Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Tomorrow my elder son will marry...

Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 18:50

and had I chosen his bride for him I could not have chosen a nicer, kinder, more beautiful girl... go well you two :)

I just wanted to share my joy :)

Advertisement
ThreadID: 42864 Replies: 12
Views: 844 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 224973   Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 18:59

Bware (Tweed Valley) replied:

That's fantastic, Mike, enjoy the 'big day'.

Click Image to Enlarge
"The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking" - J.K.Galbraith

Reply 1 of 12
AnswerID: 224974   Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 21:55

Andrew from Vivid Adventures replied:

Wonderful Mike.

I hope it is a great memorable day for you all, and a portent of many happy years to come.

Andrew.
Vivid AdventuresVivid Adventures
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 2 of 12
AnswerID: 224979   Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 22:11

Member - Bill F (VIC) replied:

Well done Mike

Enjoy the day

Behind Lake Mountain VIC July 07
Click Image to Enlarge
Fay'd away from the crowd
Reply 3 of 12
AnswerID: 224990   Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 22:45

Member - Jeff H (QLD) replied:

Mike,
You've been known to be a a tad hard- nosed on occassion.
Behave yourself on The Day.
Best wishes to the kids, eh.
(And may their Gods bless 'em). Jeff.

Click Image to Enlarge
Nature's extravagance, Holland Track.
Oct '08
Reply 4 of 12
FollowupID: 485958   Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 23:23

Member - Alex K (NSW) posted:

What's more to say

... dito

Alex
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
4 Lesson Surfing Progression 4 Lesson Surfing Progression
Gold Coast - QLD
Earn your Level 1 and 2 Surfing Certificate while developing your skills and having fun over 4 lesso
Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills
Adelaide - SA
This abseiling adventure is designed especially for those who are seeking a real thill.
Taste of the Bibbulmun Track Taste of the Bibbulmun Track
Great Southern - WA
Have you always wanted to walk the Bibbulmun Track but don't have the confidence to do it on your ow
Whole Day Fly Fishing Trips on Kiewa River for 2 Whole Day Fly Fishing Trips on Kiewa River fo
Wine and High Country - VIC
Come and join us, fly fishing for wild-bred trout in the unspoiled mountain streams of Victoria's al
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 225011   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:54

Richard Kovac replied:

Ha

That's until they become your wife, take all your money, take all your friends, and screw the both off them..LOL

;-)

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
Reply 5 of 12
FollowupID: 485963   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 03:34

Member - Jeff H (QLD) posted:

RICHARD !!!

(Shees)

I guess you're all buddies then: 'cause I shore as hell just sucked in a big bait.
Anyway Richard K, may The Bride permit you to Peck her Cheek.
And to MH, may a newfound contentment descend upon you.
Best wishes to the Soon-to-Be legals. Ah, Poodles?

Click Image to Enlarge
Nature's extravagance, Holland Track.
Oct '08
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 486070   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:53

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Friends dont let mates get married.

Marriage is only a piece of paper that says she gets it all when she throws you out of your house you pay for, and the court supports her.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 486450   Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 22:34

Richard Kovac posted:

I must have been bleep when I wrote that

Can't remember writing it

Is someone using my name...LOL
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 225012   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 01:04

Hairy replied:

I wish my in laws spoke about me like that!
Good onya.
Reply 6 of 12
AnswerID: 225036   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 08:43

Footloose replied:

Mike, you and I have had our differences. But I'm more than happy to congratulate all concerned, and wish them well for the future.
Have a great day.
Reply 7 of 12
FollowupID: 485983   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 09:33

On Patrol (Aust.) posted:

AHHHHHHHH Footlose, how sweet, why dont we all be nice to each other all the time?? That would be wonderful, LOL

Congrats to the happy couple Mike.
Turon River N.P.
Click Image to Enlarge
Pobodys nerfect.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 486013   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 12:04

Footloose posted:

Shhh. Here's a secret, I am nice all the time. You don't want to meet me when I'm not LOL
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 225161   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 23:25

Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris replied:

congratulations Mike!!!!!

I do hope everything went well and all according to plan!

Jo

Click Image to Enlarge
Jo
Reply 8 of 12
AnswerID: 225206   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 11:23

Bonz (Vic) replied:

What a great message to see Mike, Have a tremendous time, just remember you're not losing a daughter you're gaining free labour for your projects!

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 9 of 12
AnswerID: 225214   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 13:05

Steve replied:

great stuff Mike.

Hope the happy couple remain so - and have a great day and many more afterwards. ;-)
Reply 10 of 12
FollowupID: 486135   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 13:11

Steve posted:

btw, now he's fled the nest, how many goats, pigs etc did you let him take? Or was it just a few spare spanners?
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 225223   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 14:49

Mike Harding replied:

Thank you everyone for your kind words.

Yesterday was a magical day when I had the privilege and joy of watching two people obviously very much in love make a very beautiful commitment to each other (it was not a standard Christian ceremony - so the vows were much more in-depth than usual). It reminded me that love really can conqueror mountains and removed a little of that jaded aspect which many of us, after a few decades, sometimes develop towards the Western convention of marriage.

Those of us who have been fortunate to have had long close marriages and raise children will know that there are a small number of truly special days we are privileged to experience during our lives - yesterday was one of them.

[Although what this has to do with 4WDing I have no idea! :) ]
Reply 11 of 12
FollowupID: 486250   Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 07:35

Al & Mrs Al (Vic) posted:

perhaps there was a 4wd lurking in the background :)

Lovely to hear it was a wonderful day,

Lyn

Click Image to Enlarge
"Life isn't measured by the breaths you take but by the things that take your breath away"

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 486456   Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:06

ozdragon posted:

Hi Mike

Congratulations.

You say what does it have to do with 4wding. Nothing except that this like an online family and families share joyous events. :)

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 225279   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:13

Member - bushfix replied:

bloody ripper Mike,

sorry did not see your post until i hopped on today. glad to read it went well and Dad is very proud and happy. Good to read what you wrote I must say.

get married, grow a gut, die......pig's arse!

(did not know you were a Father mate)

kind regards,

Jeremy.
Sunset at Yardea Station
Click Image to Enlarge
my wife & kids, the bush...
Reply 12 of 12
FollowupID: 486370   Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 17:09

Mike Harding posted:

>bloody ripper Mike

Thanks Jeremy, it was too! :)

>(did not know you were a Father mate)

Two boys - one early, one late twenties both of who I love dearly and am very proud of :)

For various reasons, in recent years, I have met a number of people around my age who have not had children - I think they have all regretted it :( Raising children and watching them grow to adulthood must be about the most fulfilling thing we can do in life I reckon - sometimes pain, sometimes joy but always worthwhile.

FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Whole Day Fly Fishing Trips on Kiewa River for 2 Whole Day Fly Fishing Trips on Kiewa River fo
Wine and High Country - VIC
Come and join us, fly fishing for wild-bred trout in the unspoiled mountain streams of Victoria's al
Barron Sports Rafting ex. Cairns Barron Sports Rafting ex. Cairns
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
The beautiful Barron Gorge National Park is only 20 minutes from the centre of Cairns.
V8 Rally Taster - VIC V8 Rally Taster - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
A bit like a wine tasting in concept!
Canoe and Kayak Day - Vic Canoe and Kayak Day - Vic
Melbourne - VIC
Have a fun day while gaining confidence and skills in a canoe or kayak on the Yarra River.
Book Now - Things To Do