odd question .. making love in a roof top tent!
Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:13
uneekwahn
Ok, so firstly, let me say that both my fiance and I are red faced about this subject, but it was bought up at our local ARB store when ordering a Simpson 2 roof top tent and roof bars for our trip to the Kimberleys in July.
The sales person asked us if we were planning to do any "vigorous activity" in the roof top tent while we're away, and my response was "As we're getting married two days before we leave, I'd have to say yes", she's suggested we have three rhino roof bars put under the roof top tent.
I'm about 90kg and my fiance is about 70kg, so we're fairly average weight I'd think, and I'm just looking for advice regarding this ... interesting subject :)
Originally we had planned on 3 roof bars under the tent, however we are also having an awning put on the side and thought we'd only have three in total, spaced on the roof so the tent would sit on two and the awning would connect to all three.
Suggestions/comments/ideas/bad jokes are welcomed :)
Jason.
Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:19
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:19
The rhino bars with stand up to your nocturnal activity but if you have coil springs you might like to invest in a set of spring clamps.....too much activity on the roof top may
well get such a sway up that you will have the whole of the outback out watching.......not too many movie theatres out that way but everyone has a
camp chair :-)))))))))))
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:21
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:21
Ummmm!!! Errrrr!!! Being an expert on this subject :-)) I would suggest the more bars the better.
Nothing worse than a major structural failure right at the moment of impact so to speak.
Have you also considered a
suspension upgrade as
well????
All those self inflicted corrugations may be cause for
suspension failure at some point?? :-))
P.S.
I can't wait to see the posts that follow this one.
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:26
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:26
"the more bars the better" ROFLMAO ;-)))
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:55
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:55
Best laugh I've had for ages. Love it.
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:26
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:26
John,
It is a good thing that the Troopie has leaf rear springs.
Just have to remember to lubricate them before each trip.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:04
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:04
Could'na resist this one.... Maybe if ya raised the bar a bit!!!!
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Dustin - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:26
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:26
You'll be fine mate, there is not enough room in roof tents for rigorous activity, its not like you will be swinging from a tree and landing in from a height or anything like that, or is there?
We had three rino bars on the roof of a 100 series, fixed locations, the 3rd bar at the front was used to support the awning, similar to your set up, I think.
The jolting from currugatuions will be far more stressful on the roof tent than anything you can do to it...
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:50
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:50
My only comment is B.S. re paragraph 1
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:28
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:28
So, Des, are you saying that it IS okay to swing into position from a tree branch? Is that why you're as silly as a wheel??????? hahahaha
I know you love your ShippeShape and that you have to take a Viagra every night (just to stop you rolling out of bed.....or so you have always told us)......but now;
well, me thinks the real truth is starting to come out.....you ol' devil, you!!!! Gawd, who would have suspected, eh???? ;-)))))
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:42
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:42
Roachie, it's the stuff that dreams are made of. I know that an old bloke like you has forgotten what it's all about but I'll give you a refresher course one day.
Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:11
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:11
>I know that an old bloke like you has forgotten what it's all about but I'll give you a refresher course one day.<
EEEEeeeeoooooooo! wrong
forum Guys.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:32
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:32
So whats the "Right"
Forum then ImEasy?
Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:25
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:25
A bit of humour at what Des said to Roachie, is that OK with you?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:54
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:54
Yeah fine with me, just interested in your thoughts of the "Right"
forum.
Didn't realise I would touch a nerve with such an obviously poignant question!
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:45
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:45
There a re a few "right" forums for this sort of post:
Fun In Australia & Sensual Down Under...
See I am trully the font of all knowledge...
Follow Up By: ImEasy - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 14:13
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 14:13
Humour John Humour, no nerves touched, but if it makes you feel better in your "Poignant Mind", than feel free to to reply again.
Geez, Kindergarten or what!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 21:47
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 21:47
Well Mr or is it Miss ImEasy if you don't like the playground in this kindergarten feel free to move on, is that OK with you?
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:40
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:40
If this tent's ROCKIN'- don't come KNOCKIN' !!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:41
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:41
Exactly the reason I didn't get a roof top tent!
