Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Tarago 4WD ??

Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:58

Member - Barry M (NSW)

I was overtaken this morning by a Tarago type vehicle that had a chrome 4WD badge on the lower left rear & a name that looked like ESTINA on the right side.
Definately a Toyota badge in the middle. No obvious increase in ground clearance,
though this thing was so overloaded that the rear tyres were all but flat & the lpg
tank seemed inches from the ground. It was only doing around 140k as well.
No doubt the learned souls on this forum can elaborate ? ....oldbaz.
Morning Tea..Tanami 07
Click Image to Enlarge
oldbaz
Advertisement
ThreadID: 47318 Replies: 5
Views: 935 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 250291   Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:08

Member - Tour Boy replied:

Mate they are a grey import heaps of them around. I think they are imported to brisbane.
TB
Gotta love that beach camping
Click Image to Enlarge
If it's custom it's mine,
If it isn't it's hers!!
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 250292   Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:09

Andrew from Vivid Adventures replied:

ESTIMA ... a second-hand import from Japan more than likely.
Vivid AdventuresVivid Adventures
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 250325   Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:16

The Explorer replied:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Previa

Carnabys Black Cockatoo
Click Image to Enlarge
“I was horror–struck to find my poor overseer lying on the ground, weltering in his blood and in the last agonies of death” E Eyre 29 April 1841

Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 250511   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:40

BenSpoon replied:

Its a Japanese grey import- Different specs levels are Lumina and Emina's.
In Aus its a Tarago.. in others its a Estima or Previa.
2.2L turbo diesel 4WD or 2L petrol- 2WD and 4WD options.
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Uluru Base and Sunset Tour Y12 Uluru Base and Sunset Tour Y12
Ayers Rock / Uluru - NT
Visit the Uluru - Kata Tjuta Cultural Centre, then travel to the base of Uluru where your Driver/Gui
See Melbourne and Beyond Attraction Pass 2 days See Melbourne and Beyond Attraction Pass 2 da
Melbourne - VIC
Attraction pass for Melbourne & Beyond. Over $1000 worth of admission fees.
Historic Plane Silver Clipper Dinner Flight - Vic Historic Plane Silver Clipper Dinner Flight -
Melbourne - VIC
The Silver Clipper Dinner Flight is a tribute to a bygone, elegant age of air travel, when style cou
Aussie Rules Footy - With a local host Aussie Rules Footy - With a local host
Melbourne - VIC
Experience the unique Australian game of football with a local host to explain the rules, bumps &
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 250958   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:55

Member - Dale A (VIC) replied:

never understood the point of these estina vehicles.

I'm not a people mover fan, but those with more than 3 kids need something.

For my money , in the same market is the jap import ( again ) Mitsubishi Delicia.

At least it's got some pajero running gear on underneath ( and the 2.8td )

I've seen one of these with a small lift and decent tyres on it on a high country track and while i reckon it would be slightly scary with a bit of a sideways lean happening , the owner was having a great time and going places i really didnt think it would go.

He was very happy with it.

Dale

Click Image to Enlarge
Oh Sh1t !!! get out the snatch strap.
Reply 5 of 5