Anon
Total
List...
Not Logged on
Camp lighting
Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:29
morto1701
Article Overview - Camping Lights
In this article we list and describe the diverse range of lights available today and the options you might consider before embarking on your camping trip.
View Full Article...
Good Evening All
Finally the wife and I are breaking the shackles with the kids grown up and the footy season over and are starting to do a lot more
camping
. We have the gear and we have a camper trailer which runs off a battery and a fluro light in the camper but we find it increasingly difficult to find reliable lighting for outside. We have tried a number of L.E.D. lights but they only work a few times despite regular charging or the lights themselves fail. Can anyone recommend a reliable lighting brand which can run of 12 volt and generator and not fail after a few uses?
Morto
Advertisement
Suppress Advertisement - Members Only
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 266349 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:41
Jimbo Vic
replied: Arlec 12 volt fluoro. $50. Brighter than a Versa Lite, same current draw at half the price.
I've had one for three years and it has performed impeccably.
Click Image to Enlarge
Quality is not always expensive
Member:
My Profile
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 528455 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:45
morto1701 posted:
Thanks Jimbo Vic
Have a good night
FollowUp 1 of 10
FollowupID: 528457 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:48
Jimbo Vic posted:
Forgot to mention, get them at Super Cheap.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 2 of 10
FollowupID: 528467 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:10
Member - Mark H (VIC) posted:
I also have the Arlec, great light but no on/off switch.
Mark.
Click Image to Enlarge
Action speaks louder than words
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 3 of 10
FollowupID: 528468 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:14
...and as mentioned below, I asked a similar question just a week or so ago, post 50187. Heaps of views and responses.Always good to do a search first.
cheers,
Mark.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 4 of 10
FollowupID: 528469 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:14
Jimbo Vic posted:
Fair call Mark,
I bought an in line switch from Middy's for about $8 and wired it in with a pocket knife over a beer.
Still worked out way cheaper than a Versa, and brighter for the same power usage.
ATB,
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 5 of 10
FollowupID: 528470 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:14
...and as mentioned below, I asked a similar question just a week or so ago, post 50187. Heaps of views and responses.Always good to do a search first.
cheers,
Mark.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 6 of 10
FollowupID: 528471 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:16
OK I don't know what i did then! Sorry about the double.
Mark.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 7 of 10
FollowupID: 528514 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 09:08
Mick posted:
BUT the Versalite is Australian made. I use a Versalite - have done for years but I know supporting local industry takes a second place to price for many people as can be seen by the earlier responses.
FollowUp 8 of 10
FollowupID: 528529 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:26
Jimbo Vic posted:
You mean assembled in
Australia
from imported components.
Don't get me wrong, I am an Australian Manufacturer, employing Australians, but a lot of the materials I use too, are imported.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 9 of 10
FollowupID: 528553 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:16
The Aussie made argument is seperate to this post. I like to buy good gear for good prices. I drive a Japanese Toyota Prado because the Australian Ford Territory doesn't meet my needs, the missus drives a Australian made Commodore...I own an Aussie made
Evakool
Fridge/Freezer but the house
fridge
probably comes from Taiwan!
Do you always buy Australian Mick? What vehicle do you drive? I like to buy Australian when I can but it doesn't always work that way.
Mark.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 10 of 10
AnswerID: 266350 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:41
Member - Olcoolone (S.A)
replied: We use 12 volt Versalight fluros in and around our camper trailer, the 11 watt ones draw about .9 amps per hour and put out heaps of light.
Best bang for your bucks.
Never had a problem and are heaps better then LED's
Regards Richard
Click Image to Enlarge
I just got lost in thought............. It was unfamiliar territory
Member:
My Profile
Reply 2 of 11
FollowupID: 528456 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 20:47
morto1701 posted:
Thanks Olcoolone (S.A.)
Morto
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 266359 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:07
Kumunara (NT)
replied: Morto
I know you are asking about electric lighting but I can suggest a better alternative. I use a coleman dual fuel lantern outside and a fluro light in the camper. The lntern is a lot brighter than a fluro.
I also have a dual fuel stove in the camper rather than gas. They are a lot safer then gas.
Click Image to Enlarge
Life's great and it just keeps getting better
Member:
My Profile
Reply 3 of 11
FollowupID: 528482 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:51
Jimbo Vic posted:
We go
camping
with a family who has one of these. Absolutely brilliant.
Possibly not as convenient as a 12 volt fluoro, but they certainly provide a bright light.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 266360 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 21:07
Ianw
replied: Please look at threads 47725 and 50187 so we don't have to type it all in again.
Reply 4 of 11
AnswerID: 266371 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 22:54
Gronk
replied: Depends what sort of light you want, but we have been using a Jaycar led strip light for the last 2 1/2 yrs with a hella type plug and while it doesn't punch out heaps of light, its enough to eat, washup and cheap enough on power to leave on for hours..
Maybe its me, but after eating, its over to the fire and relax, so heaps of light has never been an issue ??
Reply 5 of 11
FollowupID: 528526 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:00
Geoff M (QLD) posted:
Have had exactly the same set up (x2) for a couple of years now and couldn't be happier. Also, the lack of bugs attracted to the LED's is a real plus, especially for the one that hangs over the kitchen.
Click Image to Enlarge
It's not the destination .... it's the journey.
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 266373 Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 23:01
Bob of KAOS
replied: LED headlights for all. Bright light just where its needed without light or noise pollution.
Leave generator at home.
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 266380 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 08:54
MEMBER - Darian (SA)
replied: I think there is a lot of merit in adopting a new 'view' on camp lighting. We have given away wide area lighting pretty much - uses power and attracts insects. We use quality LED headlamps so you always have some useful light in front of you. There is always a torch handy and if we need a lot of light, we can turn on the versalite fluoro for a short time. We must look like a couple of glowworms at times - I'm still a bit suprised at how much lighting we did use in the past.
Click Image to Enlarge
When I'm too old to travel the outback, I reckon I'll have everything just right ! The "house" ? - Main street, Windorah.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 7 of 11
AnswerID: 266396 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:07
Member - Duncan W (WA)
replied: We use 3 types of lights when
camping
fluro style whether 12v or battery, LED and gas lights.
I've found that the fluros attract bugs like you wouldn't believe. The LED light attracted bees at night from a bee hive we hadn't realised we'd camped under. The LED gives of similar light to sunlight so the bees thought it was daytime again.
The gas lights tend to get broken mantles and are bulky and reasonably expensive to run (compared with free 12v from the car), but do not attract anywhere near as many bugs.
As to what sort of fluro light to get - whatever you can afford. The above suggestions are a good starting point definately ones with an inline switch are better.
Click Image to Enlarge
Member:
My Profile
My Blog
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 266401 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:52
TerraFirma
replied: I've never had a problem with my LED lights so I must say you must have had a bad run , by another type. The Rechargeable 60 LED types with the hook and magnets work well for me. I also have a 12v fluro which works well but is big and needs to be hung somewhere.
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 266404 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:18
Member - Kim M (VIC)
replied:
Morto
This may sound a bit strange, but I get by with a little 12v engine inspection light that came standard with a SWB Toyota purchased new back in the 80's. After all these years, I've only had to replace the globe once.
If I'm using the genny, then the larger 240v inspection light comes out with a 100w globe.
Both lights have a protective cage around them, which is probably the reason I don't have problems with globes.
Kim
Click Image to Enlarge
A dog will quickly turn you into a fool, but who cares? I'm a fool for my dog and proud of it."
Member:
My Profile
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 266435 Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:12
sparkyray
replied: I have tried many different lighting options. First there was a gas light. This lasted 1 trip and the mantle busted on the first dirt road. Then there was battery types. Useless and expensive for batteries. Then I tried the PL11 type fluoros. Great. The versalites are these types, as are the arlec. I have both brands. Lanson make one as well. (this one is sporting numerous brands).
I also tried a unit made in WA. The WA one was $20 and one lasted a month and the electronics gave up. The other still works. I have 2 arlecs. One still works, the other failed at 2 years. I have 2 versalites both still going strong after about 8 years. The versalite company makes industrial lighting and is reflected in their quality. (and price) I ended up getting versalite for $80.
And yes you are right, my camper is lit up like a Xmas tree.
Reply 11 of 11
New/Updated
West Australian Map Book $9.95
Wildflower Country $9.95
Nissan Patrol GU Rear Door Bracket Extension $26.95
SPOT Satellite Messenger $249.00
Navy/White Racer Polo Shirt - TMTE $37.00
Mens Navy/White Polo Shirt - TMTE $31.95
Ladies Navy/White Polo Shirt - TMTE $31.95
Khaki Polo Shirt - TMTE $24.95
Fast Find
Shop Home Page