Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Shurflo Water Pump not working??

Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 20:38

jdwynn (Adelaide)

Bought a camper a few weeks ago. First trip last weekend. Electric water pump decide to stop working (bugger).

It’s a Shurflo 2088 723 244 – 10.6l/min – 45 psi – 12v. Camper only 2 years old and hasn't been used much.

I’ve read these water pumps are very reliable, but it just stopped working without warning. There is no flow at all. Motor does not turn or make any noise.

Electric supply checked and is ok. Blew water supply pipe backwards just in case. I pulled valve and upper housing off unit but couldn’t see anything.

I’ve yet to find a fuse – don’t think there is one along wire to pump.

Any ideas what might be wrong?

thanks in anticipation

JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge
"Browned Out" Gawler Ranges 09/09

Success is getting what you want. Happiness is liking what you get.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 57243 Replies: 6
Views: 1245 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 301914   Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 22:15

Dunaruna replied:

If the supply is o/k then the problem is not a fuse. Have you tried hotwiring the pump (bypass the pressure switch)?
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 568003   Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 22:23

jdwynn (Adelaide) posted:

Dunaruna , I really know nothing about these pumps. Could you explain how you do that. thanks JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 568008   Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 22:50

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

What he means is that if you look at the wiring on the pump, you'll see that the red and black wires to the motor go in at the end away from the pump head. Of course the black wire is the earth.

The red wire goes from the motor to the pump head and then from the pump head there is another red wire that leads to the power source.

When you say you've checked there is power at the pump, did you mean before or after the pump pressure cut-off switch?

To check the MOTOR is getting power, you need to use the pointy bit of your multi-meter prongs and pierce the red and the black wires close to where they enter the motor body. If there is power showing there, then the motor could be stuffed. I had to replace a Shurflo shower pump on my Patrol a year or so ago, because water had found it's way into the motor housing and siezed-up the bearing and generally killed it.

However, if there is no power registering on the multimeter, then there could be an earthing issue or a power supply issue. Check by earthing the black probe to a known-to-good earthing point and see if the meter registers. If so, then the earth wire is suspect.

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 568018   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 08:16

Thanks for setting it out for me Roachie. Good news (I think). There was no power to the motor. So I pulled off switch section again, and managed to separate it in 2 this time - exposed switch. I activated it by hand and gave it some power and the pump turned over!! Can only think switch was jammed up. So might persevere with it and see how we go.
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 568241   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 19:36

Member - Pesty (SA) posted:

Have heaps of experience with these units JD, has it got a pressure shutoff on the end, 2 red wires going into a square box on the end?
If it has these can cause problems, and even the spade terminals not being tight enough.
Sounds like you maybe on the right track with the buggered switch.

Cheers Pesty

Click Image to Enlarge
Pic 1 Mad Max Hill Silverton
Pic 2 Camped on beach at Tiddy Widdy

Happiest Cruiser-in Oz !!
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 568257   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 20:19

Pesty, it has pressure shutoff. Will look at spade connection - not checked yet and I still have the feeling I havn't really fixed it. Will probably end up renewing switch section though. Cheers JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 301920   Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2008 at 23:35

autosparky replied:

earths are the normal problems in these cases doesn't take much of a corrosion point to stop things opperating . damn wiring !
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 301928   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 06:14

psproule replied:

If you can verify that the motor still wont run after bypassing the fuse then you may have a seized bearing. I had this happen on ours and a tear-down, clean up and a $10 replacement bearing from CBC had it all happy again.
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 301940   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 08:19

jdwynn (Adelaide) replied:

thanks all. Seem to have it working it present (see above). Will re-connect it to water now and see how we go.
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
The Great Australian Bush Ride in Perth Hills The Great Australian Bush Ride in Perth Hills
Perth - WA
Enjoy the tranquility of the Perth Hills exploring the heritage bridle trails on horseback.
Lotus Exige Race Experience - Full Day Lotus Exige Race Experience - Full Day
Southern Downs - QLD
Feel your heart pound as you jump behind the wheel of one of our Lotus Exige sports cars to drive ar
Super Premium Tour at Penfolds Magill Estate Super Premium Tour at Penfolds Magill Estate
Adelaide - SA
Tour the historic winery of Penfolds Magill Estate before being led by your Penfolds Wine Educator t
Limestone Coast & Coonawarra 2 Day Wine Tour Limestone Coast & Coonawarra 2 Day Wine Tour
Limestone Coast - SA
For Wine or Reason specialize in personalized guided Wine Tours, perfect for corporate clients or th
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 301953   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 10:14

Dunaruna replied:

When you separate the two sections of the switch you will see the actual button that switches the circuit on/off, a bit of inox in the switch may help. Also, the diaphragm that activates the switch could be the culprit, they get a bit too flexible over time. Repair kits are available.
Reply 5 of 6
FollowupID: 568095   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 20:14

thanks Dunaruna. I reckon I should be looking to renew the pump. Will try to source a repair kit this week. Cheers JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 302076   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 08:10

Von Helga replied:

jdwynn,
Now that you have it working again may i suggest that you find the fuse or put one in the circuit. I would not have unfused hardware connected in my vehicle/trailer.
Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 568254   Submitted: Monday, May 05, 2008 at 20:14

Von Helga, sounds like good advice to me. Cant understand it not beng there. Cheers JD
Gawler Ranges 09/09
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website