Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Melbourne to Bateman's Bay

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 06:29

Member - Magic (VIC)

We're travelling to Bateman's Bay from Melbourne and were wondering if it was quicker to go the coast road or the Hume?
I know the coast road is shorter, but is it quicker?
Any thoughts?

Click Image to Enlarge
Because we can..........
ThreadID: 51144 Replies: 9
Views: 460 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 269460   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 06:53

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Mate from some place up on the hill behind Mogo when he comes down just goes the coast road.
Reply 1 of 9
AnswerID: 269467   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 07:07

Bega Photographer replied:

The other week we traveled home from Melbourne to bega. Departed from Diamond Creek, which is out past Greensborough.

Couldn't face struggling with the traffic and finding the way along Springvale Road and along whatever freeway it is.

Went along the Western Ringroad (?) and turned into the Hume Freeway. Next turn was to Tumut and I know the way from there. Great drive over the mountains.

Took about two hours longer that the Princes Highway, but that's two hours it didn't take off my life. Just a country lad, you know.

I would think that by the time you get level with Batemans Bay, the Hume Highway would be a bit closer to the coast.

I think you go down the Clyde Mountain.

Laurie.
Reply 2 of 9
AnswerID: 269486   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 08:30

Laura aka diver 1 replied:

Id be going the Hume and then cutting across...some people think you need to go to Gouldburn and come down through Kangaroo valley into Nowra and then the our and half trip to the Bay.....

Definetly quicker going Hume...

Laura
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
'Why be difficult when with a little extra effort you can be bloody impossible'
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 269510   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 10:17

jdbb replied:

I drove Melbourne to B/Bay via the Hume on Monday. Took the shortcut from Murrambateman to Bungendore. 7hrs 50min from the centre of Melbourne to the Bay bridge. Averaged about 98kph - don't think I got booked - time will tell. Once you get up the Clyde you can rattle along at 100 and 110 most of the way with little chance of getting stuck in traffic.

I did the same trip earlier in the year down the coast. I'm sure it took more like 9 or 10 hours that way. The road is a bit of a goat track until you get well into Vic.
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour
Hobart - TAS
A "must do" whilst in Hobart.
Winery paddle for 10 People Winery paddle for 10 People
Goulburn Murray Waters - VIC
What could be better than drifting down a swift moving river, stopping for lunch and a wine tasting,
Phillip Island Penguin Parade day tour Phillip Island Penguin Parade day tour
Melbourne - VIC
Our tour to the Phillip Island Penguin Parade includes a guided tour of the amazing Australian Garde
Classic Sailing & Tall Ships in the Whitsundays Classic Sailing & Tall Ships in the Whitsunda
The Whitsundays - QLD
Whitsundays Sailing Adventures offers classic sailing vessels and Tall ships for a sensational value
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 269511   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 10:17

Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) replied:

We do this trip regularly when taking the Ultimate over. We go the coast road but have a couple of short cuts. First is to go through Maffra - turn off just out of Traralgon. The second is to go via Bruthen after leaving Bairnesdale. This keeps you on quieter roads.

There are some great spots to break the journey or camp if you need to.

New GU IV
Click Image to Enlarge
Kimberley in 2009
VKS Mobile 1906
Reply 5 of 9
AnswerID: 269512   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 10:20

Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) replied:

They both take about the same time. If you go the coast then go via Maffra and Bruthen.

New GU IV
Click Image to Enlarge
Kimberley in 2009
VKS Mobile 1906
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 269513   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 10:22

Member - Duncs replied:

I just did the Where Is search for the trip.

It initially said going via the coast would take about 8hrs 30min.

I then asked it to calculate the route via Albury and it takes you up the Hume to the Barton Highway then through Canberra and down into Batemans total time of 8hrs 47min.

I reckon there is nothing in it, although this could vary depending on where in Melbourne you are starting from, time of day and traffic.

Go the way you would rather drive.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 269514   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 10:29

Bruce M replied:

Magic

My MapSpurce GPS software gives the following distances and times between the old Melbourne GPO @ Collins & Elizabeth Sts and the southern end of the Bateman's Bay bridge over the Clyde River:

via the Princes Highway, 760km, 8hrs 22 min, and
via the Hume Highway and Canberra, 796km, 8 hrs 18 min.

The answer to your question would appear to be that the Hume route is 36km longer, but marginally quicker - and I would expect more delays through the various settlements on the Princes Highway.

Hope that helps

Bruce M
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 269563   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 16:08

Member - Shane D (QLD) replied:

I used to live at Moruya, which is 30KM south of the Bay and regulary travelled to Melbourne visiting relos and found the only time difference was relative to where you where going to in Melbourne, That is to say if i was aiming for, say, Dandenong I'd go the coast.
Sometimes there would be traffic issues on the coast road, but not as bad as some treks down the Clyde (from Canberra).
If you cannot decide which way to go, Do both, one up the other down.
Shane
Northern rivers sunrise (NSW)
Click Image to Enlarge
If we are here to help others, what are the others doing?
Reply 9 of 9

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website