Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Fridges

Submitted: Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 16:25

brushmarx

Hi, I'm new, I have looked through some older threads without clear results, so I am starting a new one. If I have done wrong, please, just get over it.
I am looking to upgrade from ice boxes to a 2 or 3 way fridge, and would appreciate views on whether the smaller upright fridges (typically caravan type) would handle being put in back of a 4WD?
I understand that the top load fridges offer better contents security compared with opening a front hinged door, and they would generally be shorter, but would front door style fridges handle the hardship of being moved in and out of the vehicle for gas use at overnight or longer stops?
Looking up a windmills skirt
Click Image to Enlarge
I wish I could get lost more often. At least it would mean I've gone somewhere different.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 46148 Replies: 7
Views: 565 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 243998   Submitted: Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 17:00

Kumunara (NT) replied:

Brushmarx

I suggest you steer away from a 3 way fridge. I borrowed one years ago and it worked well on gas but was useless on 12 volt.

I use a trailblaza which is on a fridge slide in shelving in the rear of my vehicle and stays there. The thing is too heavy to move in and out and.

Tjilpi
Ain't Life Great
Click Image to Enlarge
Life's great and it just keeps getting better
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 244011   Submitted: Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 18:01

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Another vote for Trailblaza here!

My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 244020   Submitted: Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 18:50

PeteS replied:

Hi Brushmarx
If you change your mind and look at different fridge type then the link below may help.

It does not cover all brands however its some form of comparison.
www.4wdmonthly.com.au/tips_fridge.php

I have a Bushman which is a 35 litre fridge and came with a 42 and 52 litre lid extension for $960.
The trailblaza mentioned in previous post certainly look like a rugged unit.
Best of luck
PeteS
Angus & Moo
Click Image to Enlarge
Press on. Obstacles are seldom the same size tomorrow as they are today.
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 244030   Submitted: Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 19:37

Graham & Lynne replied:

my Trailblaza is 25 years old compressor is getting tied so runs long than new ones
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Green Island - Half Day Pak 6 + Coach Transfers Green Island - Half Day Pak 6 + Coach Transfe
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Cruise to Green Island in comfort aboard a modern air-conditioned catamaran.
Sydney Aquarium Entry Pass Sydney Aquarium Entry Pass
Sydney - NSW
Sydney Aquarium - Walk underwater at Sydney's #1 attraction!
luxury sailing 3 hours luxury sailing 3 hours
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Our Commander Bavaria 32 is a luxury 10-metre yacht with two private cabins, a fully equipped galley
Aussie BBQ Cruise on Sydney Harbour Aussie BBQ Cruise on Sydney Harbour
Sydney - NSW
Enjoy our Aussie BBQ cruise on spectacular Sydney Harbour.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 244180   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:10

Izey76 replied:

Hi Brushmarx I started off with a Dometic 3-way fridge when me and the fam spent 4 months around Oz, The fridge worked well on gas but on 12v in the car it was an absolute waste of time. If I travelled all day the fridge would be defrosted by the time I pulled up. Also found it to be wanting when we where up north.

I then borrowed my brother in-laws Weaco 40ltr and it would drain a 75amp/hr battery over night when I had the temp gauge at 1/2 way.

I now own a 60ltr Engel and I can sit in the 1 spot camping for up to 3 days and the battery will still be fine.

As for the upright fridge in the back of the car I think you would be better off with a chest type fridge/freezer as after a day of driving on corrugated roads and the like when you open the upright fridge for that first beer you may have problems with everything falling out and you doing a juggling act trying to catch it all.

Also not sure whether the upright would handle the moving in and out of the car as they are designed to go into caravans and the like and stay in there.

Anyway that's my thoughts hope it helps you in your decision.

Clint
The Fam on Hollies
Click Image to Enlarge
Whish we were still traveln
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 244183   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:26

Mike Harding replied:

Ian, if you take the time to do a better search you will find more info on fridges than you can poke _two_ sticks at!

I'm guessing because I haven't used a caravan 3 way in the manner you suggest but... I suspect they would not take to it well, there is some fairly exposed pipework on the rear of them and, I suspect, it would only be a matter of time before you broke it.

I'm a 3 way advocate but (just like Trailblazers, Waecos and Engles) they have their downsides: slow to cool down if you add a six pack/wine cask etc. Less than ideal on 12V but most of the problems are due to poor installation. Not as efficient as compressor fridges in 40C+ but the modern ones are pretty good.

On the plus side; they'll run for ages from a gas bottle, make zero noise and you don't have to take (buy!) generators, batteries, solar panels etc.

Your money, your choice but I'll go for the top line ($1300) Chescold any day.

Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 244292   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:12

brushmarx replied:

My sincere thanks for the information, greatly appreciated.
I guess it's off to the camping show next weekend to twist some arms.
Looking up a windmills skirt
Click Image to Enlarge
I wish I could get lost more often. At least it would mean I've gone somewhere different.
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website