Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Bus to Motorhome

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 10:20

Member - Noldi (WA)

has anyone had any experience in converting the registration of a bus into a private vehicle in WA.

The vehicle I'm looking at is a small 22 seat bus currently registered as a TC. I want to pull most of the seats out and privatly register it for use as a motor home.

I did email the motor registration but no answer as yet

Also are there any preferences out there for insurance for motorhomes?

Any help greatly received

Rgds

Click Image to Enlarge
Ian and Nola
Whisky 1419
Advertisement
ThreadID: 56149 Replies: 4
Views: 995 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 295942   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 10:47

Member -Signman replied:

Insurance-wise, check out the CMCA Insurance broker-
Ken Tame Insurance !!
Rego wise I dunno about WA-
a mate in the 'Sunshine State' has had heaps of probs. getting rego. for a converted tourist Coaster (4WD) Bus to a motorhome...
There's heaps of converted buses around- even 34 footers plus- so must be a way around..

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 561987   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 11:25

Member - Noldi (WA) posted:

Thanks Si, I'll go and have a look

Click Image to Enlarge
Ian and Nola
Whisky 1419
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 295947   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 12:11

Member - Rod M (NSW) replied:

G'day Ian, our vehicle was a 23 seat offroad coach, to get it to comply as a motorhome it had to have the compliance plate changed back to a 3 seat vehicle, I believe the compliance plate for the standard vehicle was left in place but the other that covered all the coach seats was removed & the vehicle issued with a new blue slip or something in that manner to prove it now only had belted seating for 3.
crossing a puddle up the Kimberly
Click Image to Enlarge
Hoo Roo Rod
it's a fine line between clever & stupid
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 561991   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 13:02

Thanks for that Rod,
I have just got off the phone with the dealer and he was saying something similar. Thats a beut rig you have there talk about all the comforts of home and a few extras by the look.
Unfortunatly the $ didn't run to a 4WD model so looks like were towing maybe a vitara or something like that.

Rgds

Click Image to Enlarge
Ian and Nola
Whisky 1419
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 562073   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 19:54

Member - David P (VIC) posted:

sponsored by SHELL, MOBIL, BP, or CALTEX ......silverback :))

Click Image to Enlarge
silverback
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 296057   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 21:54

Andrew-rodeo replied:

Here in Vic a bus is a bus (doesn't matter if it has seats or not) until you bolt a bed in. Then it is called a motorhome, and gets registered differently.
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 296067   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 22:29

Robin hood replied:

Ian,
The company I work for is an Authorised Inspection Station and does heavy vehicles registration/relicencing etc. Give Dennis Barrington a call on 9365 6333 and he will explain what you need to do.

Jason
Reply 4 of 4
FollowupID: 562288   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:04

Thanks fot that Jason, I will do

Rgds

Click Image to Enlarge
Ian and Nola
Whisky 1419
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Turtle Bay Kayak Adventure Turtle Bay Kayak Adventure
The Kimberleys - WA
Explore this special area where you have an opportunity to spot a sea turtle from your kayak.
Helicopter Scenic Beaches Joy Flight For Two Helicopter Scenic Beaches Joy Flight For Two
Perth - WA
Grab a friend and go for a helicopter joy flight along the beautiful and remote west Australian coas
Winery Operations Winery Operations
Yarra Valley / Dandenongs - VIC
Learn from a Halliday-rated, five-star winemaker (himself).
Lake to Plate -  Fly Fish, Lunch & Overnight Stay Lake to Plate - Fly Fish, Lunch & Overnight
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Enjoy the thrill of learning to fly fish for trout with your own private guide!
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions