The Aux power outlet I was using is the factory’s one that is always live, don’t know what sort of wiring it uses but I have run 100W handheld spot light off it many times without issue.

Like, I say the battery is 6 months old and very rarely has accessories run off it so should be in perfect condition, the car had been sitting for 3 weeks without being started and the battery turned it over easily.

FollowupID: 483350

Follow Up By: raunchy - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:39

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:39
Hi Exploder,
When the car is running the voltage is higher, 13.8volts as compared to 12.7 or so when the car is not. Therefore the fridge will run OK when the car is running. Your only problem will be in the wiring, I dont know of any 4wd or car that has adequate wiring to run the fridge properly. You will need to run minimum 6mm cable direct from your battery to a decent socket to ensure you dont have problems.
I run two fridges on 10mm eiring and anderson connectors and have no problems, but if I was to plug into the cig sockets then I have been know to melt plugs. I cna run the Waeco in our falcon if required, no problems, but I have run 6mm cable to the fridge plug in the back.
Just upgrade your wiring..
And set the switch to low

Ray
FollowupID: 483408

Reply By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:34

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Exploder,

There was a similar question asked a few weeks ago regarding the error LEDs on a Waeco - should try a search in the forum archives. From memory, one flash every 5 seconds - insufficient current/voltage (at the fridge). Your battery maybe OK, but your wiring might be struggling - suitable size will depend on distance. There are other codes but I can't recall their meaning....

Good luck with it.
Jezza.
AnswerID: 222516

Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:40

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:40
Put the switch on LOW when on cranking battery,HIGH when on shore/240.
Then like myself when i was away consult your manual if you have one.:0)))
AnswerID: 222517

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:44

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:44
Na, us men don’t need a Manuel, LOL

I borrowed the fridge from a friend as I am considering buying one for my-self and wanted a test it out first.

FollowupID: 483352

Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:09

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:09
from memory the destructions say when on 240v have switch on low.
FollowupID: 483359

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:41

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 19:41

I will do a search too then, Looks like the stock wiring isn’t up to it thou

AnswerID: 222518

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:06

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:06
Silly as it sounds but if you have the battery connected thu the power pack this can happen. My 110lt did the same when connected thru the power pack.

Soon as I ran straight off the Battery no probs. Running from 240v thru the power pack is also no probs..

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 222525

Reply By: Jimbo 2121 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:15

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:15
With the engine running you would have close to 14v at the battery, but with it stopped there would only be around 12.5v. The wiring to the fridge could have too much resistance, causing that 12.5 volts to drop down below shutdown voltage. But enough voltage might get through when you have the 14v to start with.

You should check the voltage at the fridge and at the battery both with the engine on and off.
AnswerID: 222531

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:39

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:39
My thoughts exactly Jimbo. I've run a double fused, sheathed, heavy duty (can't remember the size now) feed direct from the battery to the rear of the vehicle for this reason. This includes the earth. Eliminate all the unknowns and cut out the middle man so to speak.

Keep in mind it's a fair way to the back, 5m or so.
FollowupID: 483409

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:18

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:18
Hi there exploder, I have a 780cca in the hilux and due to my duel battery system sh#tting itself week before I left (which I havnt bothered fixing) I ran my waeco at -16 as we used it for a freezer and had no problem for the whole week and kept that temp no problems. BUT when I tried mine on the turbo mode would come up with error when I went back to normal mode compressor would fire up no problems and keep running all ok. My conclusion was that when in turbo mode it requires better power which obviously my cigi lighter couldnt produce but when hooked up directly to battery no problems. The fridge was in the back seat of the lux for a week only thing I did was at night time would connect direct to battery as I didnt want to leave my keys in the ignition with it on accesories just incase. The switch that is at the bottom red in colour determines when you fridge will cut itself off to give you enough grunt to start in the morning if running from one battery. I have always have it set at the lowest point which I think for memory is 11.2 volts which wont be enough to start the vehicle but have found even on the main battery after running the fridge I still had enough to start the lux. I did take jumper leads with me so I could hook up to the second batt if needed. Myn is the 50L. With that battery you have you will run the fridge all night with out any problems and will have plenty to start the next day. When I get my new vehicle I am seriously thinking of not worrying about duel battery set up. Its only that the one (controller)in the lux sh#t itself that I no now that I can run the fridge all night. I think yours as said above is just the crappy wiring going to the cigi lighter and with correct wiring you will have no further trouble. I think 6mm is the minimum you would want to use. Steve M
AnswerID: 222532

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:22

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:22
Buy an Engel.

