Mid North Coast of NSW

Submitted: Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:42
ThreadID: 52627 Views:2661 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
How many members/visitors of this site actually live in or near the Mid North Coast of NSW.

This region begins at Seal Rocks, 275 km north of Sydney, and extending as far north as Woolgoolga, 562 km north of Sydney.

The reason I ask is that it is pretty obvious that members/visitors from other areas have taken the time to get to know each other and can call on each other for assistance from time to time or just call in for a friendly chat or cuppa and I think it would be good for some of us get to know each other also.

I was thinking that sometime in the New Year (read, sometime after school holidays) that maybe we should call a members gathering at a coastal camping area that is central to the region. Obviously members/visitors who live outside this region are welcome to attend, but at this stage I am just trying to get an idea of who is interested, so if you could reply with a brief idea of your locality, we will see how far this goes if you are interested.

Cruiser

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:45

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:45
Hi Cruiser.
I live at Tweed Heads, no problem driving down to Woolgoolga.
Regards.
Vince
AnswerID: 277093

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:59

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:59
Vince,

This stretch of the coast runs for approx 280k, and to have it somewhere central to the region means meeting around the Kempsey area, however, there isnt a real lot to offer by way of a NP campsite on the coast, and even if there was, the way the fees have increased 100% in November, I doubt to many of us could afford the fees.

Maybe a caravan park somewhere, or as an idea, the Pub with No Beer at Taylors Arm would do. They have a micro brewery there and I believe it is possible to camp opposite around the sports field.

If anyone wanted to do some 4WDing from there there is heaps of places, or we could just sit around (or go to the brewery) and get to know each other as indicated in the original post.

Cruise
FollowupID: 540969

Follow Up By: wigger - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:29

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:29
Vince, if they are meeting at Kempsey, which is a lot further to drive than Woolgoolga esp with holiday traffic, would you be interested in something say near Brunswick Heads for those in the Northern rivers area Ther's also great camping in behind Mullumbimby
FollowupID: 540984

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:17

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:17
Hi Wigger.
Anywhere (after the tourists have gone!!).
We are heading to Cangai(west of Grafton) on boxing day. A great spot on the Mann river & it free to camp there.
There are quite a few members in SE Qld & a gathering should attract quite a few members/visitors.
Vince
FollowupID: 541000

Reply By: didiaust - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 18:38
We live in Lake Macquarie and date permitting would love to meet a few of the great subscribers.

Will retire on the mid north coast in a couple of years

Just bought the retirement cottage in Macksville

Will watch for further posts re this possible meet
AnswerID: 277100

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 18:56
I am now at Woolgoolga, there is the gathering organised at West Kunderang next month, which is close enough for most to attend.

AnswerID: 277101

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:52

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:52
Kev,

I am aware there is a meeting at West Kunderang on 18th Jan, but I am talking sometime after that (outside school holidays).

Besides, West Kunderang isn't all that accessible ( I have been there and would NOT take a van in unless it was a dedicated off road van) for a lot of people, but is for others, and is also restricted by the owners as to the numbers there at any one time and assuch will be almost fully booked by now.

West Kunderang in Jan this will be a very popular venue so this intended get together is possibly an alternative for those with bigger vans or who dont want to, or can't make West Kunderang.

The purpose of the original post is to guage an initial interest, so I will let it ride at the moment and see what happens.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 540992

Reply By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:17

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:17
I am in Coffs Harbour and would enjoy a get together at some time. The problem is that I work overseas on a 6 week on and 6 week off shedule. I have just started my six weeks on.
Graeme
AnswerID: 277104

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:22

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:22
Cruiser,
I'm in South West Rocks,I think a meeting on the Mid North Coast is a great idea. Keep us posted when you work out when & where,
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 277125

Reply By: Member - Mal W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:50

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:50
Cruiser,

We could be interested. Live at Lake Macquarie. Usually head to Myall Lakes soon as school hols are over but could go further north after that. We have options to sleep in a tent, caravan or boat. I reckon you have to nominate a place and time and see what happens. No point in trying to get an "agreement"

Mal
AnswerID: 277128

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:57

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:57
At Telegraph Point just 500mts from the Pacific HWY there is a spot that can be used.
Approx half way between Kempsey and Port Macquarie.

