Anon
Total
List...
Not Logged on
electronis rust prevention
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 19:50
Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124
Article Overview - Vehicle Care
This article outlines options for prolonging the life and looks of your vehicle - especially one that is used for outback travelling where it is subjected to temperature extremes, excessive dust, dirt, mud and even salt water.
View Full Article...
Has anybody fitted a
couplertec
rust
prevention system?
Which is the brand to buy?
Reiner
Click Image to Enlarge
Never trade the thrills of living for the security of existence
Member:
My Profile
Advertisement
Suppress Advertisement - Members Only
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 272816 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:14
PradOz
replied: this is a bit like asking whether to vote liberal or labour. everyone will have an opinion and some of those people may just happen to even have experience with these systems too.
you wont go wrong with the correct
couplertec
system for your vehicle. you could go wrong with an alternate type of system though.
i have
couplertec
and i have no problems with
rust
etc even on stone chips etc and even after all the beach driving i have done in NSW and QLD. my paint on my 1999 prado is beautiful and i always get people asking why my paint always looks so good - even with a black car that could do with a wash it looks good, and it even keeps the chromework shinier. i know quite a few people with the
couplertec
systems and they are all happy with them.
my mate works at the oil refinery where the environment is highly corrosive. they have had these systems in the past and they have proven themselves there to work. google your enquiry and spens a bit of time doing some homework. remember some systems are designed more for installations which remain in contact with the water. they are not difficult to fit either. good luck
Reply 1 of 9
AnswerID: 272822 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:21
Member - Kiwi Kia
replied: Snake oil when used on a motor vehicle I reckon.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 2 of 9
AnswerID: 272823 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 20:26
On Patrol (Aust.)
replied: Reiner G
Have a look at this thread 43334 it tells the whole story and some.
Colin
Click Image to Enlarge
Pobodys Nerfect
Member:
My Profile
My Blog
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 272838 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:01
Member - Jiarna (NT)
replied: Hi Reiner
It's great if you want to use your vehicle as an artificial reef (works on jetties, etc), otherwise I wouldn't bother. Just my opinion, based on experience.
Click Image to Enlarge
Toyota it!!
LC 80 series GXL diesel 1992
The person who says something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 4 of 9
AnswerID: 272839 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:12
Member - Kevin J (QLD)
replied: Hi Reiner
Live and work in a coastal area with the usual problems associated with salt spray. Had 10 work cars over 24 years and everyone of them had
rust
in all the usual
places
Fitted
couplertec
to the next three since 1998 and have had nil - nothing - zero
rust
even on the stone chips.
Snake oil or smoke and mirrors I would not now have a vehicle without one.
My opinion for what it is worth.
Kevin J
Member:
My Profile
Reply 5 of 9
AnswerID: 272864 Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:22
F4Phantom
replied: I think this is the only system on the market which is not a fake. The other systems do not act like the coupler tec system, they try to run a circuit over the car but have no electrolyte so no citcuit is actually formed (this is what the boat systems and bridge systems sue but the boat has the salt water where cars dont have this), this system uses the paint of the car and two metal surfaces to form a capacitor. I had never heard of this system and now I am probably going to get one! The logic is sound according to chemistry.
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 272890 Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:41
downtools
replied: G'day Reiner G,
I fitted a heavy duty
couplertec
system to our Patrol 12 months ago.
One of the bolts in the Kaymar rear bar that was supposed to be cad plated is just mild steel, no coating. This bolt already had the early signs of
rust
. I left the bolt there when I fitted the
Couplertec
to see what would would happen. Without any further protection, fishoil or anything the bolts surface has dulled to a dark brown with NO signs of
rust
. We camp and fish on the beach a few times a year so I'm happy and convinced the system works. (No affiliation just happy camper)
Cheers Nifty
Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 536207 Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:51
Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 posted:
Thanks Nifty and all the others for replies. I done a lot of reading on the net and decided to get the
couplertec
system. To be honest I wasn't a great believer but I changed my mind . We go to the beach about 4 times a year and the car needs all the protection available. I will fish-oil it as well and keep it clean. My HJ47 was over 20 years old and didn't have much
rust
. Looking after the cars does pay in the long run.
Reiner
Click Image to Enlarge
Never trade the thrills of living for the security of existence
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 272902 Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:42
Member - Kiwi Kia
replied: I thought this system would be 'snake oil'. I have now read there web site and am now convinced that it is indeed snake oil !
I would be interested in Mr Hardings view :-))
Member:
My Profile
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 272947 Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 14:08
Member - Hanker (NSW)
replied: Kiwi Kia is a real profit of doom must have had a bad system fitted to his vehicle to know all the bad things of the said product.
Member:
My Profile
Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 536678 Submitted: Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 16:18
Member - Kiwi Kia posted:
No, just a bit familiar with electronics and chemistry
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
New/Updated
Navy/White Racer Polo Shirt - TMTE $37.00
Mens Navy/White Polo Shirt - TMTE $31.95