Leyland Brothers new DVD.

Submitted: Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:59
ThreadID: 48670 Views:7757 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
For those who may be interested or like me grew up watching the Leyland Bros on tv .A dvd has just be released of their 1966 West/East crossing of Australia.
Please note i have not watched the DVD as yet.
http://www.ezydvd.com.au/item.zml/793867or have anything to do with the Leyland Bros or DVD shop link.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:12

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:12
Comes with motion sickness tablets and a free set of ear-muffs so you can vomit in peace and quiet ;-)
AnswerID: 257093

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:35

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:35
OUCH Andrew!! I remember watching the series back in those days & it seemed OK at the time!! I guess the gear they had was a bit basic compared to todays stuff but they did well with what they had.
If someone held a gun at my head & made me watch it all again I would perhaps take your advise!! Cheers
FollowupID: 518238

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 19:53

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 19:53
I remember watching it as a kid too and just being enamoured with the allegations about where they were going and how they were doing it... now I'm a bit cynical and I'm now probably more critical of them than I should be, but it is all too cheesy for me nowadays - even the more recent stuff.
FollowupID: 518256

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:28
A mate of mine has a little ditty he sings, when we go out on some of Kakadu's back tracks.

Travel around the country side ask the leyland brothers.

F#ck it up with you 4wd ask the layland brothers.

where are we going Mike stuffed if I know Mal.

Travel around the country side ask the Layland brotheeers. LOL

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 518314

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:49

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:49

Thats a Redgum song... ;-)
FollowupID: 518488

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 22:24
I was never a Redgum fan as such, but I still get a laugh when he sings it.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 518495

Reply By: wheeleybin - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 07:05

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 07:05
When your grandchildren grow up and come to watch your old hat adventures with pills and muffs reflect on the "era" and laugh to yourself.
The Leylands were good value in their "era".
Old farts like me would have loved to have done what they did.
Thank god there was no DVD,s and TV when everyone was doing it with a bullock team how bloody boring.
AnswerID: 257161

Reply By: Tessysdad - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 11:13
Hello guys and gals,
one of the things I always enjoyed about the Leylands' stuff was that they actually gave you a good look at what was to be seen, instead of nice "PR" shots of the equipent and talking faces. The modern docs may be a more soffisticated in terms of their production, but I have to say that I find myself forever stretching my neck to try an get a glimpse at what it is that they are talking about. I may well be a fossil, but give me the Leylands any day.

Happy viewing,
Mike.
AnswerID: 257195

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 13:17

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 13:17
Oh well, might as well weigh in! I think that the Leylands, Nature Walk About (serventy's) and In the Wild with HB did a lot to inspire me to go out and have a look for myself. Not saying that I would not have anyway. Who can forget the HB series about the flooding of Lake Argyle? Got to see it two years ago - fair wait but I'm a patient man.

AnswerID: 257199

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:04

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 14:04
Hi everyone - I just drove uptown/downtown in Birdsville to do some chores and came upon a whole mob of people just out of the Simpson Desert doing a photo opportunity outside the Birdsville Pub (as you do) and read the stickers on the sides of the vehicles and who should they be - West to East, celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the Leyland Brothers Crossing. So there!
Whilst about my chores up town I turned to leave the Post Office and there was this big bloke blocking my way - just waiting for me - who should it be - Gone Bush from WA, just drove into town in the maroon V8 Toyota Ute with the Trakmaster and saw our V8 ute so he figured it must be me. Going to catch up later and have a whinge about the V8. Will probably do a photo opportunity tomorrow outside the Birdsville Bakery because Dusty Miller (the Baker) got his V8 ute yesterday.
AnswerID: 257205

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:16

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:16
As a kid just not long arrived in WA (1965) from England they seemed like the explorers of old. The old Leyland brothers movies did all the rounds of the town halls and their exploits were magical. Although looking back the filming and dialogue was pretty crap, but in their day they were great.

Another movie that I'd like to re see was called "Across the Top" no idea who did it but I have lasting memories of the Aboriginal initiation ceremonies (Ouch!!!!!!!!!!).

Also whatever happened to Alvi Mangles??????? Ah that chamois bikini's.

AnswerID: 257270

Follow Up By: Robert - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 18:48

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 18:48
"Across the top" and another movie "Follow the Sun" were made by Malcom Douglas and Another bloke who I can't remember his name. I remember seeing these two films at a hall when I was a kid, they certainly inspired my interest in seeing Australia. Would be interested in knowing if these two films are available on dvd.

FollowupID: 518655

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:29
I remember my dad taking us kids to Box Hill town hall to see the 1966 doco. I reckon that had a lot to do with starting my obsession with travelliing OZ. Thanks Leyland brothers!!!
AnswerID: 257281

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:30
I remember my dad taking us kids to Box Hill town hall to see the 1966 doco. I reckon that had a lot to do with starting my obsession with travelliing OZ. Thanks Leyland brothers!!!
AnswerID: 257282