Nick R (VIC)
I learned much at the national gathering such as:
you should take your tyre repair kit with you instead of leaving it at
camp,
you can
cook great pizza in a
camp oven,
don't let the dog play with the car keys and
Some of you have electric blankets in your campers.
From my calculations an 80 watt electric blanket run through an inverter would pull 114 watts given 70% efficiency in the inverter. at 12 volts this is 9.5 amps, so a 95 amp hour battery would do 10 hours.
how am I going? am I all wrong???
I currently have a second battery under the bonnet and a third in the camper, these 2 can be linked to give me about 160 amp hours but I also have a fridge,
water pump and lighting to run.
How have you people got this set up?
SWMBO would really like this setup if we're to do more winter travel
NickR
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:54
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:54
you only need run it to warm up the bed, once in youre fine, that would be maybe 30 mins max
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:08
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:08
Bonz,
Can you provide a graphic description of how you keep warm once you are horizontal, if the leccy blanky is to be switched off please? ;-))
Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:43
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:43
Now now Roachie, lets leave it to imagination, Bonz may think you asked for graphics (pictures) and not graphic discription LOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:25
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:25
Imagine a piece of 90mmx45mm pine and an I-Beam alongside each other.
Now project the I-beam at an angle of 63 degrees to the horizontal and 47 degrees to the vertical and imagine the 90x45 has 90x38mm noggins.
There you have it
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:26
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 23:26
Oh and Boris wants your fairlead and JohnR can pick it up for him and drop it in
Geelong, see other thread
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:12
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:12
Thanks for that vivid description Bonz......just what I was looking for and I will try it next time we're out
camping. Does your method come with any guarantee of success? ;-))
I have seen the thread from Boris and have duly responded.
Cheers mate.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:24
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:24
Depends a bit on movements of Roachie and me. Hope to reunite with Moses today.
Reply By: jeffwa - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:57
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:57
Yeah I would just use it to warm it up, and if at 3 or 4 in the morning you wake up freezing you could whack it back on for a few hours. I have though about this, but having 240v going into my tent when it's raining does not appeal to me!
The thing you have forgotten to calculate is the fact that a 90amp hour battery will not do 9 hours at 10 amps because:
a) the more current you draw the less efficiant the battery is, 10 amps is quite a bit.
b) The battery is not going to run perfectly right down to the last amphour. As the volts drop on your battery you will require more amps to maintain the equal number whats. More amps, more current, more voltage drop etc etc etc.
Besides that, if you completley drain your battery every night you'll root it quick smart.
I also run a
water pump, stereo, lights and fridge off two Exide Aux batteris joined in Paralell. I think I'd have enough to spare to run it for an hour or so, but beyond that I'd be having to start the car again before bed and or in the morning to charge them back up a bit.
Reply By: Redeye - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:18
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:18
Easy,
No need for an electric blanket just send the Mrs in to warm your side while you have your night cap.
Redeye
Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:12
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:12
What's wrong with the good old hot
water bottle - we would have been frozen without them on our recent trip to the channel country - bloody freezing just about every night. Hot bottle warms the whole bed - another trick is to put one of those picnic blankets - the sort with rubber backing on your bed - rubber side up - stops the cold coming in and the heat escaping. Been using these methods for about 10 years now - no problem - cheap - and you can recycle the
water, as
well - just leave it in the bag through the day - put it in the billy or kettle to boild when you need it.
jules
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:08
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:08
Hi Nick,
Your maths are probably right but you are basing them on max leccy blanket useage. If you run the blanket on 1 instead of 3 you will not use as much power but still take the edge off the cool nights. I don't have specific figures but we have plenty of
battery power to do this with 230 amps while still running the 12 volt only fridge and lights. As others have indicated don't keep it on all night, rather if you find it cold whack it back on for a while in the middle of the night.
Also a single bed blanket may use less power and just put that on the mrs's side, bonus is she may let you snuggle up on her side....wink wink nudge nudge LOL !!!!
Regards, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Ingtar - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:56
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 12:56
Isn't it a better plan to put the single blanket on your side, then she HAS to snuggle up to you?
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:03
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:03
ROFL, how slow am I? Thanks for
the tip.
Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:27
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:27
Hi Nick
It's usually the hot
water bottle here (when we remember to take it) in our sleeping bags and it works a treat every time on those colder nights.
Or as Redeys suggests, send your better half to bed first - that sounds like a Muddy idea there as he often waits for me to warm it up while he has another drinkies beside the fire before coming to bed.
