Anon
Total
List...
Not Logged on
Cargo Drawers Feedback
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:40
senk
Article Overview - Cargo Drawers
This Article looks at gearing up for a 4WD camping trip and the need to find a sturdy, compact storage solution that won't rattle, break or allow loose items to fly around the cabin. We look at cargo drawers and list the features you should look for.
View Full Article...
I am interested in building one. Where can I source some drawer slides that would be suitable. I live in Adelaide
Advertisement
Suppress Advertisement - Members Only
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 270077 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:57
Louie the fly
replied: I buy gear at work from a few suppliers that will probably have them. One new supplier is UES, and they seem pretty good to deal with. They all carry a range of components like handles, hinges, Drop T Lock and so on. I can have a look in the dogalogue tomorrow & let you know. MM me so I've got your details.
Click Image to Enlarge
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 533197 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:22
Louie the fly posted:
I looked in the UES cat today and rang them. They have slides from 250mm long & 45Kg at $10 a pair + GST to 277Kg and 1524mm long.
I have a few pages from their catalogue if you want them (.jpg) or look at their website at WWW.uesint.com
They also have lots of other gear.
Good luck.
Click Image to Enlarge
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 533242 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:19
senk posted:
Thanks people. That was great. Now I can get on with the construction.
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 270078 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:02
Mal and Di
replied: Make sure you put the
fridge
slide on the "correct side". We bought a Prado recently with pre-fitted slides etc but the
fridge
is on the side of the tailgate hinge which meant with the van on there was not enough room to open tailgate enough to gain good access.
M.
Reply 2 of 11
AnswerID: 270079 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:09
stocky
replied: hardware.net.au
they have some some good cheap & HD units
My first design used Hettich - gold plated platinum ball bearings or some thing - well for the price they must have been! LOL
I'll have to take some photos of my design and post em somewhere.....
Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 270081 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:12
Member - Phil G (SA)
replied: Galvins Hardware, Murray St Thebarton have any slide you want. I prefer the Hettich or Hafele slides because they have a double throw and come out full length. 45 or 60kg capacity is usually strong enough, and is what I use. I've used the 600mm length Hettich slides for drawers up to 900mm long.
Not sure what slides that UES (Regency Park) have, but they do stock heaps of good stuff.
Theres another guy who's on Ebay, who is in Adelaide, and I can't remember his name, but he stocks all the good slides too.
Click Image to Enlarge
79series
Member:
My Profile
Reply 4 of 11
FollowupID: 533091 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:05
stocky posted:
Elraco is the one on ebay - hardware.net.au
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 533094 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:44
Member No 1 posted:
dont get the ones with the nlyon tyre on the bearing....they crack and then the slide rattles even louder.....Galvin has both ...cant remember if the ones with nylon are Hettich or Hafele...but anyway get the ones without
Click Image to Enlarge
"Dad why are wedding dresses white?"
The father looks at his son in surprise and
says, "Son, all household appliances come in white."
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 270095 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:50
Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg
replied: Go to ebay and do an advanced search for a seller called renn38 or try this link
Site Link
We have bought Hettich slides from him a couple of times and have been very happy with quality of item and speed of delivery. No affiliation just reporting good service.
The slides we bought were:
610 mm long x 50mm high x 12.7mm wide.
Extends out 640mm in 2 stages to 1250mm.
60 Kg loading per pair
Cost $85.00 for two pairs or $50.00 for one pair - free delivery.
Mrs Wilgadene
I think I'm freaking out!
Member:
My Profile
Reply 5 of 11
AnswerID: 270096 Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:51
Member - Robin M (VIC)
replied: Hello Senk,
This post is not directly answering your question, but I am keen to point out an alternative to spending money on expensive fittings. I built a set of wooden drawers which can be quickly installed and removed in order that the full load space of my Hilux twin cab ute is available when I'm not touring about.
The
cargo drawers
are shallow - 90mm high - and run almost the full length of the Hilux tub. They accommodate the tent poles, snatch straps, flouro light, spade, bottle of red wine etc, in fact any flat-type object in common use when
camping
The drawers slide back and forth within two longitudinally-mounted weight-bearing pontoons whose rails fit into the flutes of the tub. At the front, these pontoons are secured to a wooden cross member which runs across the tub and is screwed down ahead of each wheel arch with a turnbuckle connected to the Hilux's cargo tie-down points. The drawers actually slide on the floor of the tub. They don't require any fixtures - slides or catches; they are secured inside (under) the pontoons and travel between the side rails, a bearer across the front and the tailgate of the tub. The rear of each pontoon is secured to the tub with bracket and self-tapping screws.
Each pontoon has a recessed space at the front ie: between the rails - where I can tie down two jerry cans for a total of four to be carried inside the tub. Sadly, the Hilux has too small a fuel capacity for seriously-long offroad adventures.!
The bottom of each drawer - inside and out - is covered in automotive carpet. The top surface of each pontoon and the bottom of each side rail is covered in carpet to preserve appearance and the paint work of the ute.
The LHS pontoon carries a
fridge
atop a
fridge
slide, with space at the front for a storage box to be strapped down. The RHS pontoon is fitted out to carry a roller-type clear plastic box which usually carries food. The food box can be wheeled out over the tailgate (and further) when the RHS drawer is extended and covered with a flat board. The covered drawer can also act as a table. However, I often set up a gas stove on it as the tailgate in very handy as a preparation table. Each storage box is kept in place with a strap secured to strategically-placed eye bolts down the side of each pontoon.
You may wonder why I didn't buy a commercial set up ? I chose not to spend a couple of thousand dollars on a permanent installation. My handiwork cost about $450, which includes the cost of the
fridge
slide. I wanted a set up that could be easily installed and removed and one that was light in weight. I wanted the
fridge
at a height whereby my wife and I could easily see inside and access the contents. I wanted a set up where most heavy things could be strapped down.
For the price of an e-mail address, I will happily send you a picture.
Netnut
Click Image to Enlarge
The Hilux is paid for, but the diesel is on higher purchase !
Member:
My Profile
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 270115 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 05:27
Brew69(SA)
replied: I used Hettich too. Can't remember the name of the place i got them. It was Wingfield way. Pretty sure i got a suppliers list off the Hettich website. Mine are rated to 80kgs i think and slide out 850mm.
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 7 of 11
FollowupID: 533195 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:16
bob posted:
Brew. Do you mean Halliday Hardware at Regency Park? They are cabinet hardware specialists. p242 of Adelaide white pages.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 533196 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:20
Brew69(SA) posted:
Yes thats the place.
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 270116 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:08
Member - andrew B (Kununurra)
replied: Hi senk
I used haffle runners 1.0m long and 0.9 m long. got them through ebayfor around the $100 mark each set, which was good at the time. Be sure to check Jimbo's (member on here) units he sells, as I think they come for about the same price as the materials do (In my case), and the work is done for you...
Cheers Andrew
Click Image to Enlarge
Daddy/Daughter Camping trip - cape dommett
Member:
My Profile
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 270117 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:17
Member - Sam (NSW)
replied: A mate and I used
Hafele
slides when making his
fridge
slide. Worked a treat.
I love a sunburnt country......
Member:
My Profile
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 270257 Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:23
senk
replied: Thanks people, that is exactly the info I need and your responses were greatly appreciated. Maybe see you
on the road
. Just look for an overloaded re rodeo ute with caravan. senk
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 270283 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 06:46
Andrew Kilby (QLD)
replied: if you take a look at my members page (Andrew Kilby (QLD)) you can see what I did. We are 10 months through a 12 month trip around oz and no problem.
Click Image to Enlarge
Sucessful people make bold decisions.
www.kilbytrip.bigblog.com.au
Member:
My Profile
Reply 11 of 11
New/Updated
West Australian Map Book $9.95
Wildflower Country $9.95
Nissan Patrol GU Rear Door Bracket Extension $26.95
SPOT Satellite Messenger $249.00
Navy/White Racer Polo Shirt - TMTE $37.00