As the Naked Vicar Show would say, "only poofs drive Bedford's......or use Waeco's"
AnswerID: 222533

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:42

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:42
You calling me a poof ??? Get real or get lost !!!!
FollowupID: 483366

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:03

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:03
V.D & TRANNIE'S have engles.What next here on the forum.Get a LIFE.:O)))
FollowupID: 483373

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:03

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:03
I have a Waeco and I'm up for three rounds of the "sweet science" to prove my sexuality LOL.
FollowupID: 483375

Follow Up By: Member - BORGY.. (SA) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:56

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:56
hardly think that was called for
FollowupID: 483385

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:27

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:27
That was a great cast there V8diesel......you threw in one line and hook and you got yourself 4 bites. Hope you can reel them all in....hahaha

PSSSTT: (whisper to Gronk, Zuk, Jimbo and Borgy)......he was pullin' ya leg blokes.

I have always been an Engel advocate.....my bloody one sh@t itself last week and only 3 years old. Now I have the dilemma of what to replace it with. Am considering an Autofridge; but they make the Engel price look positively bloody CHEAP!!!!!
FollowupID: 483391

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:23

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:23
Hay Roachie> a mates GU 4.2TD Patrol Ute got a bit under the collar today going throe soft sand in Low range > result was he had to shut it down to be safe.

I stuck my head in the window and had a look and his Nissan factory gauge was just over the ¾ mark, what did the VDO gauge in you GU read when the factory gauge got that high?

He said he was thinking about getting a bigger radiator, but I told him that from everything I have herd it doesn’t help.

None of the other 4By’s had a problem, 1 Towing a trailer, another a Jet Ski and mine loaded up with about the same amount of gear as the Patrol.

Did any of your extensive cooling system modifications yield any results, and which modifications would you recommend trying?? He said it’s the only thing about the Patrol that annoys him

P.S I don't think his Budget will stretch to a chev LOL
FollowupID: 483402

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:32

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:32
And don't forget the immortal "and ohh dear it's hit him in the groin"

Roachie, they clearly must not be patrons of the arts such as we;-))) Philisteins! 4 wasn't bad though;-))))) I do suspect Jimbo was on to it though that sultry minx.

Kev Golsby went on to do some very clever voice over work and radio series like with 'How Green Was My Cactus' amongst others. I've got a tape I break out every now and then on long trips. Ross Higgins did 'Kingswood Country' with Larel McGowan and who can forget the wicked Noeline Brown. "Wash your hands Geoffery. Bite ya bum Gloria"

Hahahahah
FollowupID: 483407

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:30

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:30
Roachie,i know you won't get this follow up but Anyway here it is i knew he was TROLLING so i thought i would feed him some more as he sound like he needed a good feed.
Deisel you may read this to if ya want to.:O))))
FollowupID: 483577

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:46
Stick with the Engel Roachie, even the best sh@t themselves sometimes, just like the Ozzie cricketers over the last few weeks.
FollowupID: 483580

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:25

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:25
Ok, Plug fridge in and start the engine and it runs fine, no red waning light

Turn off the engine and with in 1 minute the waning light is flashing, 1 flash every 5 seconds.

The battery voltage gage is with in limits with the car off and with the engine running the Gauge is reading in the normal level of charging.

This is telling me that the wiring is loosing too much current when running off battery power alone correct ?, so that means I need a dedicated fridge plug that uses heaver wiring yes?
AnswerID: 222536

Follow Up By: Jimbo 2121 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:44

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:44
Yes it sounds like the voltage is dropping to much at the fridge when the engine is off. If you check with a voltmeter at the fridge you would know for sure.
FollowupID: 483368

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:55

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:55
Yeah I had this problem with all 3 vehicles I own. You need to test the voltage under load.
Its a good chance its dropping back to under 10 volts.
Since I ran a wire and plug direct to the battery,no problms
FollowupID: 483589

Reply By: DMH122 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:34

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:34
Hi Exploder, I had the same problem with mine, red led blinking, worked fine on 240 & vehicle running, after checking all wiring & connections & voltage @ fridge while it was running, could not fault the voltage supply, rang a service agent in Dubbo NSW, bingo he new straigt away, he said it is a faulty thermal fuse soldered to the circuit board, being still under warrenty i sent it off to him back 3 days later working like a charm, I Hope this is of some help, just jump on the Waeco web site & find the nearest service agent to you & give them a ring i am sure they will help you out. All the best.
AnswerID: 222540

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 07:48

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 07:48
Exploder,

If you have an AC model, it is worth pursuing DMH122's line. I had the same problem with an AC50 which Waeco fixed under warranty. The net result is that the fridge will cut out on low voltage when there are plenty of gibbers left in the battery (in my case at about 12.6v). No probs on 240v and, with the engine running, you may be still getting enough for the fuse not to cut in. Gets worse with heat as well.

