Footy, get lost!

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:00
ThreadID: 55025 Views:3276 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
Can anyone explain how to get lost? In this day and age I find it somewhat difficult.

My GPS tells me where I am and where I've been and how to get back to my camp.

My sat phone allows people to contact me so I can ask them to come and get me. (and tell them I've just broken my ankle etc...).

My HF allows me to know what other parties are in the area and what the weather is doing. It will even transmit my GPS co ordinates.

And if I break down (which strictly speaking isn't getting lost at all, is it?) I can activate my EPIRB if necessary.

It's a far cry when I had to follow my own wheel tracks in the Simpson to get back into Birdsville.

A far cry when on the Cape I had to hope like heck that I hadn't missed the main track when travelling at night in station country.

A far cry from when following a cleared line accidentally could end in being lost and bogged.

Now I've broken down a time or three.

I've been bushed more times than I care to admit, usually in the city before dashboard know it alls became all the rage, before oziexplorer and Natmaps etc..

And I've been stranded in the Gibson desert.(no sweat,enough food and drink in the fridge for a week and comms...listen to the cricket and news on the HF).

So in this day and age, how does one actually get lost?

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:03

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:03
Maybe you need to buy one of the GPS' that don't actually give you the right directions! I know they are around because that many bloody people come through work with them!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 289924

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 02:19

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 02:19
Jo
G'day ...the GPS must be Navmans or Asus.

Go see my friday funny, you'll love it/

FollowupID: 555272

Reply By: warfer69 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:04

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:04
Leave all the gear at Home !
AnswerID: 289925

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:53

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:53
I can remember a couple of trips with the family where I turned back because I wasn't properly prepared.
A couple where I didn't turn back nearly ended badly!
FollowupID: 555338

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:06

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:06
Footy,

just go to any westfield shopping station.
AnswerID: 289927

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:34

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:34
I've never needed to duck from the missus in those places by pretending to be lost :)
FollowupID: 555298

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:15

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:15
Just go into your innerself and wander around for a while. Take no notice of where your going and then try and find your way out again Have fun.
AnswerID: 289934

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:27

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:27
I've never been a fan of the wakky bakky :))
FollowupID: 555295

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:24

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:24
Never lost mate...just geographical embarrassed

AnswerID: 289936

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:37

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:37
Ahh...now there's an interesting point , exactly what does "lost" mean ? To me it means I don't have a clue where I am or how to get to where I want to be.
But I've known others who claim to be lost because they have no idea of where the closest pub is :)
FollowupID: 555301

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:36
Footy

Life is tough. If you want to get lost or bushed again, just give me a call. I'm an expert with this sort of stuff..... drive around for days trying to find the bush gate.

But I do have a compass!

Kim
AnswerID: 289937

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:51

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:51
Kim, I rekkon anyone who lives in "the village" is probably a bit lost to start with :))
I know what you mean about the gate. A map is only a map. Gates don't get moved just because a map shows it as 5k from where it actually is !
FollowupID: 555337

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 17:29

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 17:29
" Gates don't get moved just because a map shows it as 5k from where it actually is ! "
Ya reckon?...Its been known to happen....I carry a master key and wire..
FollowupID: 555381

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 02:16

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 02:16
Easy...!!! When you break down somewhere between the CSR and Giles the phone battery goes dead or you got no service, and the GPS will be of no use.....WHY , because your bloody well broke down and your not going anywhere anyhow.

AnswerID: 289959

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:26

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:26
"the phone battery goes dead "...that's what spare batteries are for.
"you got no service"..it's not a Globalstar !

"somewhere between the CSR and Giles "...well I'm not lost at all then, am I ? I'm obviously on the Gunbarrel Highway :)))))))))
FollowupID: 555293

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:36

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:36
Footloose
But.....your still not going anywhere, your car has BROKEN DOWN...LOL , you forgot to take your Epirb.

Salesmen ...let me tell you about about a TJM bloke at Rocklea, I wanted to buy an Airjack, you know the ones ,, inflated by the Exhaust, well he said they would be useless , what if your car won't start , he then said, what you need is a High lift Jack, I said to him well if the bloody car won't start why would I need to Jack it up, ...He was lost for words,

FollowupID: 555299

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:39

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:39
Yes the car won't start. But since I still know where I am, I'm not lost. :)
FollowupID: 555302

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 08:26

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 08:26
Footy.....

Easy!!

Just follow me!!!!!!!!!!

LOL......

AnswerID: 289978

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:55

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:55
Reminds me of a trip I did as a passenger. After peering out of the window I asked the driver if we were going the right way.
"Nope," he answered.
He was right! LOL
FollowupID: 555339

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 12:55

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 12:55
I don't have any trouble getting lost !!!! Cause I haven't got any of those fancy devices..

Usually only got a map ( and usually not a topo ) and a whinging missus if the track looks to be getting too hard, overgrown etc..

Satisfying sometimes to emerge out of the scrub after taking a hunch on the directions !!!!

Not so satisfying when the track peeters out and a 20 point turn is needed !!
AnswerID: 290019

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:26

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:26
So what happens when you get a branch through your radiator ? Or you hop out to answer the call of nature and step on a snake that bites you?
Or the rock is bigger than your diff ?

Under those circumstances do those "fancy devices" seem necessary?
FollowupID: 555333

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:32

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:32
I didn't say I don't want them......just haven't got them !!!!
FollowupID: 555334

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:47

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:47
Ok now THAT I can understand :))
If undertaking a seriously remote trip, I'd rent some gear. It can be a lot cheaper in the long run.
If most of your travel is in your "backyard", I'd save for a UHF CB unit.
We all get into strife, sooner or later. A 50k offroad journey can be seriously remote if you have to walk out !
FollowupID: 555336

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:39

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:39
you wanna get lost? Jump in a taxi.
AnswerID: 290027

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:58

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 13:58
You'll rarely get lost in a cab if you speak the language :)
FollowupID: 555340

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:04

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:04
But Footie, how many cabs have you been in lately where the driver spoke English?
FollowupID: 555341

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:06

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:06
Not many, but I can say a few choice words in quite a few languages :))
FollowupID: 555342

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:23

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:23
Bad boy, Footie.
FollowupID: 555343

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:28

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:28
I know who you've been talking to! He probably used the word "naughty" LOL
FollowupID: 555345

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:44

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:44
Naughty, that might have been one of the words. They should get home tonight provided trip has gone well. I didn't even take any photos - too busy yakking.
FollowupID: 555347

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:51

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 14:51
Yep, he said about Fri night/sat morning.
After discussing a certain pix that was posted on here, we came to a mutual unspoken understanding, no pix by either of us :))
FollowupID: 555349