Where's Lasseter's Reef???

Submitted: Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 14:57
ThreadID: 43808 Views:9542 Replies:15 FollowUps:26
I reckon near Lake Christopher- on the Old Gunbarrel Hwy..
Any other speculators out there???

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:18
Signman
If I knew the answer to that do you think I would be telling everyone

Mate I couldn't even have a guess as to where, How do we know there was , he died somewhere out there didn't he so he has if it were true taken his secret with him.

Doug

AnswerID: 230641

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:39

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:39
G'day Doug
I'm sure if any of us were positive about the location, we sure as damn it wouldn't be on this Forum either.
He actually died at Irving Creek, about 90 miles West of Ayers Rock. There is a little monument (difficult to locate) about 100 yds up the Creek on the North side of Tjukururu Rd. We've been there and to his cave- a bit further to the West.
Maybe some day I'll stumble onto the reef (Dream,,Dream,,Dream)...
FollowupID: 491484

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:36

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 15:36
In between Lake Christopher and Lightning Rock.

Are we gonna start taking bets hehe.

Some dude has written a book on it published by Hesparian. Reckons its in Queenland, as the map was "reversed".

AnswerID: 230643

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:03

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:03
Read that book, if you could call it that. Had a few holes in the story I thought.
He battled his way east fromfrom the eastern Mcdonnell ranges for quite a few dayd to his Reef, which he recons he found, then further east for a day & half to the "outskirts of Boulia.
On his next trip he did the same . If it was only just west of Boulia, why waste all that time & chance of getting lost ?
Seemed strange
Vince
FollowupID: 491485

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:17

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:17
Equinox, whats the name of the book ?
FollowupID: 491497

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:30
Footy,

A Dead Man's Dream - Lasseter's Reef Found
by Angie Testa and Bill Decarli

FollowupID: 491499

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:53

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:53
Equinox, thanks. That must be the only book on the topic that I havent read.
FollowupID: 491504

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:42

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:42
Footlose,
Another one is"Lasseter.....In quest of gold" By Billy Marshall-Stoneking
FollowupID: 491669

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:55

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:55
Hairy, what's his angle, as opposed to the hundreds of other books ?
FollowupID: 491671

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:26

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:26
According to the back of the book....
"Billy Marshall-Stoneking is a poet, freelance film producer and writter. He lived for four years in the "Lasseter country" ,amoung the Pintupi people at Papunya Settlement in the Northern Territory, and was given access to information previously known only to the local Aborigines"
Ill send it to you if you want, Its falling apart a bit but its all there.
FollowupID: 491674

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:33

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:33
Hairy, thanks for your kind offer, but my old and feeble mind has remembered the guys works. Whilst he obviously has merit in his fields, I'd be surprised if he's equipped to be able to sort out the facts from the local yarns :)) (and no, neither am I )
FollowupID: 491675

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:41

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:41
Hey dont feel bad!
I had to read the back of the book...couldnt even remember what it was about!!!
FollowupID: 491677

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:54

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:54
Mate, in the 60's a saw a convoy of vehicles in Sydney which were headed out to search for the reef. Signs everywhere, been hooked ever since. Read everything I could, poked around asking questions here and there. Checked a few likely places.
Now this is going to sound crazy, but it isn't the Gold that fascinates me, but the puzzle. Was the guy a dreamer and perpetuate his fantasy that he was prepared to die for; or a mis understood visionary?
An example
Around the Lake Christopher area AFAIK there's not supposed to be any gold, its the wrong type of country. The same to the south, sand hill and Mulga country.
But recently large exploration companies have discovered gold in seams under the ground, and are (or were) negotiating with the locals. So what does that prove?
Perhaps nothing. But perhaps it proves that you just can't be sure of much in that country :))
It is probably just a huge furphy. But for now it's an Australian mystery. And we're a pretty young country, so we can use all the mysteries we can come up with :))
FollowupID: 491681

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 12:20

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 12:20
Yeh it used to be quite common to see a group of 4wds heading out of Alice in search of the famous reef. Never saw them come back with much though.
Maybe Lasseter was just a burgler and didnt want anyone to know what he was up to!
FollowupID: 491682

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:04

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:04
Fotgot to ask.
Are we going to put a Co together to look. I'm good for $10.00
AnswerID: 230651

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:15

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:15
Yea Vince
Just send $10 to my Post Box...oh, and by the way, I've got a second hand Harbour Bridge for sale !!! 75yrs old, but got a bit of life in it yet.

PS. Got ya whip antenna on yet--I'm good for a Selcall test when you're ready..
FollowupID: 491486

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:25

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:25
Yes, on & working a treat. Spoke to St Marys Base (TAS) with 5x5 which was great as I was in the drivway at home. What about 1930 tonight ?
Vince
FollowupID: 491487

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:39

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:39
Will call you Ch 2 tonite 1930...
FollowupID: 491501

Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:35

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:35
Somewhere between Shark Bay and Byron Bay, give or take a few kms either way ;-)
AnswerID: 230655

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:57

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:57
And a few k's north of Pt Augusta too.
FollowupID: 491492

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 16:57

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 16:57
Thanks for those clues; I'm doing a search on google earth now.... I'll split it with you two.
FollowupID: 497714

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:40

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 16:40
dont you think the planes which run around reading magnetic data in the earth would have found it by now.