We do have a leccy blanket and have pondered the idea to try it out just to warm up the bedding say 15 mins or so before bedtime on the colder nights once we have the camper set up properly, just to see if it's worth doing it for those colder times.
Cya
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:48
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:48
Hi Nick,
Don't leave your nightcap at home.....lol
Wont make you any warmer, but at least you wont care....
Michael
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:02
That was the first time I didn't pack it, I didn't forget, just that box was left in the house....
I always carry something fortified, tastes just as good from a stainless steel mug!!!
C Ya mate,
Nick
Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:49
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:49
Nick, You should have got stuck into Mrs Roachies Mulled Wine, wouldn't have felt cold, garanteed.....
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:09
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:09
Blaze,
Michael J's port did the trick!!!
I must but some port in a box in my camper, I will be prepared next time....
Nick
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:52
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 18:52
Next you'll be telling me that they also take electric coffee makers with them!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:44
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:44
Funny you should mention that mate...........
The fact is that Membe Lucy DOES take a cappacino with him (although I don't think he has stooped so low as to have a leccy blanky yet).
Now, Annette and I have had the pleaseure of a cappacino from this said machine when Lucy and his SWMBO visited us here last week. Now, I'm here to tell you that this is a truly professional coffee machine. None of your Sunbeam, LG, Kambrook or Westinghouse rubbish for Member Lucy. No, his is a Incanto Sirius made by Saeco........will sting ya c/card by about $2K!!!!! By geez, the coffee tasted grouse but!!!!!! hahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:35
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:35
Ahh Roachie, the leccy blanket I think he has already. Of course he doesn't use it :-))) SWMBO does.
The coffee machine complete with disposible cups. The coffee is GROUSE as you say. But did you see the storage for it? Right beside the Port-a-potti. How one would get to use it I don't know. You have to get the coffee machine to the Honda EU20i and that really makes it chortle. It took about 20 minutes to make 7 cups of coffee. The
shop would have long queues out the door
The Lucy bathroom floor is about 1.5m off the ground and has an aluminium checkerplate box. The storage for the coffee machine is right beside it but comes out to give you space for the 'other' bathroom activity, yes, it nearly makes room for you to use the Port-a-pottie. I guess with it 1.5m off the ground and cramped conditions he doens't have to empty it often... ;-)))
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:58
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:58
Strewth, he wouldn't want to find himself caught short after a few too many
Cascades and find himself perched upon the coffeee machine instead of the porta-loo, eh?! I guess if that DID happen, he could have an espresso of a slightly different variety and with a bit of extra "body" in it.....but with the residue from his
Cascades providing the froth and bubble to top it off, it would be just what he deserves!!!!! hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:06
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:06
Mr moses better not throw stones, I saw your stove top espresso machine there.
I had
mine too, little 4 cup one, brews 4 really strong espressos in about 90 seconds on a hot flame.
Mine doesn't froth milk though, luckily I enjoy it neat at times.....
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:13
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:13
Nick, come on, froth, you blocked your bubbler? Ours has been one of the things we coulda left home so far.
Roachie, the possibilities of trouble he could get into are endess. ;-))))
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:13
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:13
I don't know why I bother with you lot.
Absolute philistines the lot of you. (LOL)
The cafe latte machine is just ace and SWMBO is faster than some of the so called professional establishments I have frequented in my travels.
The electric blanket is actually better because it stops her bitching about getting into a cold bed.
Have to admit, second night at Warraweena was the coldest I have ever experienced. Actualy hurt to get into bed.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:38
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:38
Hey Lucy,
Was the coldest you have ever experienced or the coldest you can remember LOL
I think its were getting older guys, can remember many many moons ago sleeping on the ground under a tarp in weather colder than warraweena dished up, back then though I used to dive in the sink holes at Mt Gambier at 3am in the morning just for fun I musta been MAD.....
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:35
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:35
"The cafe latte machine is just ace and SWMBO is faster than some of the so called professional establishments I have frequented in my travels.
The electric blanket is actually better because it stops her bitching about getting into a cold bed.
Have to admit, second night at Warraweena was the coldest I have ever experienced. Actualy hurt to get into bed."
Mate, professional jealousy that we didn't get a coffee machine there first. LOL
OK, so it stops SWMBO complaining about the cold bed, but it was painful for you? Please explain????????
Blaze, a night
camping at
Ceduna June 1971 was the coldest I can remember, a black frost.
Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:09
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:09
Why AC? Why not 12 volt (draw about 4 amps) readily available off e-bay and not all that expensive either. A lot safer too.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:08
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:08
Thanks for that,
I did wonder if they were available, I will check that out. Would be good to not have that loss you get through the inverter.
Nick
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:18
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:18
Have you tried one?
Reply By: Blaze - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:41
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:41
Nick is wasn't even cold at Warra,
well maybe up at the Sat night show the wind had a bit of a rip to it. But must agree my SWMBO and Mrs Lexic thought it was tad cold..
Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:57
Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:57
Hi Blaze
Saturday itself was quite
cold with that wind going through you and the gathering at the homestead that night was colder.
Was much nicer back at the fire ring down at the camp ground but it was a
cold brrrrrrrrr night until I got into bed.
I think the film of
ice on the 4WD's and in some people's water Sunday morning would border heavily on the downright "damn cold" phrase rather more than a "tad cold" one.
Hehehehehe
Cya
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:15
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:15
I agree with Muddies Doe, I usually cope well with the
cold, being up at sparrows and being outside most of the time. At
Warraweena we did the hot water bottle thing but it was still
cold. it did improve though when I decided to wear something to bed......
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:14
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 14:14
Sat night - Sun was the coldest ever.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:59
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:59
LOL!!!! at
Warraweena, inside my van with heater going and leccy blanket when SWMBO desired I reckon it might have got down to 10C so it didn't feel too bad.........until I went outside hehehehehe.
Roughing it these days doesn't feel as bad as it did when I was 18.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:10
Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:10
Too much info Nick
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:04
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 11:04
John, too much info!!!! It may be too much for us but you would have seen Nick in the nick in your time. How hastily we forget sometimes.
Might have to check out one of these 12 amp eleccy thingamyjigs for the minister for war. Might melt the
ice a bit so to speak.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:48
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 15:48
Mr Lexic,
got a 2 person one in 12 volt, it pulls 80 watts or 6.6666666666 amps at 12 volts
there are a few on ebay at the moment, it was hastily approved by the minister for finance so there is no longer a minister for war!!!
I will get hold of a 24 hour 12 volt timer off the sparky so we can switch it on periodically at night for 15 or 30 minute bursts.
NickR
Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:48
Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 23:48
Gidday again Nick,
SWMBO had me bid on a single one on Ebay which we won.. We will be staying up near Lock 8 on the Murray this weekend.... To bad it hasn't arrived yet LOL she will have to suffer again..... Actually its not that cold usually by the River. If Des comes down as well I can pinch his port :-)
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 00:20
Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 00:20
OK! That does it you Pajeros
I have been watching this thread with interest as I have been copping a bagging as usual, but thats ok as I did have a Cafe latte machine there etc etc.
I am missing something though with all this talk of 12V timer things and the maths of 6 x 7 = 94 - 7omhs x 3 cows being milked resulting in 6 to the 90th amp draw. What a lot of dribble.
After departing Warra - iceblock - weena the first thing we did was buy a LARGE single electric blanket at the big W in Pt Augusta. ($39) plugged it into a 140 W inverter that I have had sitting in the Troopy for ages (Jaycar $49).
It pulls 65W on No. 3 setting and works extremely well. (5. something amps)
I like your idea of the timer though, as I already have a 240v 24hr one in the Troopy for the electric ceramic heater we use when on a powered site.
So I might use that sucker between the inverter and the blanket plug.
I would rather just heat the bed up first then turn the sucker off just before getting into it.
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 08:44
Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 08:44
Hey Blaze,
My 12v blanket turned up yesterday, I don't think I will be able to try it out until the Pyrenees trip if we get there., Roachie's mulled wine sounded like the go too
Hey Lucy, watch who you call pajeros, you are not the only one who knows what that means in spanish, hey, maybe you could get david to automatically "bleep" the word pajero, wouldn't that be cool.
$39 for a single? was $50 for a double, for $11 you too could be warm. Don't think for one minute your SWMBO is going to let you "snuggle" when you are frozen solid!!! You know about the minister for war...
Also, I thought of you yesterday morning once the "missin Nissan" appeared, thought you'd like to get the first punch in!!!
NickR
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 10:38
Friday, Jul 27, 2007 at 10:38
Well that sucker was Missin for a Loooooooooooooooooong time in an area which is
Australia's answer to the Bemuda Triangle for things going a Missin.
Also good to see that you have got that E/Blanket sorted out, because your SWMBO was not a happy chappie at
Warraweena.
Me personally, don't usually give a chit about a e/blanket, however
Warraweena made me think otherwise.
I'll carry it just in case I am in
Warraweena or Clare. Damn that Clare is a cold mother of a place in winter. (LOL)