A fairly quick fix which and Waeco recognise the problem and will cover it under their warranty. Comments re quality of wiring and connections still worth pursuing first.

FollowupID: 483431

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:19

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:19
I had the same issue when I owned a waeco, it was overcome by wiring in a dedicated socket direct to the battery (more so for continual power), but it eliminated the error light except when the voltage really did get down that low. Also means you wont need to have the ignition on to have power to it.

Never had a problem with it draining the battery too low that I couldnt start the car in the morning, althoug sometimes I did find that the fridge had turned itself off due to the low voltage. Turned out I had it on the wrong sensitivity setting!!
AnswerID: 222573

Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:00

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 12:00
Exploder,
The high/low/med switch if for battery protection cutoff and should be set prior to turning on the fridge. If you change the setting whilst the fridge is on, even at idle, it will cause the error light to flash.

Rob
AnswerID: 222645

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:46

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:46
Exploder,
Spoke to a mate who's a service agent for Waeco and showed him this post. The problem is the Poly-Fuse (thermal fuse) within the control unit. Most waeco fridges have a 5amp fuse in there which is soldered to the circuit board. Once they play up they progressively get worse, especially on hot days. He has replaced about 30 or so since Christmas last year!
Although the LOW setting will cut out at 10.7V the compressor willl actually run at 9.7V. When the fuse plays up it melts internally causing a break in connection and therefore cuts power to the compressor, cooling fan will still run. It then connects again and restarts the compressor.
They are now replacing them with a larger 10amp polyfuse.
The reason why it didn't play up when plugged into 240V is because when running of 240 it goes through a power converter down to 24v. On 24V electronics run much cooler as opposed to 12V where electronics run much warmer.
He also told me that when the fuse plays up it will try to draw heaps amps just prior to cutting power and could be monitored with an ammeter.

I gave him my CF40 and he is going to put one of these heavier duty fuses in mine even though mine still works fine as he reckons it's only a matter of time before it does the same thing.

Rob

AnswerID: 222873

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 13:45

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 13:45
If the fridge runs ok with the engine running, it won't be the polyswitch.
If the polyswitch is faulty, it will cut out regardless.
The reason it does not usually play up when running on AC is not heat, but running on 24V with only half the current i.e. it will draw about 2 amps instead of 4, and the faulty polyswitch will not trigger.
FollowupID: 483742

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:11

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:11
hl,

Beg to differ. A faulty poly fuse will cause the fridge to cut out at higher than advertised voltages, in my case at about 12.6v. With the engine running, the available voltage generally rises above this and the poly fuse does not cause an issue, although it can vary depending on the state of the fuse.

Not too sure about the 12 vs 24v issue, but ambient temperature also plays a part in causing the fuse to cut the power. The higher the temp, the higher the cutout voltage. Ours worked fine until we got into some higher temps in the Kimberley. In any case my fridge ran fine with the engine running, but not on battery alone. Fuse replaced - problem gone, so there must be something in that.

Rob,

I believe that the Hi/Med/Low setting works the other way around and is based on voltage at the compressor which is roughly 1 volt less than the battery. That is the low setting will cut out when the voltage drops to 10.4v at the compressor, 11.4v at the battery. This means that the fridge will not take your batteries below 11.4v which is probably at or about the minimum you would want for an AGM. Probably too low for a lead acid.

FollowupID: 483747

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:50

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:50
Matt,
Yes you are correct! The high low med is for compressor voltage. Apologies, it must be the humidity in Melbourne at the moment.

Hl,
I am only passing on information given to me by an authorised Waeco repairer who stated that ambient heat does cause the polyfuse to play up and that running on 12V does make them run warmer. By the way he also told me that Waeco are now sending out controllers without the Polyfuse soldered in so that the agents have to manually solder in the higher rated polyfuse. Yes, when 24v only half the amps, load and heat. If you see these things they look like a piece of plastescene
with two wires coming out. The standard one is about 1.5cm square whilst the replacement is easily twice the size........personally i think they should just jump a piece of wire across and let the fuse in the power lead do the job.