it was a sand dune
AnswerID: 230657

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:03

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:03
Relatively little of Australia has been scanned by side scanning radar. It's a slow and very expensive exercise.
Lassiter staked his life on the story told by his dying mate IMHO he hadn't a clue in that country. The only twin peaks that fit the description are to the east of Alice near the old diggings.
FollowupID: 491494

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:06

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:06
The big problem with even looking for it, and his son did for many years, is that the area is all aboriginal land and they actively discourage prospectors.
The ex mayor of Bondi rekkons he knows where it is...and is prepared to divulge the info for the odd shekkel or so...
AnswerID: 230661

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:19

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:19
Look - Harold Bell died trying to find it (again), and he knew more about than us - what hope have you got ? I reckon he was way off - try Denison St, Deakin ACT 2600.
AnswerID: 230665

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 18:39

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 18:39
If your serious and would like to seek out some relative information, have a look at this site link do a Site Search or just ask the question - Lasserter's Reef. You should find heaps of info and responses. Good Luck
AnswerID: 230684

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 19:32

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 19:32
The reef was in the imagination of a man trying to justify the cost of running another expedition to look for something he hoped was, but in reality wasn't even there :-)
AnswerID: 230701

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:36
Yep, that's one way of looking at it....on the other hand, if you take a positive approach much of his story adds up.
FollowupID: 491548

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 16:37

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 16:37
You are certainly right, everything about the story adds up.......... that is up until the part about the gold reef which mysteriously only dead men have seen:-)
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 491720

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 16:42

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 16:42
Crackles, apparently that's not quite right according to some. e.g. Site Link
Must either be true or there's a lot of very public liars out there :)))
FollowupID: 491722

Reply By: Sarg - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 21:55

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 21:55
He was way off course. He didn't have a GPS or Hemas Dessert Maps. He was actually at Telfer !!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 230748

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 22:40

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 22:40
Steady down fellas, steady down, whoa Neddy...........

Now, I'm the prospector around here, I have a dog that can sniff out gold - check my rig pics - and I know what gold reefs look like, I've seen hundreds of 'em. I'm an expert. So I'll do the collecting of funds if ya don't mind!!. I'll chance losing the Chevymobile just to satisfy the curiousity of you guys.

I'll need lotsa fuel money, heaps of beer money and even more "Bundy Cash". I've got the metal detectors, the gold pans, the jackhammers, the gennys etc - all I need is your money.

Now exactly where is this Lake Christopher,,,,,,,,,??

Bilbo - "The Blue Sky Hobbit"

AnswerID: 230758

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 23:00

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 23:00
Lake Christopher,,,,,,,,,,Found it.

Hmmm,,,,,,,,I'll be passing through that way about Sept/Oct this year, hopefully. I might have a squizzy while I'm there,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Now where's that geo map,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 491602

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:57

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:57
Plenty of gold out that way according to some of the locals...but they don't like you looking for it !!
FollowupID: 491672

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 06:31

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 06:31
I've always fancied buying a gold detector to use when I'm out camping. But if there is so much gold why is the bloke in Miners Den, Parramatta stuck behind a counter selling them instead of being out there founding the gold?
AnswerID: 230790

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 09:25

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 09:25
"Pom",

Because there's no gold left in NSW, but there's plenty of "NSWaliens" want to comer here to W.A. and steal ours!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

When the detecting season's "on" over here, it's worse than the "Rush of Grey Nomads" to Queensland!!

;)

Bilbo - "The stop 'em at the border, Hobbit"
FollowupID: 491653

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 07:54

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 07:54
Yeah, wish we all knew,eh?

I have driven around Lake Christopher and let me tell you its a pretty unexciting place. I was trying to keep the tyres from being staked so wasn't really keeping an eye out for gold reefs.

There is a book written on that area by a couple of blokes who drove out there in the 1940's with army Jeeps. The GCR didn't exist as such in those days and a lot of their navigation was by following a camelpad to Warburton Mission. Can't remember the name of the book right know tho.

AnswerID: 230800

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:03

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 11:03
Stands to reason that it's not on aboriginal land. The locals wander all over the place, and thanks to early explorers, know exactly what the stuff looks like.
I heard an interesting "urban myth" when out on the GCR. One track realignment was supposed to have uncovered some of the filthy yella stuff. When asked what they wanted done with it, the elders said bury it or every man and his dog will be tramping all over our lands.
AnswerID: 230829

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 16:20

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 16:20
the yella stuff, was properly yella cake,,, but don't tell johnny boy
FollowupID: 497709

Reply By: obee - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 19:24

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 19:24
On the search to relocate his reef, Lasseter climbed a hill with his sextant and came back down saying his chronometer must have been out and they needed to head south. Chronometer (time) has nothing to do with north/south. He obviously did not know how to navigate and I reckon he was a Walter Mitty. You get them. Last one I heard of was John Friedrich of Victorian Safety Council fame. They are very persuasive but no substance.

All that country must have been worked over by now and a large reef with gold for the picking would have been found too easy.

Owen
AnswerID: 230890

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 19:53

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 19:53
Or maybe he found the gold at the top of that hill and did not want to let on so he played dumb and said his chronometer was out of wack etc etc?????? :-)

FollowupID: 491755