Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Sunday History Photo

Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 06:49

Member - Doug T (FNQ)

This week we go back to the year 1964, the year the Beatles came to Australia, There was also another famous person in Australia, Sir Donald Campbell , It was in 1964 he attempted to break the water speed record on Lake Bonney at Barmera in SA. The Lake proved too small and the waves created by the boat were dangerous. Campbells boat reached a speed of 347.5 kilometres an hour, but the world record was not broken. Campbell was successful in breaking the record on Lake Dumbyleyung, Western Australia, in the same year travelling at a speed of 444.7 km/h.
Donald Campbells Bluebird at Barmera, 1964
Donald Campbell's Bluebird at Barmera, 1964

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
Advertisement
ThreadID: 57252 Replies: 5
Views: 603 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 301929   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 06:51

Member - Kiwi Kia replied:

Hi Doug, Do you know what that banner says ?
Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 568015   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 07:11

Member - Doug T (FNQ) posted:

No, my memory is still intact....I think but not that good after 44 years ,

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 568016   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 07:45

Kiwi Kia
Just been giving some thought to the banner, I would presume it could have been an add for a fuel or oil company.

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 568025   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 09:42

Member - Matt M (ACT) posted:

Hope its not a cigarette company Doug ;-)
Cape Leveque
Click Image to Enlarge
Life's a beach....
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 568027   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 09:53

Matt
Wouldn't worry me if it was , we suppose to live in a free country with freedom of speech,

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 301958   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 10:38

Richard Kovac replied:

This lake

Lake Dumbyleyung

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 302006   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 17:47

Pete G replied:

Doug,
Was a young fella about 10 living in Barmera at the time. Do you have any more photos. Reckon that photo was taken outside the scout hall.

Pete G
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 568069   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 17:58

Pete
That is the only one I have , Thought I had one of the boat in the water ,Reason I was in Barmera was that My Dad was managing the Shell R/H while waiting for the fruit block at Sunlands to begin producing, it was a failure , to many light fingered staff , I and my Sister used to go to Barmera to give him a hand on weekends,
My Sister 1964

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 568070   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 18:05

Pete G posted:

Doug,
Looks like we are about the same age. Small world eh. My father probably sold biscuits to him!!!. Did you go to school in the area. I am thinking Sunlands was down on the cliffs near Waikerie - is that right.

Pete G
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 568072   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 18:08

Gone Bush (WA) posted:

Geez Doug,

how can the same family have such a good looking daughter and........

Click Image to Enlarge
We're Justified and we're Ancient
We love to roam this land
We're justified and we're Ancient
With still no Master Plan
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 568096   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 20:24

Pete
Sunlands is out past Ramco on the road to Qualco and Morgan
google Earth S34 08.564 E139 52.091

I went to school at Athelstone and Millbrook schools.

Gone Bush
Watch it ol' mate , she's long time married and still lives in bloody cold/hot Waikerie

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 302023   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 19:47

Member - Stephen L (SA) replied:

Hi Doug
I can remember when his land speed bluebird came through Clare after in land speed record of the same year. I was only in grade 3 and can remember the whole school going down to see his vehicle.

Great Victoria Desert
Click Image to Enlarge
At Home in the Desert
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Discovery 2 Combo - Sydney Tower + Wildlife Pass Discovery 2 Combo - Sydney Tower + Wildlife P
Sydney - NSW
This includes access to two of Sydney's most famous attractions - the wild Wildlife World and Sydney
V8 SUPER DRIVE - VIC V8 SUPER DRIVE - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, you and a professional race car driver be
Kayak Tour - Patonga Creek - Half Day Kayak Tour - Patonga Creek - Half Day
Central Coast - NSW
Start at the fishing village of Patonga and slowly make our way up Patonga Creek into Brisbane Water
Weekend Surf Camp for Beginners Weekend Surf Camp for Beginners
South Coast - NSW
Learn to surf at our weekend surf camp and see why people are so addicted to riding the waves.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 302038   Submitted: Sunday, May 04, 2008 at 20:58

westozal replied:

Thanks for the history Pictures, really like them.
Today my wife is as old as the photo's....quite sobering thought.
Time to trade her in lol.
Regards Alan.
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website