Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

camper trailer dust seals

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 18:43

cmt

The existing dust seals on my camper have compressed to the point that they are useless . Off to the the Simpson in 4 weeks . Can anyone advise a good seal rubber and where I might be able to buy it from . A lot of manufacturers talk of pinchweld rubber seals is this good and readily available ??

ThreadID: 49246 Replies: 7
Views: 1582 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 259978   Submitted: Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 18:57

Member - Kim M (VIC) replied:

I can't help you with suppliers of dust seals. However, a bit of advice.

Seals are not meant to be compressed to their limit. A 2mm commpression is all that's needed to make a dust seal.

Kim
Somewhere in WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A dog will quickly turn you into a fool, but who cares? I'm a fool for my dog and proud of it."
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 259982   Submitted: Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 19:48

Moggs replied:

Hi Chris,

Take a section of the old seal down to any Clarke Rubber Store - they have a whole section of automotive trims / seals. Just then need to match it up, maybe buy a narrower one and away you go.

Click Image to Enlarge
Moggs (Melbourne VIC)
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 259987   Submitted: Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 20:22

MEMBER - Darian (SA) replied:

Yep - a supplier of industrial rubber mouldings should have an adhesive backed profile to suit - they come in a lot of types, widths and calipers. The seals can get tired and lose their effectiveness, even when they don't appear worn out.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 259988   Submitted: Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 20:32

Max - Sydney replied:

What city do you live?

There's a great mob at St Mary's in Sydney that has every rubber section ever made I reckon & if its any use I will dig out its name

Max
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
WRX Turbo Rally Intro Drive 8 Laps + 1 Hot Lap WRX Turbo Rally Intro Drive 8 Laps + 1 Hot La
Gold Coast - QLD
Rally driving - you've seen it on TV, so stop thinking about it and do it!
Aromatherapy Massage and Facial Aromatherapy Massage and Facial
Sydney - NSW
Completely unwind with a relaxing and calming aromatherapy massage followed by a blissful facial.
Gliding Air Experience Flight Gliding Air Experience Flight
Sydney - NSW
Soar like an eagle high above the picturesque Camden valley, with views to the Sydney skyline and th
Great Ocean Road and Grampians - 3 Day Great Ocean Road and Grampians - 3 Day
Goldfields - VIC
Tour Great Ocean Road with a maximum of 12 passengers.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 260031   Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 07:30

Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 replied:

Google U.E.S. and you find all sort of pinchwelds.

Reiner
In Tassie 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never trade the thrills of living for the security of existence
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 260066   Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 13:13

Member - Greydemon (WA) replied:

I had the same problem and decided to fix it before going to the Pilbara in July. Clark rubber had a huge range, the existing seals were simply flat rubber about 3cms x 4mm, I decided that the best thing to do would be to leave the existing compressed seals in place on the frame, and just glue the new ones on the door to match.

WRONG, more dust than before I 'fixed' the problem.

I think that what was happening was that the increased thickness near the hinge caused a gap at the catch end. I am now going to remove the original seal and see if things improve, if they don't then the whole lot goes and I start again!

Click Image to Enlarge
He felt that his whole life was some kind of dream and he sometimes wondered whose it was and whether they were enjoying it.
Douglas Adams
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 260093   Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:11

Member - George S (QLD) replied:

I went Clark Rubber & purchased A dense flat rubber seal approx 30mm wide & 8mm thick for my seal . Them found a 4mm poly chopping bord n cut some stips of & riveted them on @ 6 spots arround frame so the weight doesnt compress the rubber all the way &they act as rub pltes from travel movement
George
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website