Next G - Harvey Norman offer

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:28
ThreadID: 50468 Views:5865 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Have to upgrade CDMA to next G - interested in their offer of a free GPS - they have two Blue tick phones available - the LG 550 & the Samsung A412 .... question is which one ? Any one got a clue for me

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:59

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:59
Unless LG have changed the way they make phones i wouldn't touch one with a barge pole. The wife and i had one each (not next g and not the 550). Both were pieces of crap.
AnswerID: 266209

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 09:25

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 09:25
Reason being "Its all in the name"

L G = LOW GRADE

As they were under their original name of Goldstar
FollowupID: 528333

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:18

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:18
For a short while they actually called themselves "Lucky Goldstar" before abbreviating it to LG

I had an LG CDMA phone years ago and it was the best CDMA phone available by far.

I'm pretty sure it was a rebadged Samsung or other, as it couldn't have been a true lucky product :)

I have no plans to ever have another lucky product till the day I die. Why? - because there are plenty of alternative brands available which I know will suit me better.....
FollowupID: 528353

Reply By: GerryP - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:16

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:16
We have the LG500 and it works well and seems pretty well made. Not sure about the Samsung, but the LG550 (like the 500) will take a direct connection to an external antenna, which may be a consideration for you.
Gerry
AnswerID: 266218

Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:25

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:25
lg550 works well for us.

What's the HN offer?

We got a free car kit wth the lg550 with Telstra ringing their 125 111. Found out you just have to ask. Don't ask and they won't offer it.
Strangely they won't do it if you ask in a Telstra shop.
AnswerID: 266219

Follow Up By: stocky - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:25

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:25
yeah coz the kits cost the T dealer a crap load of money thats why!
FollowupID: 528281

Follow Up By: lizard - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:48

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:48
H.N offer is to purchase on of these phones on $30 Telsta deal & they thrwo in a vehicle GPS , GPS choices are :-LG LN500 ; MIO C220 , Uniden ...... phone choices were the two mentioned , and I think the Nokia - but that one is not "blue tick" ... the two mentioned can get a car kit & antenna etc ... interesting your comment about free from Telstra ... hmmmm , that might change a few things !
FollowupID: 528434

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:28
Hi Lizard,

My B-I-L and sister both had the Samsung A412. They have both failed and Telsta have just upgraded them (for free) to a Nokia 6120.

After their experience, I would be wary of the Samsung, especially after the BIL comments about phone volume, menu layout etc..

AnswerID: 266235

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 09:49

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 09:49
Hi Lizard,
I went in yesterday and bought the Nokia 6120. It has bluetooth and the GPS I got for free also has it (A Uniden). I walked out with about 1400 bucks of gear for 0$.
AnswerID: 266272

Follow Up By: lizard - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:50

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:50
But the Nokia isn't the so called 'blue tick' ?
FollowupID: 528436

Follow Up By: DesF - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:51

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:51
Hi, Dont know about the Nokia 6120 not having a "Blue Tick"
but my mates both have them, (one got his from Harvey Norman last month in Adelaide and got $200.00 cash in hand , with no strings attached). and it works well here in the Flinders ( we do a lot of trail riding away from the towns and it seems to be as good as his CDMA was) & the other mate works at Roxby and the coverage between here and there on the road is as good as his Nokia CDMA was.
I am going down to get mine next week and get a GPS as advertised,
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 528447

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:48

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:48
Hi DesF,
Yes I am happy with the deal I got. I can get the bluetooth connection from the phone to the GPS but everytime I try to make a call with the GPS bluetooth it disconnects. Please let me know how you go. I've played with it for 2 days now but no joy. I must be doing something wrong. Look forward to your feedback. Thanks,
'Steve
FollowupID: 528458

Follow Up By: Paul Saccani - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:52

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:52
Member - Phantom (WA) posted:
Hi DesF,
Yes I am happy with the deal I got. I can get the bluetooth connection from the phone to the GPS but everytime I try to make a call with the GPS bluetooth it disconnects. Please let me know how you go. I've played with it for 2 days now but no joy. I must be doing something wrong.

G'day Ghost-who-walks,

I don't think it is you doing something wrong. I have the same equipment, and whenever I answer the phone or attempt to make a call, the 6120 seems to reboot, and the connection is frozen.
FollowupID: 530389

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:02

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:02
Hi Paul,
I eventually spent about 2 hours on the phone to Uniden and with the assistance from Harvey Norman discovered that whilst they both have bluetooth, they are not compatible. I have sent an email and asked if it will be put on their list to do, but after a week, I haven't had a reply.
HN's tried the bluetooth with a different phone and it worked perfectly.
I eventually swapped the Uniden with my daughter's Mio C520 and it connected immediatley and I made a call. However, I have not been able to do it again. I guess the phone is so new that the GPS people haven't done their bit to match it up.
FollowupID: 530390

Follow Up By: Dickson - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:55

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:55
I bought the Nokia 6120 classic and the Uniden 8365 GPS, I had the disconnecting problem at the beginning. Now they both work together perfectly, I can even use voice dial. The reason for the problem at the beginning is that when I did the paring, I use any pin code. If you read the instruction carefully, the default pin code for paring the GPS to the phone is "0000"and the default pin code for pairing the phone to the GPS is "000".

After I repaired them with the default pin code, now they work perfectly. Every time when I start the engine, the GPS will turn on and connected to my phone straight away and never have disconnecting problem any more.
FollowupID: 535099

Reply By: Scrubcat - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:33

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:33
G`day Lizard,
I was looking for info for these phones last night and found heaps of it on Google " samsung A412 & 411" then the same for LG.
Lots of Forum info on the "Whirlpool" link.
Cheers ,
Scrubcat.
AnswerID: 266302

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:00

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:00
Agreed that is is all very confusing for the average punter. Tel$tra prefer to focus on all the flashy crap in the advertising for NextG.

We have now got one of the LG550 and so far it has been great though we have not had a chance to get out of town to compare it's reception with the Motorola V6 (also on NextG). Have not left the metro area in 3 months! but we are going camping far far far away over next two weekends so will be able to see how it goes.

I scored a car kit for it in an online auction for under $100 ($329 at Tel$tra). It was actually the older kit which is made by LG themselves as opposed to the newer kit which is made by somebody else. The LG kit is still an inductive pickup for the antenna where the new one is a direct cable into a phone port.

My installer however told me (and I have since seen many posts on Whirlpool) that the newer lit is CRAP quality where the older kit is good. He says he has installed many many of those kits with virtually no problems but with the newer kits he gets lots of calls from unhappy customers.

I have no direct experience with the Samsung so cannot comment on it.

What GPS are HN offering??

Muddy
AnswerID: 266335

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:51

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:51
Hi Muddy,
The GPS is a Uniden GNS 8365.
I bought a Mio the week before and it is fantastic, but the Uniden is very similar with only minor differences. The box has a price of $529.00 on it.
FollowupID: 528460