Have you ever tried getting in and out of a rubber Batman suit in one of those things? No room to swing a whip and little space to hang the chandelier either. Also bad for Gerbils should they fall out and hit the ground from that height.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 00:05
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 00:05
May I enquire as to whether or not the said Gerbil/s would be in an extinguished or alight state, as it might be prudent to have suitable fire fighting 'device' handy for any emergencies that arise.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:27
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:27
Though with your knowledge of knots and extempore rigging you should never be at a loss ...
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 20:22
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 20:22
I'm not saying anything Matt !!! * cough cough *
Mind you, on the topic, did encounter 2 couples in one vehicle sleeping in two separate rooftop tents at Home Valley Station - asked the same question and they jokingly reckoned it was just a case of getting a contra rhythm going in both tents and it canceled each other out ........
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:47
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:47
So you're honeymooning in a tent in the
Kimberley ;-)
I offered my wife a honeymoon on Fraser Island. She never really forgave me, considering the deal was that we sleep in a 3 man tent and drove up there in a 2A LandRover. I paid for that for about 20 years!
And I thought nobody really had nookies when they're
camping......
Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:37
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:37
well, my fiance is quite happy with our plans :) we're going for 2 months (I've got long service leave and she's taking a month unpaid leave!) and we've done nothing but talk about it since February last year!!!
We thought we'd get all the
camping sex out of us before we have little ones!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:18
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:18
>And I thought nobody really had nookies when they're
camping......
the scrub bars on the side arnt just for when the bush close in you know!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:23
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:23
Come on Davoe tell us more about the scrub bars??? I'm intrigued?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:37
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:37
Just something for her to hold on to.............
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:12
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:12
Toooooo much information.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:33
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:33
Never gunna look at those bars in the same light again. :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:04
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:04
better not mention the spare wheel carrier then ..........................................................
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:07
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:07
Davoe,
I have dual wheel carriers, does that make me a swinger?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:25
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:25
Hey Wayne I have a duel carrier also, maybe we can swing together. :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:12
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 08:12
Aaaaaah! Just stop it you two.
Reply By: joc45 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:49
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 12:49
Reminds me of years ago,
camping at the
Cotter Dam site near
Canberra, and when we turned it in, we were the only ones in the
camping ground. After some vigorous activity in the morning, with vocals to accompany (you do that when you're
young), we climbed out of the tent only to find a couple of tents nearby which weren't there the night before.
Got lots of smiles.....
ok, I'll bet someone pops up here to say they were there.....
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:29
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:29
I was there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahaha
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:40
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:40
Yep, me and the missus remember that
well. We often have a laugh with friends at the video that we did,,,,,,,,,,
Bilbo
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:01
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:01
Ha! gotcha there! Videos hadn't been invented!
As I recall, it was Standard-8 b&w movie in those days!
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 06:49
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 06:49
You earthlings,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Huh, people from the planet Xogg have had video for thousands of years,,,,,,,,,,,
Bilbo
Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:28
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:28
My advice, don't spring on the inner spring or there might be an offspring next spring.
Reply By: uneekwahn - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:36
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:36
ok, so the concensus is that we should be ok, but extra support wouldn't hurt.
I'll check out how much it'll be for a fourth bar, and I think I'll go for 3 under the tent and one at the front of the roof for the awning to attach to :)
Thanks for the humorous replies so far, my colleagues think I'm going crazy for laughing to myself today!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:48
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:48
You asked so you had to know what was coming.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:52
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:52
Some extra back support could be useful as
well if you're only 2 days into marraige.....
Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:42
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:42
Use the bonnet.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:44
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:44
Hairy, he didn't say, but I don't think he had a Volkswaggon
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:46
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:46
Let it cool a bit first or someone will burn something real important. :-))
Follow Up By: turbopete - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:45
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:45
austin healy bn4 much better position than a volkswagen
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:48
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:48
Stick to the roof tent, I have it on good advice that it is too hard to climb over the bullbar/winch/spotlights combo with a 3 inch lift on a patrol.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:46
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:46
better make it four bars (three Rhino, one Tiger,) or the Bride will be very disappointed.....;)
Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:50
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:50
hahahahahahahahahahaha
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:58
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 13:58
Four Rhino's.... That's a hell of a lot of horn!
Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:14
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:14
And I thought this was a family friendly site ! What a topic. Please remian inside your tent until the grins are off both faces, and do NOT yell "Ya Hoo Mountin Dew" lest other campers be disturbed whilst engaging in similar activities.
Oh and remember if it's raining not to touch the sides.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:28
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:28
Hi Jason,
I don't know about flash roof top tents but my mate and his girlfriend did it on the roofracks of a CJ5 one night in a self made tent!
This happened about 20 years ago in the campground at
Weipa, tour groups and all.
They didn't know the other mate and I where still sitting around the dying fire stopping the esky from getting hot.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:31
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:31
newly weds :in the Kimberly's.""""". the tent is were you:ll be going to sleep ...loads more interesting
places .to get up close n personal...::were and whenever the urge gets ya
cheers Bundy.......(get adventurous)
Reply By: Longreach - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:56
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 14:56
Honeymoon in the
Kimberley. Perhaps you should book a couple of nights at
Cable Beach Resort or
Cape Leveque or Faraway Bay just to give the Rhino Racks a rest.
Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 15:13
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 15:13
Obviously you will be posting photos of course - oh and of the trip as
well!!!
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:48
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:48
I'll drink to that Karl...
Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:43
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:43
uneekwahn,
I strongly urge you to check the roof loading of your vehicle. Most 4WDs have a max limit of around 100kgs,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
If you don't check this,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Just send us the photos,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
He,he,he,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
;)
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:52
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:52
I'd settle for a photo when she reads this lot of replies! + +
V
Reply By: Roddesh - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:44
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:44
The UHF aerial is the real give away :)
Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:54
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 16:54
Anyway, you might not have as many problems as have been suggested here.
After you get married its too late to find that she might not be as keen as you are ...and the bad news is that it gets worse....MUCH worse :))
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:10
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:10
I've been married for too long to recall the issues associated with this activity....
Reply By: TD100 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:13
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:13
we went at it like rabbits last
easter in our rooftop(howling moon)plenty of room in it i say!!(by the way we now have a daughter for our effort!!!)Paul
Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:27
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:27
Go for it. We have a penthouse set up, though on a camper. Much more practical than a self inflating materess! Cuts down on spectators as
well. Have only had a camel having a look since we moved up stairs. In the OzTent any number of critters would be watching (bandicoots,
dingo, a few sheep.) Don't know what the attraction is but gives you a turn when you look up and there is a camel looking in!
The whole thing can be interesting. Were camped in a gorge and even though we couldn't see anyone near by it was pretty noisy. Reminded me of the Gym scene from Porky's!
Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:53
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 17:53
Just marry her!
Youll never have that problem again! LOL
Reply By: greydemon - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:19
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 18:19
I don't think that three or even four bars will be enough .....try sixty-nine.
Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:17
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:17
I'd suggest some large
bore foam cell shocks to limit the fade after excessive vigourous use, you don't want to get sea sick, a real passion killer.
Otherwise I did hear of someone fitting "shag bars" to a Toyota Surf for a similar reason. Like a caravan has at each corner.
Hang on, you will be in the kimberleys, who's going to see if you are outside??? Isn't that busy is it?
Could be seen on google earth if you were lucky but if that happened it would be such a cool story to tell........
NickR
Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:35
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 19:35
Ah... look mate... the rooftop tent is the least of the problems...! Getting the goat up the ladder is much more of an issue...?
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:20
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:20
Don't forget the KIWI's....
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:53
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 02:53
Use the shoelace to pull it up Mike.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:06
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:06
At least this thread hasn't been moderated out of existence, David must realise it's a totally natural THING FOR PEOPLE OF THE OPPOSITE SEX TO DO,
Camp that is.
Recently my parents had a diamond Jubilee and I did some math and from my calculations I was concieved in room 48 at
Jenolan Caves House, you went there for honeymoons in those far off days of the middle of last century. This annoyed me as I thought I was concieved in the sand hills at Cronulla. So you can see from my observations that people have been doing this on their honey moons for ages...
Now the Ultimate camper has a NOOKIE pole - I don't know why they would call it that.
