Proposed NSW Licence restrictions for Me & Gramps
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:05
Mr Fawlty
Have I missed this thread or am I the first to get on my soap box about it?
Announced on the TV that "Older" drivers were going to have restriction placed on them that would limit in cities the driver to a 10km from home radius of action and for country dwellers only from the place of residence to the nearest town. Not sure if this will fix the problem that is obviously drivers with Altzhiemers, dementia etc driving. Maybe some PFT in the Govt just has it in for "mature" drivers.....
I have a few male friends who should not be driving but in the ACT there is no age test, you simply have to pass a basic physical, hell one bloke I know has parkinsons and it takes him half an hour to walk 50 metres and he drives at the speed of a startled snail. A "relative" of
mine should not be driving either, she stops at green lights.
Sureley we should be able to test each individuals ability to drive and check for psychological problems as
well before we just put an embargo on all "mature" drivers. Ok some older drivers are not with it and it can be very dangerous driving in the right lane on a 110KPH freeway but surely these drivers should be the ones singeled out for "re-education"??
Reply By: Member - Earvin (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:24
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 17:24
I think it is a blanket rule so everyone does not have to be tested and others can elect to have a test if they wish to go beyond these restrictions.
I guess that would mean those that are 'dangerous' could me missed though.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:43
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:43
Fawlty
Older people, particularly those who drive Nissans (with Bull Bars) should be thrown off the road. Their a menace to society and should sent to WA to extract minerals.
Kim
Reply By: Mark R - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:45
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:45
Absolute bloody nonsense mate. You're either fit to drive or you're unfit. I agree that older drivers and people of any age with medical problems that may affect their ability to drive safely should be medically assessed in relation to driving on a regular basis, but to say that someone is safe within 10Km of home and unsafe in other areas is BS. All it means is that you will kill a local rather than someone from out of town! How can the idiots that make these rules allow this situation to persist???
Don't get me wrong; it is a terrible thing to have to tell someone that he or she can no longer have the freedom to drive and I feel strongly for anyone so informed but that's just how it is in the interest of public (your and my) safety.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:51
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 18:51
Was a bit of a drama a while back when Qld dept of transport started to issue "restricted" licences to some residents on
Bribie Island , was a good idea in that the pace of life and lifestyle for some of its senior residents was to be maintained rather than say "your to old " , sticker on car , can only drive on the island ,maintains their independence.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:37
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:37
Ha !!! If they can't catch me, they can't test me :)))
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:43
Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 23:43
As stated above this only applies Nisan drivers and anybody older than myself.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:03
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:03
Isn't it funny how they target the
young or the old when every one knows that its women who should be taken off the road. Its common knowledge that women cant drive and are an absolute menace on the road and some how they've have slipped through the net! Hehehe
Reply By: jeffwa - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 00:51
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 00:51
LOL, it's quite funny to see you older blokes complaining about being targeted when the younger generations have been told to deal with it for decades!
Not saying its right or wrong, just interesting.
Ahhh, I remember the days when I used to get held up by cops for doing nothing other than having a "P" plate displayed. Asked to pop the bonnet on my mum's car to make sure it was not a highly modified 4cyl white Nissan Pintara wagon with a lime green pinstripe...???
Oh
well, descrimination is what we do best I suppose...
Lucky for me I'm a middle aged white male I suppose....
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 07:38
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 07:38
"you older blokes" and "I'm a middle aged"
Hahahaha we could be younger than you.
"Nissan Pintara wagon with a lime green pinstripe" - You deserve to be in the slammer :)))))
Reply By: Hairs - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:04
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:04
It's not so much as the state government making these changes as it's the RTA.
They make changes without them being passed through state parliament. They have become a law unto themselves. EG, As a holder of a MR licence If I spell a place name wrong on my log book, it's 3 points and a $600 fine. also if I write out side of the box provided to put information in, it's a 3 point loss on my licence and $600 fine. And that's all about road safety isn't it?, These changes are not law.
I believe that the RTA needs to be privatized, They waste money like you wouldn't believe. They make knee jerk decisions to make political points on the governments behalf. How many Roads ministers have we had in NSW over the past 6 years? It's too early to be on my soap box, I haven't had a beer yet
:-(
So i'll shut up now.
