ThreadID: 49674 Views:2799 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Trip Report 2007

4000 km
Avg 7.3 Km/L
No damage to the Troopy
No flat tyres
No problems at all
The Gunbarrel Hwy, Connie Sue Hwy and more.

Sat. 08/09/07 up at 5.30am off at 6.30am nice drive down to Neale Junction I was imprest with this spot, past a group of 3 vehicles heading north, lead was in a patrol that did in some shockies (was running 40 psi now had dropped them to 25 psi???) we ran 30 front 40 rears, black top 40 front 55 rears, anyway they seem like nice people.
We left Neale Junction and headed south on a track that has been Graded and is like a major dirt road (but there is a lot of wood on the road so keep speeds low).
When the road meets the Tjuntjuntjarra Community road at the shed and tank, it becomes the worst bull dusted road I have ever travelled, in some places it's up to 40 meters wide for a k or 2 and around 8 to 10 inches deep in places (rip the steering wheel out of your hands) it was coming over the bonnet in waves 70 odd k of this, unbelievable.
This road goes West to meet up with the Cable Haul Road, CS then continues off to become two wheel tracks through the station country off western edge off the Nullarbor Plains..
They have found precious metals in the Western Desert and have started mining. Have heard since they are boring for water to allow for the road to be made stable and also the Connie Sue is to be upgraded also...
We got to Rawlinna at 5.10pm cold and windy called up Loongara Lime Mine on the HF 13 to let them know we where going to stay out at the Muster yards (thanks Willem I did read your report) we set up camp in the mouth of the muster shed on the concrete. Had a very good night a good wash down 1 too many reds and slept well.

Sun 09/09/07 up at 6.00am gone at 7.30am change of plans we decided to travel East to have a look at the Obelisk at Deakin, so we had a look around Rawlinna waited for the trains to go through the station and the East we went. We had been out to Haig before and this is a good road 80 km/h easy faster for most (my rule is 80 k max on dirt fourth gear) after Haig the road becomes a track like any other Nullarbor track we have travelled (rocky). We planed to stop a Forrest the night and that was a good plan, this is an unbelievable place could have and should have stayed for a couple of days, we camped at the old Met Station, toilets, showers, and a great museum, I was like a kid in a toy shop. Boy o boy and the hanger and airport terminal so much history.
We had the place to ourself we thought until 2 young bloke that had brought a plane, to go fishing, landed and stayed in the museum, then after sunset 2 more blokes arrived coming from the East (had been over to check out a station they had brought around Mungerannie) and where heading home, a good night had by all, there where 2 other planes stoped but they stayed in the old Met houses.

Mon 10/09/07 up at 5.30am left Met Station at 7.30am and Forrest at 10.20pm
We had a good look around again and had to wait for one of the planes to leave before getting some fuel $2.25/L so only one tank. LOL. The Indian Pacific was due in at 8.45am we waited and it arrived at 9.30am had to wait not every day you get to take a photo of the Indian Pacific going through Forrest Station with a goods train in the loop, cool me thinks.

We head East having a look at the air strip and large quarry at Reid, got to Deakin at 12.10pm had a look at the Obelisk and signs and then south to Eucla, came across two large gnamma holes at 1.40pm arrived at Eucla at 3.45pm, refuelled and booked into CP another good day.

Tue 11/09/07 up at 05.15am gone at 6.45am drove west on the black top until we found the start of the old telegraph line track at 12.20pm (you need a good day to travel this track not a good afternoon) we got to Norseman at 5.30pm and booked into the CP another good night.

Wed. up at 5.30am gone at 6.15am fuel up with diesel and food, and on our way to do the Granite and Woodlands Discovery Trail from Norseman to Hyden then back to Bruce Rock, well haft an hour in and it started to rain heavier and heavier so we turned up an OD road back to the black top and drove via Coolgardie back to BK.

All in all it was a very good trip had by all Myself Robyn and Benney.
We are now having a nice rest before another year of work (there’s something wrong with that statement)

Richard, Robyn and Benney

Sorry I forgot to mention the Neale Breakaways again unbelievable, if it was the days of flim I would have got through two rolls.

Ps also thanks Willem for the roll up table and the bush slippers they worked at treat...

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:49

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:49
G'day Richard,

good report mate, what a beautiful country we live int. I agree with your 80 kmh limit indeed.

i take off day after tomorrow for six weeks but will be just south of your jaunt.

in the bush there is no bull bleep .

kind regards,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 262134

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:54

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:54
Thanks Jeremy

Have a very good trip

This was our make or brake trip. and I think we made it, will start to plain the next one now

FollowupID: 523651

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:07

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:07
Welcome back Richard.

Sounds like you had a really good trip.Carnegie Station is still a great Icon, despite the change of ownership. I want to go out to the Deakin Obelisk one day. Have you a photo?

And no. I put the cairn of stones by the road but streamers?? That wasn't me!!

AnswerID: 262136

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:16

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:16
Alan Hi

Yes have photos but at BK only have dial up and old 686 computers ... LOL

I will see how the laptop can handle them, that's the great part about digital cameras you can just roll off heaps..

Yes someone has but pink streamers as bunting, I would have miss it otherwise, not marked on any maps yet!!!.

The Neale breakaways are masive

FollowupID: 523657

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:50

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:50

Have put a post up re. photos if you go to the end you will be able to see it

FollowupID: 523796

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:53

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:53

Have put a post up re. photos if you go to the end you will be able to see it

FollowupID: 523798

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:12

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:12
Excellent stuff Richard good to read about the tracks I'm dreaming of doing. BTW were you sleping in the Troopy or tenting? Also did you notice what the price of ULP/Opal was in the communities?

AnswerID: 262137

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:23

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:23
Duncan Hi

We sleep in the Troopy but take an Oztent with us just in case we have to make a perm. camp.

Sorry no on the price of ULP/Opal was in the communities but diesel was
Payns Fine $1.61/l
Wiluna $1.559/l
Warbuton $1.908/l
Forrest $2.25/l
Norseman $1.429/l

FollowupID: 523660

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:11

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:11
I think I'll try and dodge Forrest for fuel if I can. Thing is though I'd more than likely fill whatever tank was low just to be safe; no matter what the cost.

FollowupID: 523670

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 07:26

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 07:26
G'day Richard and Robyn and Benney

Glad to hear you had a good trip. Good report, with not too many spelling mistakes...LOL

When we visited the Neale Brakeaways there was water seeping out of the small escarpment and I drove right up to the excarpment not knowing this until the Nissan starting to make heavy weather. Did a very quick U-turn to get out of strife. Did you see the old fuel dump closeby? Not sure who left that mess out there.

Bush slippers are a must after a hard day behind the wheel.:-)

AnswerID: 262193

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 13:28

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 13:28
Yes there is still water seeping out of the Breakaway and forming a small creek, we didn't see the fuel drums but we did see them all over the place.
There where a large a amount at Waterfall Gorge.

The bush slippers worked so good I think I might get some for home.. LOL

FollowupID: 523733