Another story I got first hand from a fellow camper was one about how they had just bought a Jayco dove, parked in a spot over looking a river. Ok darkness falls and my mate and his WIFE decided to celebrate their purchase with some nocturnal horizontal jogging. They had in their inexperience forgotten to pull on the hand brake or put down the feet with the result that at some time just before Ohhhhhh yyeeeeeeeeeeeesooooooohhhhhhhhhhhmmmyyyyyyyyGOOOOOOOD OHHHHHHHHHH yes the whole thing ran backward down into said river...Much merriment from the now aroused
campground and tractor pulling were required to get them back on dry land.
Of courses Sibil & I don't behave like that any more something about Sibil thinking it is not romantic with me calling out the position numbers from the manual...
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:14
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 20:14
Sibil must be in cahoots with my SWMBO as fiddling around the edges isn't allowed on
camping holidays......:-(((((
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:37
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:37
Bazil, might have something to do with your instructions, all right.
"You Vil enjoy dis. Ve haf vays of making you" LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:44
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:44
Ahhh Mr Fawlty, the bar in question for the "ultimate" passion is commonly refered to as a BONK BAR !
Ask ROACHIE, he has one and he is also about to have a crook back operation !!!
Think his needs a shocker built into it to take the shoke out of it?
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:09
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:09
1125 replies in 9 hours.
Supports the advertising adage that "SEX SELLS"
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:42
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 21:42
Views, rather than replies ? I thought it a valid question to ask. Very pertinent to 4wding, and on the whole, tactfully answered. Apart from Footloose of course :))))
Reply By: uneekwahn - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:27
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:27
again, i'm glad everyone got a kick out of my question and I'm thankful for all the responses (serious and not!).
my fiance and I are bleep ourselves laughing at most of the responses.
If any of you see a red GQ Patrol with some newly weds in it in July/August/September in the Kimberleys, please, block your ears :))))
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:37
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:37
Just so happens that I will be in the Kimberleys around that time.
Last year when I was there we had a American couple in the convey. They were on there honeymoon. We didn't find out about this until late in the trip.
When we got to
Cape Leveque I set them up with there Britz 100 series with the roof top tent facing the ocean. They thought it was great to wake up to the sight of the ocean.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 22:05
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 22:05
So will it be Wayne posting the photo's on EO? I guess if you get the angle right, you might get that silloette shot with the rising ...................................sun. LOL
Reply By: WA 1968 - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:28
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:28
and to think you are worrying about your roof top tent. We just bought a Coromal Off Road Camper trailer and already the SWMBO is worried about the noise/rocking any jiggy jig in the front bed might make. I told her I was thinking of trading immediately.
Good luck with the trip
Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 15:10
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 15:10
What - the Coromal or the SWMBO??
Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:40
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 22:40
I was beaten to suggesting a large aerial. One training
camp at
Hawker with the SES had a newly married couple on coarse and during early hrs morning three vehicles outside all with HF aerials on bars, two dead stationary and one doing frantic whips side to side. Poor buggers got it in the morning.
Charlie
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:23
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2007 at 23:23
"Poor buggers got it in the morning"
Ummmm!!! yep they sure did!!
Lucky them :-)
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:25
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:25
I thought that this post would go rapidly down
hill but I was pleasantly surprised. An excellent read with some good suggestions. We are off to the
York Peninsular for the weekend so this has been very useful!
Enjoy the trip uneekwahn
Pete
Reply By: uneekwahn - Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:37
Thursday, Mar 08, 2007 at 17:37
One suggestion I've had on another site (perth4x4) is to have the tent set so it opens towards the rear of the 4wd, otherwise you'll definately get some side to side action happening !
Again, thank you all for the laughs over the last couple of days, I'm glad I posted here :)
Jason.
Reply By: Member - Jim F (VIC) - Friday, Mar 09, 2007 at 15:47
Friday, Mar 09, 2007 at 15:47
Leave the Kama Sutra manual at
home and only attempt horizontal potitioning. Any inclination toward vertical is going to give that 160kg total an increasing psi at point of impact that may see your middle roof bar creating a sun roof - a bit like the can openers we had before ring pulls.