Doug Stone Gold Expeditions - anyone done these ?

Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:58
ThreadID: 42505 Views:5734 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
I am thinking of booking into an 11 day "fossicking for beginners " tagalong out of Nullagine .

Has any of you guys ever been out with these people ? There was an article in one of this months 4WD mags about it , and it sounded like good fun and a chance to get some experience at the game .

Thanks ,

Willie .

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:09

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:09
That sounds like a great trip. I have no experience at fossicking, but took my brother-in-law through the Hay. He is a very experienced fossicker. He was picking up Topaz all over the place and soon got us all interested. I would love to do that trip. I reckon go for it.
AnswerID: 222789

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:19

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:19
Thanks David ,
I will give it a try , although I am now worried regarding the warnings that it may become an obsession !
Willie
FollowupID: 483958

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:10
Willie, you sure have an interesting concept of "fun".
Now I've never looked for that feeelthee yellow stuff, but those who have tell me it's hard yakka.
I have visions of swinging a very large coil whilst dragging a chain behind, chasing off snakes and digging up nails in between yelling Eureka! or some such :))
Seriously, I have a mate who made some money from it and he rekkons that when you actually find the stuff its like picking up $50 notes. But I notice he only did it for a while and isn't too keen to get back into it. So I rekkon his story smells.
Let us know how you get on if you do go swingin your beeper around the bush.
AnswerID: 222792

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:42

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:42
Fossicking for gemstones is fun, but there is too much dirt and rocks mixed in with the yellow stuff to keep me interested.
FollowupID: 483626

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 07:47

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 07:47
Sadly, I wouldn't know a gemstone from a piece of gold (is it really yellow when found ?). I'd need to carry a laptop with pix and current prices. Which reminds me, exactly what does one do with this stuff, how do you find a buyer?
Its a fascinating area, a whole sub culture.
FollowupID: 483670

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:21

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:21
Footie ,
If yo find a piece , you have it put on a chain for your wife - then she lets you go whenever you want .
Willie .
FollowupID: 483959

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:03
Willie,

I've been a 'bipper" for 20 years off and on, including 4 years as a pro-prospetcor and as a tour guide running my own business.

It can be great fun to go lookng for gold. BUT - It can be a disaster if you find some. Because then, all you wanna do do is go back and find more - again 'n again 'n again, sometimes to the point of despair. It's called gold fever, it's a disease and I've had a big dose of it in years gone by. Thankfully, I've found my share of a lot of gold and that's cured me. I now go out for a laugh,,,,, and I like the bush. More importantly, my wife still has gold fever!

As far as I'm aware, Doug Stone has sold his gold tour businesss to Coiltek of South Australia and they now run the tours. I was apparoached by them last year to be a tour guide for them. I said no - I've had enough of it, and gold is getting too hard to find. But it's still there if you go far enough out. I'm just getting lazy these days. Plus my money's in the bank ;)

Go do it, it'll drive you mad. But if and when you find yer first piece, it'll be one the greatest feeling you'll ever have. Afte that, it becomes an addiction.

It's like digging up free $50 notes - as Floosie sez.

And you certainly see a lot of different country. Particularly if you go to WA or NT. It's real cowboy country amongst them thar hills!!

Good luck,

Bilbo

AnswerID: 222811

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:27

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:27
Hi Bilbo ,

Yes you are right , it is now Coiltek .

I have a worry about being out there and being chased off someone's lease , so I think it will be a good idea to get some expert tuition about what you can and can't do .

I have always been fascinated by old gold mining areas and have a heap of books on different areas . I guess the next logical step would be prospecting . I am over in the Pilbara or southern goldfield nearly every winter , so it will complement my trips .

Thanks ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 483960

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:51

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:51
Willie,

I doubt they'd tell you much about the legalities of the Ming Act and access to other peoples ground. It's not in a tour operators best interest to tell you really. They make money out of keeping things to themselves ;)

I wouldn't worry too much about it. There's a lot of WA out there and 95% of it, though it may be pegged, nobody goes out there - it's all to do with holding the ground - not actually mining it. It's called 'Real Estating", "Tax Fiddling", "Money Laundering" or "Ganja Growing". Take yer pick!

It's a big subject and one of my hobby horses.

As for "finding a patch and then moving on", it has happened with some other tour operators but from whst I know about Coiltek, they're kosher. I'd trust 'em, but there's other operators that I wouldn't trust.

Good luck,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 483972

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:00

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:00
>I wouldn't worry too much about it. There's a lot of WA out there
>and 95% of it, though it may be pegged, nobody goes out there

Better not say that on Finders - Shane will be after you :)
FollowupID: 484057

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:15

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:15
Guilty as charged yer honour,,,,,,,,,,,

You go there as well do you Mike? You've seen my diatribe on the topic?

No point in getting too deep with Willie, just now. He'll learn all about that "technical stuff" later on,,,,,,

Huh - "Shayne of the ISU" ,,,,,,,,,Huh. Do I look worried?

DILLIGAFF ;)

Bilbo

PS - Coiltek seem to be pretty good at sorting out the permit side of things before they go in. Willie won't have a problem.
FollowupID: 484063

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:41

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 23:41
Willie, sound like your serious. Let me warn you though, once 'bitten by the bug'... well I guess you'll find out!! Seriously though, if you want sound advice from experienced people have a look at this site MSN Gold Detecting and Fossicking Australia you'll find them very helpful and generous with good advice. Bit like exploroz.
AnswerID: 222825

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:29

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:29
Dio ,

I have joined that group and have been in discussion with "Duckmaloi" about fossicking trip.

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 483961

Reply By: Tony - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:14

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:14
Its a bit of a gamble as far as I know. All second hand of course.

In most cases once the group start find a patch they get moved on. The area is then done over by the follow up crew in with the tour operators.

Not much in the field instruction is given, and you are treated as if you know what you are doing.

Alll that said you still get to see what gold bearing country looks like and that is proberly worth it, andthing you find is a bonus.

I do detect but mostly up in Nth Qld. Going to the west this year for a look around.
AnswerID: 222844

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 02:06

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 02:06
Tony,

Not worth coming over 'ere mate. There's naff all gold left in WA.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 483929

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:31

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:31
Bilbo ,

Do I detect a note of sarcasm ?

Willie .
FollowupID: 483962

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:32

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:32
Tony ,

I guess if they are moving you off a good patch , you could always go back later - unless they had the lease etc.

Willie .
FollowupID: 483963

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:44

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:44
Sarcasm? Moi? Really!

No, not sarcasm mate, more self-preservation. I ain't gold hungry any more but I do like to find fuel money now and again ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 483969

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:13
could be wrong but from the pictures it looks more like gold theft than gold finding
AnswerID: 223203

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 08:57

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 08:57
Davoe ,
Can you explain what you mean please .
Willie .
FollowupID: 484187