Canning fuel dump

Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:21
ThreadID: 46098 Views:2637 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Myself and a deaf friend are riding down the Canning Stock Route at the begining of August this year. Purchasing a drum of petrol from the Capricorn Roadhouse we will only require to use 50 liters of said fuel. I would like to know if any one is travelling the csr at that time and requires petrol, we may be able to offset each others costs.

cheers Stephen

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 08:18

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 08:18
Are you riding motorbikes? What will your fuel capacity be and are you going North/South or the reverse? There is an alternative fuel outlet at Cotton Creek which is about 108km from Well 23 and they may sell petrol.

AnswerID: 243676

Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:08

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:08
Cant help you with the fuel, I was part of a expedition that rode the Canning Stock Route on 4 Yamaha AG175's in 1974. That was an adventure! Have fun

We supplied fuel by air, it was thrown out of an aircraft in 1 litre tins wrapped in foam. Nearly burnt the aircraft on a dirt strip near Well 24 when we lit a fire to show the land party where we had landed and the spinifex surrounding the plane caught fire.

Before I get criticised for lighting fires, desert dwelling aborigines continuously lit fires in that area in those days, we just lit one more.
AnswerID: 243690

Reply By: luxtourer - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:03

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:03
Would be interested in exploring the idea further (need 100+ L of ULP to get to Newman or Well 33), but we don't expect to be at Well 23 until the end of August, so maybe Capricorn RH will want their drum back before then?

Cheers John
AnswerID: 243702

Follow Up By: 2dirty - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:24

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:24
g'day John

I spoke to the roadhouse and they said they can put two names on the drum as they usually leave the half full drums out there until the end of the season. So if you are interested we can make some arrangement

cheers Stepen
FollowupID: 506682

Follow Up By: luxtourer - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 20:31

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 20:31
Hi Stephen

Thanks for the post. I've created a temp email account: luxtourer at internode dot on dot net (replace "at" and "dot"s by appropriate symbols, no spaces) if you'd like to contact me directly, to sort out an arrangement.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 506701

Reply By: apriti00 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:33

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:33
Have you tried contacting the general store at the Kunawaraiji community to see what they offer, I know they have diesel but you can see if they also have the fuel you require.
Walter
AnswerID: 243764

Reply By: cwalkin - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:56

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:56
I'm sorry to sound dumb!..
But been curious for a while as to what the fuel dumps are?

Can't you just fill tank up at roadhouse like one would normally do at petrol station?

AnswerID: 243841

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:38

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:38
Pretty remote part of Australia have a read here Site Link it may give you a bit better idea what its all about.

Essentially its a place that you have arranged prior to your trip for fuel to be delivered so you can refuel and finish the rest of the trip.
Up until recently it was the only way to do the CSR fuel wise.

FollowupID: 504748

Reply By: 2dirty - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:40

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 21:40
cwalkin

not dumb mate, the servo that delivers the fuel is a little way west at Newman. So they bring drums of fuel into the "dump" so you don't have to make the trip to Newman. Hope that helps mate?
AnswerID: 243858

Reply By: cwalkin - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 11:50

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 11:50
Yeah cheers guys,

always wondered about that.

As i maybe moving from sydney to Karatha in WA ,,,,maybe i can do the CSR
AnswerID: 243938

Reply By: Diver1 - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 13:31

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 13:31
so its got me thinking....has anyone risked it.....not ordering fuel and oped that left overs were there??? Not that we would do it but just wondering if anyone has!!

Laura
AnswerID: 247218