Hairs
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:56
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:56
Unfortunately Hairs...they are LAW. Under our Washminster system of government the Parliament passes legislation that generally spells out the intent..then the public servants go to work on articulating the 'regulations' under the legislation which are approved by the relevant minister. Of course parliament can pursue a 'disallowance motion' within a certain period of time but give that these votes invariably go with the numbers....the government of the day will always win.
Laws are not always instituted by parliament...judges also make laws...these are referred to as precedent..and can be toppled by parliament revisiting the legislation or by a higher court.
The LAW is a strange beast....bit like a woman really and almost as difficult to understand.
Follow Up By: Hairs - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:15
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:15
Yes Minister,
How true was that ABC run program?
I understand your point Patrol22 and agree with you.
Do other states have these issues like we do in NSW? I Hold a MR licence which is a National Heavy Vehicle licence. Yet I'm treated differently in NSW to other states. So, therefore an elderly driver will have different laws that he or she has to abide by in different states.
One reason elderly drivers are on the roads is because our public transport system Does not work. NSW is to reliant on Fuel taxes. And therefore blind to the issues that affect the motorists of this state.
Ok, so I've had a few beers. It's Sunday arvo.
I'll give up now and go and watch the footy. This state is in such a mess when it comes to traffic laws.
I don't have the answers. I wish I had.
;-)
Hairs
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:28
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:28
RTA = Road Taxing Authority
Follow Up By: Hairs - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:46
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:46
Mr Fawlty Writes: RTA = Road Taxing Authority
Roflmao, sounds about right.
A mate of
mine that drives B-Doubles up & down the Pacific Hwy was telling me that it costs about $18000.00 to rego a B-Double per year.
I don't know how true that is. And I forget how much fuel they carry, makes my 140 odd litre in my 80 series look like a 5L mower can.
It's also about A $1000.00 more to get your B-double licence in NSW than QLD,
He just recently got his.
So Mr Fawlty you would be spot on.
Hairs
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:15
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:15
Personally, I plan to cut up my license the day I turn 80. No mucking around - reactions slow down, indignation rises and claims that everyone else is going too fast are normal in older people. Risk rises. No I don't look forward to it but do not plan to put others at risk.
We saw my pa-in-law with increasing Macular Degeneration take to the road, see "hallucinations" on the road (perfectly normal), and not see cars coming along main roads. My wife refused to ride with him. We saw my Dad with increasing dementia and reaction time like all eternity rely on Mum as his observer. Both were legally driving, doctors indignant when we asked for help and no way to get them tested until very late in the piece.
Annual tests as tough as L Platers get should be an absolute minimum for over 80 drivers. If you are good enough to drive you can pass a test.
I can sympathise with restricted area and time licenses for mobility, but they should be after a test and on a case by case basis.
Max (putting on my flak jacket!)
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:18
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:18
Flak jacket - why ??? Sounds sensible enough to me.
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:43
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:43
I guess I have a few friends who see 80 as not too far away and reckon I am trying to deprive them of their "rights".
Maybe ExploreOz folk are much more rational!
:-}
Max
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:56
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:56
More likely that EO folk refuse to admit 80 is closing in :)))) Rationality may vary somewhat in the future.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:24
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:24
Age is much too simple a way to look at this. That is what attracts governments to it. They like simple solutions, even if they produce the wrong outcome.
When we lived in Vic on a small property our neighbour was 83 years old. He was more active than me. Ran three farms, hundreds of KM apart. Did all his own yarding, branding, fencing etc. I worked elsewhere full time, so when I had stock to go to market, he would load them on his truck and take them and arrange everything. All I'd get is a cheque in the mail. He was very active in the community with charity organisations, always on the go helping someone.
To suggest he is too old to drive is ridiculous. He has as keen a mind and body as many 20 years younger than him.
On the other hand there are many younger people who should not be (and some never should have been ) allowed to drive.
I'm a long way short of 80. Don't have a clue what my abilities will be like at that time. Even if I don't have the sense to make a judgment at the time, I'm sure my family will.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:34
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:34
Good to see so many constructive replies to this topic. Though I will soon be a geritaric I have had a gut full of em... take them for a meal, they can't order from the menu but have to eat food that has been sitting in a bain marie for 24 hours, refuse to make any decisions and stress out as soon as breakfast has been served because the next meal is not ready...