The Mountain Trail Bike club use there facilities Toilet Block / Canteen and sports ground.

From there you have access to the Cairncross State Forest for day trips.
Great outings.

You also have the Shop / Servo and a caravan park fairly well opposite if needed.

But you can camp on the sports ground right near the toilet block and canteen.

Great bush walks and mountain bike tracks.
AnswerID: 277131

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:02
Here is a link to to show the facilities.

Mountain Trail Bike Club.
FollowupID: 541014

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:05
Cairncross State Forest
FollowupID: 541017

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:13

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:13

Am well aware of the place you mention as my son is a member of the HVMTBC.

Will keep it in mind.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 541021

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:56

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:56
Some great day trips in the whole area and Wineries / new Brewery / Timbertown / Koala hospital / Beaches 4WD but need a permit / Close to major towns Wauchope / Port Macquarie / Kempsey.

Some great learning tracks for the light 4WD'ers fire Lookouts and Forests open to camping as well.

Just check with forestry first as they are going to open more forests up for licenced shooters.

Mainly for culling out feral animals.

FollowupID: 541026

Reply By: North Coast Bob - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:30

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:30
Hi Cruiser,
Live at Boambee East (near Coffs Harbour) and would be interested in a camping trip. At this stage I am not a member but a regular visitor (Yes, I know , I should join up - and I will).
Have an on-road van and an off-road camper so any area will be OK.
Even a place like Grassy Heads would be OK but probably most would like some 4WD experience.

Look forward to hearing more on this topic.

Bob Southwell
AnswerID: 277144

Follow Up By: Member - Ben E (NT) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 22:51

Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 22:51
Gday Guys,
Now that we're living down in the Hunter, we'd be pretty keen to get amongst it.
My Oldies live near Port Mac and I can vouch for that area being well worth the trip to get there.
Look forward to hearing more.
Benno
FollowupID: 541053

Reply By: Rodeo1 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 14:36

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 14:36
I would be interested, I live at Urbenville about 1hr west of Kyoglie. I have a young family that loves camping & offroading. We actually live about 4km's from Leuveka and about 20km's from Brooklyn. Great aprt of the world.

AnswerID: 277251

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 16:19

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 16:19
Some of us from Brisvegas could be interested too.
AnswerID: 277267

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 18:25

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 18:25
Ok everyone, based on the responses re a get together, here are my thoughts.

There are already 11 party's that are interested in doing something. These party's range from Newcastle to Brisbane and all seem pretty keen to do something.

I have contacted the Pub With No Beer http://www.pubwithnobeer.com.au/ and they do have camping opposite the pub and I have been advised that there is no cost to this. They also have hot showers (gold coin donation to local fire brigade) and flushing toilets.

If you look at the site, they do have a micro brewery and are willing to put on a tour for us, and they also provide some sort of entertainment on a regular basis on weekends, as well as providing pub meals etc, and to the south and west of Taylors Arm are some good 4wding for those interested.

I have been looking at my calendar and it looks like this would have to take place around early April sometime, so in the New Year I will have a better look at things and also contact the PWNB again and see what they have arranged for entertainment etc, then set a date.

Keep an eye on the Forum for more in Nwe year.

Cruiser

AnswerID: 277296

Reply By: Member - Ben E (NT) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 00:24

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 00:24
Top Choice!
We had New years up there 06/07 and had a ball even though it p!ssed-down.
Well bowled Cruiser. Look forward to any further developments.
Drop us a line if you need a hand.
Benno
AnswerID: 277568