ABSOLUTELY HAD ENOUGH!

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:03
ThreadID: 46668 Views:3451 Replies:13 FollowUps:17
I have had enough of this. What's the deal? (and no you don't need to give me the 'should have a nissan etc etc',) just let me blow off some steam cause I have had enough of all the crap that has been getting thrown at us lately and this stupid bloody car has just topped the cake. Again.
The pajero was perfect until those two %$#%$# people within one month of each other decide to throw their cars into mine, since then, you name it, it has gone wrong with it.
remember how just before easter I had to get a new computer for it. (when she died at Landcruiser and we all thought it was a fuel problem?) It's been what, 2 months since easter? and now the car is doing the exact same thing again.
I have now left it in the carpark of our local supermarket because the stupid $$^#&*$^# wouldn't start at all. (and I've just started a new job where I have to travel to Port of Brisbane area every day)
I don't get it, the computer was fried, I saw it with my own eyes, replaced it with a brand new one from mitsu, car goes great, then their was the whole harmonic balancer saga the other week, get that fix up, another thousand bucks, car goes great, and now it is doing the same thing again when the computer bleep e itself.
I mean really, What is it? Our mechanic when trying to solve the problem before realizing it was the computer had gone through the wiring and that was all fine.
So what is causing it to do what it is doing and frying the computer?????
uuuuuuuuuuugggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhh

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:10

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:10
Did you park it in a dodgy area and put up a sign, "Help Your Self"
That might cure your bad luck.
AnswerID: 246864

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:13
Mate I would love to do that, but then I'd end up with no car and still have to pay the stupid loan off!
FollowupID: 507693

Reply By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:25

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:25
I dont know what it is mark,ive gone through 2x 5 litre engines and two automatic transmissions in 2 1/2 years max,and when the second was installed , i picked it up from the mechanic's and they did not tie the auto hose and it burnt through on the side of the engine as i pulled into the driveway,oil and smoke everywhere,thought it was going to catch fire,then the heater went last week and also the same week i went to the milk bar and could smell a lot of fuel as if someone had poured it into the cabin..Was only 2 minutes from home and kept driving,when the mechanic came up because i did not feel it safe to drive, their was a pinhole (well size of a matchstick) in the middle of the fule hose line and it was spraying fuel all over the engine bay...

I tell ya ive always had Holdens and you'll never see my ass in one ever again, if i hadnt put it on gas about a year ago i'd take it to the crusher sooner rather than later

Its been a lemon since day one...

AnswerID: 246878

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:53

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:53
Mate that has gotta suck big time!
Part of the feeling I hate the most is you no longer have the confidence in the vehicle that you could drive it from A to B and actually arrive there!!
We have no confidence at all anymore with it.

Jo

You'll never see Mark post on here! he reads but will never put fingers to keyboard!
FollowupID: 507720

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:25

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:25
Jo sorry to hear of your dilema again but there was a post here the other night i think it was brian doing some work on his ute and getting bitten by murphy.He may have sent him away & he has found a new home.Hope you get it sortd soon though,:)
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 246879

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54
Not hearing much of you now Bob, you been getting into trouble again?
FollowupID: 507722

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:26

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:26
Sorry to hear about your dilemas Mark and jo
I have a Pajero in my workshop at the moment that just stopped and won't go again. I have tried the crank angle sensor, the coil, disconnected the kill switch and alarm. Tested the computer and power going in but nobody home. I have a remanufacturered one coming tomorrow for it so will see how it goes.
From doing research it looks like it is quite common for Pajeros to do computers. I haven't had any problems to date as they have been a very reliable car.
The Magnas fry computers big time but I haven't had any Paj's do it until now.

Well they say it goes in threes so lets hope all is well after this episode.

Best of luck
120scruiser
AnswerID: 246880

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:50

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:50
So you are a mechanic hey.. lets see if the following might click your mind over..

Our mechanic fitted the computer, II picked up the car, in daylight. Went to go and drive the car that night and I noticed that the interior lights would not go on when you opened the doors but when you turned the ignition onto accessories. I then retuned in the channels on the stereo and reset the clock. Drove the car, no worries, got home, then had to go back out again later, again interior lights wouldn't come on until on accessories and I noticed that the presetting for the stereo and the clock was all gone and had to be set again?? strange.. then we started driving and all driving and dash lights are fading, fading, fadingg. lost all lighting a couple of hundred metres away from home, did get home safely and thinking now, what! only just picked the car up and this!
Got my neighbour over the next day and it turned out that under the bonnet a
100volt fuse was blown, replaced that fuse (for $5.95 if all repairs cost that!!) and that fixed the problem.
But what would cause blowing a 100volt fuse?

