Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Fraser Island and kids

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:24

aeiou

Article Overview - Fraser Island
Fraser Island has a rich Aboriginal, forestry and ecological history. Once a very remote and inaccessible sandy island the spot is now one of Australia's most popular tourist destinations. Take your own 4WD or hire one. Only accessible via ferry. View Full Article...
We are thinking to head off to Fraser Island in a few weeks with our 1 and 3 yr old boys. Will be staying at waddy point.

I was wondering about the Dingos... ?? I know we wont leave the kids alone at all, not for a second.... but are there many Dingos to worry about? Also are the flies really bad in October??

ThreadID: 50188 Replies: 7
Views: 522 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 264689   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 12:43

Member - Royce replied:

It's a decade since I've been there. I saw a little boy bitten on the bum by a dingo. Three circled me in a very menacing manner.

Should be better now. They're much more on top of the situation.

DON'T leave the kids alone. Carry a nice large walking stick....

Otherwise have a great time. I love Lake McKenzie.... so clear.

Cheers Royce
Mt Wellington Tas.... a long ago van.
Click Image to Enlarge
Royce
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 264702   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 13:29

age replied:

Waddy is partly fenced off now to keep the dogs out and things like the bins etc have been moved away from the camp grounds so as not to attract the dingos. NP&W strategy to reduce contact with the dogs is pretty good also, so adhere to their instructions they will give you with your permit. They also now make the fisherman clean their catch at designated areas away from camps etc so as there is less food for the dogs near camping areas. For your own peace of mind, be dingo wary (but not afraid) and don't leave bait containers, food scraps or fishy towels etc lying around your camp (the Ranger will probably pull you up for this as well). Teach your kids these simple rules and all should be fine - the speeding trucks and the amount of traffic with wandering children would be a greater concern I think, so keep a close eye on them as from Waddy to Orchid is a very popular fishing spot at that time of year with heaps of vehicles traversing the beach.

2 weeks ago we only come across one dingo for the whole week at Orchid

Most of all have a great time

A
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 264720   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 15:14

Member -Signman replied:

Dunno where you're from- but if it's down south take a 44gal drum of the highest SPF stuff you can get- and keep the boys lathered with it.
The 'tropical' sun if more severe.
The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 264731   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 16:07

Rod replied:

Was camped on Fraser just south of Poyungan Rocks mid August with another familly. 4 kids all up aged 3,4,6 and 8. Gave the kids the big dingo spiel and told them to stay together and in eyesight.

Did not see one dingo in 5 days despite driving from tip to tip of the island
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
V8 Hotlaps Super-Ride - Perth V8 Hotlaps Super-Ride - Perth
Perth - WA
With our V8 Super-Rides, we can provide the ultimate hot lap experience, in one of our race prepared
V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE - NSW V8 SUPER DRIVE & RIDE - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Oyster Cove Half Day Kayaking Tour Oyster Cove Half Day Kayaking Tour
Hobart - TAS
Hobart is spoilt by having some of the world's best sea kayaking at its doorstep!
Kayak Tour Full Day - Broken Bay Kayak Tour Full Day - Broken Bay
Central Coast - NSW
We head to the mouth of the mighty Hawkesbury River, then head over to West Head on Pittwater, befor
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 264757   Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 18:56

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

Read the dingo info that comes with your permit.
Teach your kids as much as you can about them.
Practice what the info pack tell you.
Listen to the rangers and follow their advice.
And as you said, don't leave the kids alone....

Apart from that you should have a ball. We have been to Fraser bout 6 times in the last 4 1/2 years and have seen about 6 in total.

March (or horse) flies are problematic over there, take a really strong repellent and try to avoid blue and black clothing, apparently they are attracted to those colours most. I must say the last time we were there, last January, it didn't seem to matter what colour I was wearing, there were marchies everywhere!!!

Hope you have a good trip.

My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 264861   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 13:22

Member - Troll 81 (QLD) replied:

we staid at Waddy Point some time ago and they have 2 camping areas there....one on the beach that get's booked out months in advanced and then a fully fenced site. We camped right on the beach and saw Dingo's everyday nearby

Click Image to Enlarge
Regards, Troll 81

Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 264927   Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:24

Member - Leigh (Vic) replied:

Over 9 days travelling around the Island in July this year only had three or four sightings. Follow the permit recommendations and you will be ok. Obviously keep the littluns in sight at all times. Enjoy!!
Half way across the Anne Beadell
Click Image to Enlarge
Illkurlka Roadhouse
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website