Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

L C 80 Series alternator

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 18:34

Member - Geoff W (VIC)

hi all, a new question for the informed and experienced, the alternator in my 80 seems to get fouled up when i go through a bog hole or two. it used to only happen now and again but now seems to be more often than not. when it happens all the warning lights on the dash go on and i only have a few hours to get out of the bush and to a car wash to rectify (usualy by blasting the alternator with the high pressure water gun at the car wash) before the battery goes flat. it makes it even more difficult if i need to reinflate my tyrers back to road pressure. have had the thing rebuilt once already and is real starting to annoy me,especially when you organise a group to go for a drive a month or two in advance and half way through you have to pull out. any ideas ???
wisdom comes with experience and experience you can not buy!
Keep it shinny side up!
Advertisement
ThreadID: 42888 Replies: 4
Views: 697 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 225122   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:29

DIO replied:

M'mmm 'blasting the alternator with high pressure gun'. That's what I did too, it cost me a replacement alternator, water left inside caused short circuit. Silly me - never again.
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 486075   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:23

Member - Geoff W (VIC) posted:

hi DIO,that was my worry to but it seems at this stage its the only thing that works,thanks for repling.
Keep it shinny side up!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 225126   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 19:40

Member - Tour Boy replied:

Hi Geoff,
I've been through heaps of black mud bogs over the years and never done an alternator yet. 5x 80 and 1x 100 series and others, 36 cruisers in all. The worst bog I was stuck for 7 hours, broke 4 snatch straps and a winch cable on a tow truck!!. Do you have the fan belt bash plate attached to the vehicle (the one around the top of the steering damper)? That stops alot of crap being flung by the belts into the alternator.
Tour Boy
Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 486073   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:21

STREWTH TOUR BOY!!!!!!
you must be the L C 's natural enemy,thanks for the reply, yes it has a fan belt bash plate fitted, it still gets in there
Keep it shinny side up!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 486082   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:38

Member - Tour Boy posted:

Yeah Geoff it seems that way but I subbied to a bloke who used the other brand of big fourby and his breakdowns and pit inspection failures was much higher. The vehicles were all heavy vehicle inspected over the pits and shaker every 6 months to comply with Transport regs.
Tour Boy
Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 225133   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:19

Member - Stephen M (NSW) replied:

Hi there Geoff, here I am sitting at the airport on my way back from Singapore thought I'd have a look at the forum, wife shaking her head ha ha, not sure if the cruiser is similiar to the hilux but just on top of my alternator there is a connection (one of those plastic clip together type) when ever I go through water with out fail will get the lights on the dash come up pop bonnet spray (plastic connetion) with wd or the like and with in minutes the lights go out. Has been doing it for years. Did notice though that while the light is on there is no charge but is also noticable cause when the light goes out you can hear the engine load up means its charging. I would check that out first. Regards Steve M

Click Image to Enlarge
What A Life
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 486085   Submitted: Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 20:40

hi steve,
thanks for the idea will try that next time as the thing doesn't charge while the lights are on. sounds like you might be onto something.thats the thing about wives.... no sense of humour..... just the same as the one i'm running..and if she reads that i will be running!!!!! thanks again mate
Keep it shinny side up!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 486459   Submitted: Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 23:25

Member - 'Lucy' posted:

I have a 1997 75 series with a 1HZ, which after purchasing same I had 'speciallised ' piece of after market apparatus mounted under the alternator and driven by the alternator belts (dual).

When water reached the belts and got thrown around the engine bay, the dash would light up like a X-mas tree for about 30 seconds.

Give it a rev or two and once it cleared the water out of itself, all the lights went out and everything returned to normal.

Because of other factors I have since moved that aforementioned piece of apparatus and the lights no longer come on, as no water gets 'belt driven' directly into the alternator.
It's not pretty
Click Image to Enlarge
Marriage, One mans insane desire to feed and clothe another mans daughter

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 225289   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 04, 2007 at 19:50

Member - DOZER replied:

Common problem, pull the plug off the back and wd40...or even better, crimp the connecters a bit tighter so they hold onto the spades better, oh and cut the first connecter for the wiring to the body off...stops motor vibs from loosening it next time.
This cost my m8 3 alt reconditions with cans of silver paint for $250 each....

Click Image to Enlarge
b4 you bag me out, walk a mile in my shoes, then your a mile away and have my shoes :)
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
7 Day Mitchell Plateau Adventure 7 Day Mitchell Plateau Adventure
The Kimberleys - WA
This is the best way to see all the highlights of the Gibb River Road plus the breathtaking panorama
Whitehaven Beach Picnic Adventure Whitehaven Beach Picnic Adventure
The Whitsundays - QLD
Whitehaven is one of the worlds most famous beaches.
Helicopter Flight Over Melbourne - 15 Minutes Helicopter Flight Over Melbourne - 15 Minutes
Melbourne - VIC
See Melbourne from another perspective!
12 Lap WRX Rally Experience + 1 hot lap - NSW 12 Lap WRX Rally Experience + 1 hot lap - NSW
Hunter Valley - NSW
Find out what rally driving is all about as you take a Subaru WRX for a 12 lap spin around our rally
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website