Jo
FollowupID: 507718

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 23:42

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 23:42
if you have a bad ground contact somewhere that can happen ..
a bad minus terminal on the battery or alternator ... when you have sporadic
contact problems you sometimes get a small arc and that can draw quite
a bit of current .. 100A not V though .. I has a bad ground on the Glow Plug Module on my truck and while driving it came on/off several times and it killed 7 of my 8 glow plugs from triggering the GPM and burning the plugs ... bad ground is a common problem for many spooky electrical effects ..
I do not know anything about Pajeros but + and minus is the same for all of them ..
hope you find it ..
gmd
FollowupID: 507773

Reply By: Graham & Lynne - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:35

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:35
you should get warranty on the new computer i.e parts & labour from mitsubish as long as fitted by licensed mechanic.
mitsubish computer dont last long about 5 to 7 yrs.one problem is alternator over charging as uses battery voltage sensing from smaller wire cast into lead battery terminal.The fix is to replace battery terminal & run another new voltage sensing wire to alternater.

Graham
AnswerID: 246892

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:57

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:57
The computer that came out of it was still the original so it certainly did good to last as long as it did, Mark will ring our mechanic tomorrow and see what the go is, stuffed if we are paying any money on repairs! Well, got no money to hand over anyway! See the above follow up, see if that gets yur brain thinking on anything.

Jo
FollowupID: 507725

Follow Up By: Graham & Lynne - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:34

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:34
Jo as per my previous post then you mention blowing 100amp fuse this is caused from severe over charging around 18 plus volts fault is either rectifer or regulater on alternater or battery terminal problem. how fuse blow is say output of alternater was 24 volt this doubles amperage so if system ran on 50 amps this double would blow 100 amp fuse

Graham
FollowupID: 507747

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:47

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:47
Mate, can't help.
Good onya for feeling easy enough to vent your spleen on this site.
I suspect that more and more suppliers will take notice of comments from EO.

Me? Neutral and happy. Drive a holden (once powered by Isuzu: sigh---).

Maybe I WILL go for that Indian bag of bolts. Sounds like a return to the days when one actually had to lend a muscle to wind up a window, (or engage the hubs).[except the mugs in India seem to have power windows.. Eh?
This modern crap is all-singing etc etc. s h i t. reliable and repairable.
True. may I repeat:
RELIABLE and REPAIRABLE
So tell me, who needs [really Needs] an electric motor to raise/lower windows?
Or engage/disengage front hubs?

Sometimes I reckon we get too smart for the market.
eg the possible cremation of the Patrol 4.2 motor.
I stop.
Jeff
ps. bring on the arguments, please.I'm so sick of being right.
hahahaha.
(All rights to Gramps, the' Lord of the Stalagmites' jh.
AnswerID: 246896

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:59

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:59
I'll have the electric windows any day. It's bloody hard and unsafe to wind down the passenger window or the rear windows while driving.

Good luck with the Mahindra. I believe when you ring for help you get put through to a call centre in India. Then the dufus asks you if you have paid for the car, if you have registered it, if you have insured it, etc, etc, does it have diesel, is the battery charged, etc, etc. When all you want to know is how to unlock the glovebox....

Hahaha
FollowupID: 507765

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 00:22

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 00:22
Don't have much problem with the 'puter on my beast.... ;-)
FollowupID: 507783

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:04

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:04
OI !!!!!! I STILL have to "lend a muscle to wind up a window, (or engage the hubs)". Not like the rest of you nancy boys and your newfangled hitech rigs hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 507792

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:10

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:10
Engage the hubs ????

What's that? The Jack has a button on the dash..........
FollowupID: 507815

Reply By: Blaze - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54
Hi Mark,

Sorry to hear about your hassles.

I looked through your Rig profile and you don't mention if you have dual batteries or not?
Trying to help you work out why it would have done 2 cpu's, I knew a guy a few years back who had a Prado petrol model, he had dual batteries but only used an old style solanoid which after starting the vehicle would click open and this surge was what did his cpu, I believe it did it twice and he was lucky enough for the dealer to think the reason was a faulty cpu. He took it to a good auto sparky just after being repaired the last time and they diagnosed the problem.

Hope it all gets sorted for you.

AnswerID: 246902

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04
G Day Blaze..
Have a look at a follow up I did above about the fuse, see if that clicks anything to you. No we don't have duel bats.
There obviously has to be something that is causing a chain reaction of some sort to do the computer but our mechanic went through the wiring and it was all good.
We originally thought it was a fuel problem (fuel pump) because it will turn over but then shuts down, the only way I can describe it is like if you were trying to start your car and she'll turn over but you have no fuel in the tank so it won't fire up and run. I am stumped.

Jo
FollowupID: 507730

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 00:21

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 00:21
Hi Jo,

I believe GMD is on the right track then, I would believe you have a bad Ground/Earth somewhere and this would cause the same as I mentioned with the dual Batts, that is a surge of power when it does make contact.

Not to sure about the cranking and not starting. Mitsubishi MUTT should be able to sort that out though unless its low voltage or the CPU is saying it is and the pump isn't pumping fuel. I know the diesel rodeo's have a problem if using a fridge that shuts off when power is down to 10.5v, this leaves enough to crank over but not run the fuel pump. After the saga's you have had, if you can get it sorted... (lets hope) maybe its time to get a new ride.
FollowupID: 507782

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:15

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:15
I had an intermittant starting problem with a Mitzi car a few years ago. Did the basics including removing fuel hose in engine bay, crank engine - fuel spurts out so put hose back on and say - got fuel pressure so that's not the problem, wrong ! Finally found that the computer wanted a definite 'minimum' fuel pressure or it went back to sleep. Found that a small fuel filter in the tank was partial blocked and this sometimes confused the computer.
FollowupID: 507804

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:35

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:35
Mark.
The Pajero is a very reliable vehicle, The problem has to be an intermittent short cct caused by the accident your mechanic is on the right track checking the wiring but the average mechanic would not know how to find a short. To blow a 100 amp fuse it has to be in the main loom between the battery and the smaller fuses or in the alternator, also to damage the computer it has to be in the same loom as a wire to the computer. An arc big enough to blow 100 amps will leave a big burn mark it should be easy to see. Good luck and don't give up, just take it to an auto elec, if you had done that instead of a mechanic it probably would be sweet now. Eric
AnswerID: 246918

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:58

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:58
Hey Eric.

Mark is dropping off vehicle with mechanic now. When mark spoke to mech on the phone mech also said the same kind of thing as you did above.
Mech will no doubt go through it, and if still stumped call up is auto elec mate.
Keeping in mind though, if he is going to do this at no cost cause I was bled dry last time! otherwise I'll see mate with tow truck dump vehicle in my driveway shortly!

Jo
FollowupID: 508033

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:34

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:34
hey thanks everyone..
I went to the car park this morning to see if it would decide to start, nah it wouldn't, but what suprised me the most is the vehicle was still in one piece with nothing missing!
Mark rang our mechanic. Mate will pick up the vehicle with his tow truck this arvo and drop it off.
I would take it straight to an auto elec but have not got any money to pay him, our mechanic is great, he knows the vehicle real good so he will find the problem I am confident.
So computer died, new computer, harmonic balancer etc died, all replaced and repaired, from picking up the vehicle after that work, that is when the fuse was blown, replaced fuse, vehicle goes fine, vehicle now doing the exact same thing as when the computer died, but fuse is not yet blown...

I reckon you all need to be placing bets on this one, someone wil come out a winner!
AnswerID: 247019

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:01

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:01
If the computer is fried again - then this would suggest there is a short somewhere in a wiring loom - all beit occasional - you may need a very good auto electritian to track it down rather than the new parts fitters that you have used in the past, or this saga will be never ending for the life of this vehicle

Boc
AnswerID: 247146

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:11

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:11
Does it have any kind of imobilizer on it, it maybe playing funny buggers with you!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 247149

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:48

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:48
It doesn't need to have an immobilizer to play funny buggers with us Pesty!!!!!
FollowupID: 508031

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:16

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:16
Sorry to hear about the issues Mark and Jo ............. can understand being Pis$ed off.

Many years ago I paid over $2500 for mechenics to find a knock in the motor this was over several weeks replace this ...... must be this replace that. Each required time off from work you know how it goes.

Still not fixed and sitting down at work a vented my spleen and a back yark tinkerer (no cert mechenic) said he would have a look, went out listened to it slipped in on ramps crawled under yep thought so you have a loose bolt which moved out and was just touching the flywheel, tightened it up FIXED.

I guess in the end it was fixed but $2500 to tighten up a nut still leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

So I know as many would about spending $$$$ and the problem stays.

I do hope all works out and you get it sorted :) OH, I did want MURPHY to leave me but did not mean him to go visit you :).

AnswerID: 247163

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:46

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 08:46
Murphy only leaves us when he gets a bit bored and wants to play with someone else, but he will always return, you can guarantee that!
Love the back yard tinkerer!
FollowupID: 508029

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:25

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:25
Just spoke to mechanic. All earths, main wiring etc everything above you've all written at this point with wiring is all good. He wants to look at the computer but if he breaks the seals it voids the warranty so he has to wait for mitsu to check that out, also wants to suss alternator. I read to him all your responses, he had thought of all the above, checked this and that etc , he said to say thankyou to you all for your thoughts and input, because sometimes someone elses thoughts can be exactly what's needed to trigger something you are thinking of etc.
He really is a wonderful mechanic and really goes out of his way, Perry (Pezza) put us on to him and if you are in the brisbane south side area and looking for a new mechanic both us and Perry couldn't recommend enough to you to go see him.
We won't really know much more now till mitsu has looked at comp and he's checked out alternator so will keep you all informed.
Thanks so much everyone, you are all worth your weight in gold.. (XXXX gold that is!!)

Jo
AnswerID: 247209