The Bush Winch

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 11:12
ThreadID: 44665 Views:6976 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Has anyone used a Bush Winch ( the one that attaches to rims). Any feedback, negative or positve would be appreciated.

Phill

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:14

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:14
i struggle to see how they would be effective (reliable) without a diff lock
AnswerID: 235512

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:26

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:26
Fits on both wheels.

Site Link

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 496647

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:04

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:04
Cool, I thought that you were just referring to the 'bush mechanics - great myths of all time - she'll be right mate I've got a bit of ol' rope' style winch.

I didn't realise that someone was actually marketing them as a unit, WOW. neat looking website too...

Thanks for the link Peter.

(but I don't think I'll be adding them to my collection of recovery gear ) ;-)
FollowupID: 496658

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:42

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:42
Hi Phil,

They actually came out and did a demo for our 4WD club on 25/2/07. I could not make the trip, but I did get plenty of feedback. While not wanting to knock a product, lets just say no-one raced out and bought one - perhaps a bit more development work required!!!

For more pics, just click on the pics for the 25/2/07 trip. trips page

AnswerID: 235526

Follow Up By: macka2 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:48

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:48
I reckon they are just more work imagine taking off wheel nuts and redoing them and puting more strain on an already hard working axel,diff etc
FollowupID: 496664

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:50

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:50
You can leave the supplied nuts on your wheels so the drums jsut clip on, but the biggest issue IMHO is making sure the rope winds back onto the drum. In a straight pull with no "obstacles" it works OK, but factor in ruts, rocks etc and what guides the rope onto the drum?

FollowupID: 496665

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 15:29

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 15:29
What happens if someone uses it on a SWB vehicle climbing a steep slope and the vehicle goes over backwards?
FollowupID: 496689

Follow Up By: Sea-Dog - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 16:23

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 16:23
put it in reverse and wind yourself back down to the ground :) - upside down! lol
FollowupID: 496698

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:11

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:11
had some thing like it on my first 4wd a Austin champ many years a go
1) were realy dangerous
2) did not work well
3) ended up buying a winch

& at the price of a good winch hand or power these days why bother
AnswerID: 235574

Follow Up By: djam1 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:17

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:17
I built one of these for a Subaru years ago it was fantastic with none of the problems previously mentioned.
Build it yourself use it on a light vehicle only and use a snatch block on the anchor end.
It will see you out of many problem situations

Don't use it on a 100 series Land Cruiser front end or it will probably end in tears.
FollowupID: 496729

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:28

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 18:28
For detailed instructions on making your own, check out the Overlander Magazine May 1981 page 56.. Shouldn't be too much trouble for someone half handy with a welder.
AnswerID: 235581

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:00

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:00
They are not new. Have been around since at least WW2 if not earlier.
AnswerID: 235588

Reply By: Patrick@BWA - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 01:45

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 01:45
Hello Phill

I developed the Bush Winch and therefore have a special interest in the comments and feedback you got to your initial query. I hope you don't mind but I though it might help if I make some additional comments to those already made. My comments are in no special order.
1. The Bush Winch negates the need for a diff lock because it firstly prevents differential action taking place and secondly when all traction is lost (diff lock or not) the wind-up action up on the winch drum will keep you moving anyway.
2. The Austin Champ used a capstan type winch, which required a second person (or the driver through the window) to keep rope friction on the drum and gather the winch line as the vehicle moved. Quite a different scenario to the Bush Winch.
3. I have been testing the Bush Winch in severe situations on the front and back axles of 100 Series Landcuisers for over 3 years with out any problems. The winch rope is by design "the weak link" but with 3200kg per rope or double this load when both ropes are used you are achieving considerable winching power.
4. Having the winch rope spool onto the winch drum and not come off on a long pull means setting up the anchors in line. This does take a bit of planning and experience. To assist and add even greater versatility we are about to make available a rope "guide" system which will overcome this issue. I once saw a Series 2 Landrover winching forward off pipes bolted to it's back wheel rims. The winch cable passed through a shackle welded to the side of its steel bullbar before going to the anchor. Crude but very effective. Nowadays not many vehicles have enough strength in the bullbars or front ends to do this. Our "guide" will use the same wheel nuts that are already in place for the the Bush Winch.
5. The Bush Winch can be used with winch ropes each attached independently from the winch to anchors (often adequate) but for long tough pulls it is better to have the winch rope joined into a single loop. Each end of the rope loop comes from the winches and the loop goes around the anchors (the rope must be able to slide around the anchors a bit). This stops any differential action in the axles, puts an equal and shared load on the ropes which helps keep the rope tensioned and spooling on.

The Bush Winch offers one alternative to many winching options. For me it's a simple effective system, very powerful, versatile and light weight and never breaks down. I carry a lot of winch rope (its light and I use the rope for everything around the camp) and always find a solution to getting out of a bog on my own because I can create lots of anchoring solutions.

Patrick Verbeek

AnswerID: 236761

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:54

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:54
Thanks Patrick, Interested when the guide will be finished and a price for the winch and 2 x anchors.

Phill
FollowupID: 498430