Rob
FollowupID: 483749

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 15:33

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 15:33
Matt,
That is exactly what I was saying. When the Polyswitch is faulty, it will cut out regardless. If the fridge runs ok when the engine is on, then the Polyswitch is NOT faulty.
I figured out that problem myself about a year ago, when the WAECO rep told me it would take at least a month to look at my fridge. The Polyswitch they used at the time had a 4 amp rating and considering the the fridge can draw close to 6A in turbo mode, that component was clearly rated inadequate.
It is actually not the Polyswitch itself that triggers, but rather the increased resistance that develops before it it flips off off. It causes an increased voltage drop which in turn causes the compressor electronics to sense low voltage and turn off. I replaced mine with a 6A type and it has run ok ever since, it will however, still turn off occasionally in turbo mode. It is not a really good idea to replace it with a piece of wire. The advantage of using a polyswitch is the fact that it will re-set when it cools down. It's purpose in the Waeco is primarily to interrupt a high current flow should the compressor stall. This can happen if the fridge is turned off and on again quickly before the pressure has equalized. Without the Polyswitch the main fuse in the lead would probably blow and that would be a real nuisance.

FollowupID: 483754

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 15:48

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 15:48
hl,

Probably not a point worth debating at length, but the original symptons described were exactly the same as mine, ie fridge would run OK on 240v, and when the batteries were being charged on 12v. When not being charged, once the batteries got to around 12.6v, problem started again.

I did nothing else to the wiring or fridge setup, had the poly fuse replaced and problem gone. The impression I got was that the faulty fuse would cause the fridge to cut out at higher than expected voltages (say 12.6v) and that when on charge the batteries exceeded this voltage and did not cause the fuse to open hence the fridge ran OK.

Interested in your comments on the wait for service from Waeco. My experience was excellent, noting that the fridge shouldn't have busted in the first place. The service agent in Exmouth even lent me a fridge while he repaired mine. I have heard enough of this problem now to suggest that Waeco should just bite the bullet and issue a product recall for what has been otherwise a great fridge.

FollowupID: 483758

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 16:02

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 16:02
Hi Matt,
Yes, agree.
As for the warranty, when I bought mine, it came with the "Waeco Best Mate" warranty. The blurp suggested it would be either fixed the same day or you would get a loan fridge.
When I "confronted" the local agent at the time, he thought that was very funny.......
And he could not look at it for a month. To be fair, it was January and WAECO head office suggested I should send it to Brisbane and they would look after it.
As I have a background in electronics and I was curious why it should be so, I decided to do a bit of research and that's how I found out what the problem was.
I might add at the time Waeco were not aware of this issue and were still busily telling people if it runs ok on AC, it MUST be your wiring.

FollowupID: 483761

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:47

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:47
And the quickest way to confirm if yours needs an upgraded polyswitch.
Run your fridge from a good power supply that can manage 12-14V under load or make sure the battery is well charged and not dropping below 12V with the fridge running.
Also, make sure the fridge is at ambient temperature and not pre-cooled.
Start it and set the temperature for 2 or 3 LEDS. Press the turbo button.
If the Polyswitch is crook it will cut out in a few minutes, well before it reaches the set temperature, and the error light will flash slowly. The fan will be running and it will cycle after a few minutes. Depending on how bad the polyswitch is, it will take a long time or it will never reach the set temperature (once it does, the turbo Led will extinguish, and the fridge will cycle normally)
If your caught on a trip, the workaround is either to run it on 240V through an inverter, or don't press the turbo button. Even though the fridge will cut out and go into error mode, if you have no wiring issues and the correct voltage it will eventually reach the preset temperature. And once it has, it will probably cycle normally unless you dump a warm slab into it.

FollowupID: 483830

Reply By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:34

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 14:34
Explorer

While installing the new wiring replace the plug also. Use the socket that fits the Waeco plug with the red bit removed. The cigarette style of plug/socket rely on the spring in the plug to push the plug pin up to a plate in the socket. It only takes a small piece of grime to destroy the contact between the two and increase resistance. With the newer type of plug/sockets the plug pin fits in between two or more fingers. This wipes the contact clean at each insertion and increases the contact area. The cigarette style are only good for an amp or two - the newer types come in 10 & 15 A ratings.

AnswerID: 222904

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 10:04

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 10:04
Exploder,
Just thought I'd let you know that I took my fridge to a friend (the waeco service rep) and he replaced the 4amp polyfuse with a 10amp one (what waeco are replacing them with).
He put it through a variable 12V adaptor thet also displays amps being drawn. The only way to make the error light come on was to run fridge flat out in turbo mode and reduce the voltage going into it down to 10.6V at which point the polyfuse kicks in, as it should.
As a test, I have it in my work car at the moment which is a falcon and have run a merit socke direct from the battery. It has been running all night on 4 LED's and when I got in the car this morning I cranked it up to 7Led's and put on the turbo mode. It has not failed. I think it is actually reaching the desired temp's quicker as well and there definetly feels like there is less heat coming out of the side if the fridge where all the electronics are.

If your fridge is still under warranty get it done.

Rob
AnswerID: 223341