My Cobb Cooking experiance
Submitted: Monday, May 14, 2007 at 04:52
Ozymacca
I bought this cobb cooker from the Anaconda adventure store for $229 after reading about it in some 4x4 magazines & Exploroz so I thought I would give it a go, mate either Macca can
cook on any thing or this thing is a ripper so little cost to run it (ie)
3 heat beads - scones done in 24 min
6 heat beads - mixed vegs cooked in 1hr 15min
7 heat beads - 1.7 kg stuffed chook cooked in 2 hours I put 250mil of VB beer in the mote on this one best chook I have ever tasted
8 heat beads - 2.6kg leg Lamb with vegs with wine put in the mote below 3hrs all times could have been less if the bloody photographer stopped taking the lid of to take photos
I tell you what im impressed what a handy little item this could compliment any barbecue or a handy little picnic and camping item & the best thing is its 90% of it is made of marine grade stainless Macca loves stainless steel
Cheers to you all
from Macca
I have pasted a link below if you wish to view some of my cooking pics:
www.flickr.com/photos/8188630@N03/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply By: Member - Wayne & Cheryl (QLD) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 07:35
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 07:35
Totally agree re the Cobb. We have had one for two years now. Use it on all our camping trips. Great for making bread and having scrumptious fresh bread available when in remote areas. Great to be able to put a meal on, catch up on chores around
camp without having to worry about fires, etc. Meal ready when you are finished setting up
camp, and you can sit down and enjoy.
Uses very little fuel, easy to use. lightweight, versatile. We have done meatloaves, quiches, cakes, scones, roasts, and more.
Have it all packed and ready to go to the Cape in 4 weeks time. One of the first things to go in the camper trailer!
Cheryl
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:59
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:59
Hi Wayne & Cheryl
I have had roast meals cooked in the
camp oven & cooked in the Cobb. I enjoyed them both. But the cobb cooker is so simple to use & lightweight so now I have 2 of them in my caravan. I hope you have a great trip to the Cape.
Cheers Macca