Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Old Telegraph Track thru Callawa & Great Sandy Desert

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 12:03

Member - Mick O (VIC)

Has anyone travelled the Old Telegraph Track that heads north East off the Woodie Woodie Road, thru Cllawa station and meets the Wapet (kidsonTrack) Road near 80 Mile Beach. Would be interested in the track conditions and the type of country. Hema maps show it skirting the beginning of the dunes of the Great Sandy Desert.

Many thanks and Happy New Year to all.

Mick
Crossing the King Edward River - Kimberley WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A written note outlasts the longest memory!
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Advertisement
ThreadID: 53002 Replies: 4
Views: 511 FollowUps: 3
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 279202   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 14:43

Richard Kovac replied:

Mick

If you send me your e-mail address in members message

I have a copy of EO's old Trek notes I can send you, It's alright I payed for them, you will see my name in them top right corner

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 279217   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:23

Footloose replied:

We crossed it while doing the Kidson in 06. From what I saw it crossed around 100K east of the highway. I'd expect lots of sand, rocks and thick scrub. Not an area that I'd like to explore much further without backup.
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 543376   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:50

Member - Mick O (VIC) posted:

Thanks Footy,

just doing a bit of research of possible routes for this years trip. Will be two well equiped vehicles.

Cheers and happy new year

Mick
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 543377   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:56

Footloose posted:

Good luck with it mate, some of that country seemed pretty hemmed in so fire would pose a hazard.
Best wishes
Footy
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 279231   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:11

Member - LOS BUSH replied:

g'day mick If would like to travel a every isolated but interesting track have a look at the one from Jigalong east to Canning Cairnon the CSR It is called the Puntawari track is not on every many maps.----Los
F250
Click Image to Enlarge
AS GOVERNMENT INCREASES LIBERTY DIMINISHES
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 543382   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:15

Member - Mick O (VIC) posted:

She's part of the Martu land claim now mate and unfortunately off limits to all but the locals. Great reccomendation tho.

Mick
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 279336   Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 12:16

Member - Chris R (NSW) replied:

Just Interest Mick - In 'MY Profile', I have added a photo of Kidson intersection and old painted sign 'Callawa - Marble Bar' Someone has roughly added "old telephone line"

Memory was fairly featureless gibber and spinifex in that area

Best of luck out there.

Koala Tapin Tops NSW
Click Image to Enlarge
Peace and smiles
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
1 Day Litchfield National Park D5 1 Day Litchfield National Park D5
Darwin and the Top End - NT
Tour with AAT Kings and visit Litchfield National Park, Florence Falls (opportunity to swim in the p
Sail Sydney Harbour- Sail Sydney Harbour-'Spirit' America's Cup Ya
Sydney - NSW
Hoist the sails, get behind the grinders and experience first hand, what it's like to sail a state-o
Limousine Presidential Experience Limousine Presidential Experience
Sydney - NSW
You and up to eight of your friends will feel like absolute royalty as you venture on a scenic 1.
Sydney Highlights Scenic Flight Sydney Highlights Scenic Flight
Sydney - NSW
Experience the unique beauty of Sydney from a luxurious seaplane.
Book Now - Things To Do