Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

mileage from goodyear wrangler tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:16

Brian B (Mackay Qld)

How many kms should i expect to get from my set of 31 inch goodyear wrangler ATR tyres on my cruiser ute with 90% of kms being on road?
Advertisement
ThreadID: 52159 Replies: 5
Views: 1877 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 274582   Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 19:36

Member - Bruce and Anne replied:

Hi Brian, I got 60Ks out of them on my Isuzu MU which weighs 1700Kgs and about 90% bt as well, had them changed around and balanced as per warranty and thought I should have got more.

Cheers Bruce.

Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers Bruce
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 538283   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:48

Brian B (Mackay Qld) posted:

i got my set in march 2007, done 21,000 and one rotation since. They look like they are 50/60% tread remaining. i used to have tool boxes, but now tow a trailer instead. 90% normal driving conditions.
i estimate to get at least 40,000, which sounds at lot less.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 274583   Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 19:41

QLD Kev & Darkie replied:

I got 45K out of my set and it was mostly on road kms. I prefer the BFG's over the Wranglers just for the mileage I have gotten out of them (approx 70K)

cheers Kev
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 274600   Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:14

Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) replied:

There a performance tyre not a road tyre Although they do pretty damn well on the road.
This was evident to me on the powerlines watching a TD cruiser in front of me with 3 inch lift and patrol with 265 both running BFG taking many gosto get up the fencline part.
After I got up 1stgo with 235s and no lift they asked if I had lockers.
If its for on road ty thBFG or the GY Silent armour
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 274669   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:43

Smudger replied:

I think Wrangler ATR's changed their tread pattern about a year back. I put a new set on in 05, we did a few trips, including the Barclay Hwy, up to Darwin, across the top and down the coast to Sydney. Plus a fair few weekends away in the Blue Mountains and other off-road caming spots. No problems on the rough stuff, then between 20-30km's had 3 blow-outs on the highway within a year. 80% of my driving is on the hard, so I finally gave up on them and run Nankangs now. Tyre guy told me he saw others with similar results, but GY wouldn't talk warranty because the tyres were shredded - because the blowouts all happened at 100kph+.
But like I said, they've changed the tread pattern since then.
NB: I check pressures often on trips with my own gauge and run recommended pressures.
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Palm Valley Tour Palm Valley Tour
Alice Springs and Central Australia - NT
Follow Larapinta Drive into the Aboriginal homelands of the Arrernte people and into real outback ad
Helicopter Flight and Deserted Island Picnic Helicopter Flight and Deserted Island Picnic
The Whitsundays - QLD
Castaway on a romantic adventure in the Whitsundays!
Sydney Sights with the Works Sydney Sights with the Works
Sydney - NSW
Combine our Morning Northern Beaches and Manly Tour with our Afternoon Downtown Sydney, Bondi and Ki
Rapid Bay Caves and Cliffs Kayaking Adventure Rapid Bay Caves and Cliffs Kayaking Adventure
Fleurieu Peninsula - SA
Come try sea kayaking this summer. It's safe, adventurous and fun!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 274687   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 17:25

Harry replied:

G'day,
I have done 80,000 on my MTR's without a hitch.
Rotate @ 10,000 intervals.
I have just retired them with 6mm left.
The vehicle is a 78series Troopy.
Only 1 guess to name what I replaced them with.
Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 538316   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 18:18

Member -Signman posted:

Coopers???
Second guess...BFGs...???

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 538328   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 20:07

Muddy doe (SA) posted:

Yes, MTRs now have about 30,000km on them and looking good. Not a mark on them and at around three quarters of the original tread.

Rotated every 5,000km and pressures monitored/adjusted for conditions.

Muddy

Click Image to Enlarge
Playdoe GXL TD Manual with lots of MUD
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 538329   Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 20:07

Muddy doe (SA) posted:

Yes, MTRs now have about 30,000km on them and looking good. Not a mark on them and at around three quarters of the original tread.

Rotated every 5,000km and pressures monitored/adjusted for conditions.

Muddy

Click Image to Enlarge
Playdoe GXL TD Manual with lots of MUD
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 538469   Submitted: Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:09

Harry posted:

Come on Signman, give us a break, Coopers :>(((
U go to the bottom of the class for that :>))
FollowUp 4 of 4

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions